Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
43% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Taiwan

No recommendation at all

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
The guest house is quite awful. From the very beginning, there's no hot water for shower. I could understand the problem was caused by the limited capacity of the electric heater. However, after hours of waiting, the power was cut off. We even didn't have any light in the room. What a shameful condition it is for the guesthouse. After a long day hiking, my kids couldn't take any shower till next early morning. We complained this to the front desk during check-out. Their staff told us they couldn't do any help. They didn't feel sorry and offered us no apology at all. The situation is quite ridiculous. Sincerely, no recommendation for staying in this guesthouse at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iceland

pricy

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
last minute booking didn't give us that many options. the prices there are over the top even for a piece of a pie. the bed was comfortable though.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location and friendly staff

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
it was a spontaneous stay and we don't regret it
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice accommodations but....

Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Hotels
The location is great! right by the magnificent trail between Hellnar & Arnarstapi. The unit is nicely designed, clean and comfortable but there is no attention to details (e.g. no hangers/hooks in room/bathroom we had to hang our coats on nails). There is no WiFi in the unit unless you drive to the main lodge where everyone huddles together competing on electric outlets for recharging. Breakfast stats at 8:00 which is inconvenient for travelers who try to hit the road earlier.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Stay away

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
This place was awful compared to the 8 other places we stayed around Iceland. Don't be fooled by the cute little grass huts, they're only for checking in and eating. The room you actually stay is a tin building, that smells like urine. You could not pay me to shower in the disgusting shared washroom here. Also, the wifi is only available in the lobby and the breakfast was terrible.
4 out of 5
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Daniel from Seattle, WA

Really cool location

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
Reasonable drive from Reyjavik that takes you through Bogarnes, a place that you should also visit. The hotel was well placed in a unique area of Iceland. Restaurant had good hours.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent location, poor facility.

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
The rooms look a lot better on the Internet. There were only 2 showers for everyone in the hostel. There was no free wifi either, which was very unconvienent when traveling in a foreign country.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Guesthouses - an interesting experience.

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Booked this before realizing that I was sharing a bath. There are several different types of accommodation in this little community. We were originally assigned to a room in someone's home. However we needed it changed as it was set up for separate twin beds. They were able to find us a double with a private bath. Internet access was only available at the main lodge and you are allotted 1 hour. Although if you asked you could get the new pass code for an additional hour. Food at the lodge was VERY good.we ate breakfast and dinner there and it was wonderful. Having never stayed in this type of place I don't have any comparison, but think I paid more for less.