Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cairns

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Cons: The rooms need WIFI.
Location: The Snorri museum was the attraction for me. I didn't check prior to visiting and it was closed on the weekend, so a bit of a waste for me.
The room was clean, spacious and had good facilities: comfortable bed, lots of hot water, hair dryer, fridge, tea and coffee making.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Decent stop on the road trip

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: There is not much nearby. We had to drive a bit off the main road to get here because it used to be a school that boarded the students in the winter.
Overall I'm pleased with my stay. There were hot tubs and a nice happy hour. The rooms were large and the staff was friendly. They do advertise WIFI in the room but it's actually only available in the lobby. This might change in the new year though when they finish renovations.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Meets Expectations

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed in this hotel because it is located about 20 minutes from Husafell, which is a base location for a number of glacier/cave related activities. The room size was pretty large, and the breakfast was great. The wifi really only worked in the main lobby, not in the rooms. Overall, a good hotel compared to others that we stayed in while visiting Iceland.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in the middle of nowhere. It is very outdated especially bathroom that smelled terrible. Wi-fi never worked in the room. They are doing renovation now and hopefully it will improve. They have decent restaurant and the staff is friendly. If you want to see northern lights it's a very good location as there's nothing around
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great gem in a relatively remote location

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
Simply love this hotel. Reception staff so nice and knowledgeable and provided so much great information, advice and recommendations. Restaurant food was excellent. Love the lamb and lobster dishes. Super.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel. Good Value.

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Our room was the largest room we had for our entire stay in Iceland. It was also one of the older rooms but was still in very good shape. The bathroom was nice. I booked a "twin" room and they did not have the two single beds pushed together. Not a major problem, but the only time this happened on our trip. One of the only hotels we ate breakfast at during our trip, and it was good (included).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Nice roomie hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Great place with lots of room in the hotel very good restaurant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington, VA

Nice stop

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Orbitz
Liked the late check-in. We arrived midnight and check-in was quick and easy. Room was clean and spacious for 2 people. Glad they had curtains to block the midnight sun. Walls were a little thin bc I could hear the guy next door snoring so loud but I was still able to sleep well. Other than that, I couldn't hear anything else. Breakfast was included and delicious. Had a variety of options.
5 out of 5
by Rajagopal from Houston

Best spot for western Iceland and Northern lights

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here for a night, before heading into the Snaefellsnes peninsula in the west. Despite its remote location, its a pretty cool spot to explore the western Iceland. The best of all, we saw the northern lights right through the window of our room. There were plenty campers waiting in the hotel's parking lot to see the lights as well. Its a great spot, facing north. Its very close to the lava falls and few other hikes as well.
1 out of 5
by Bryce from Los Angeles

Dorm sized room, terrible over-priced food

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels
The rooms at the Fosshotel looked nothing like the photos listed on hotels.com. This hotel used to be a school and it shows. The single bed rooms are the size of a dorm room and the $40 "pork chop" was a slab of ham.