Ratings based on 267 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Hill , VA

Nice Hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: I had the option to have a second door that lead right outside the pool and shortcut to the restaurant. I would definitely request this option.
Cons: Entertainment in the restaurant /bar area on Friday & Saturday would be nice. Music would be Very inviting. Karaoke sounds like big fun.
Location: Plenty of restaurants !
Good rate . I was very pleased with my stay . From check in to check out . There were no issues.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2017 by Jeff Shepherd, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are in the process of bookin some entertainment for the afterdeck during the summer months. We hope to have you back to enjoy it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Review

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Location was perfect for our purpose, Room was a good size. Bed was very comfortable.
Cons: the coffee was gross. The water had a funny metal taste to it.
The room was a great size and we even had a balcony. The grounds where beautiful. Even though there was a function the night we where there, it was very quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Jeff Shepherd, Hotel Management
Thank you for the recent 4 star review. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy your stay. We hope to have you back in the future
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

After moving to 4th room

Posted May 2, 2017
First room, bathroom leak. Second room, could smell cigar smoke. Third room, could smell cigarette smoke. Fourth room clean and comfortable. Complimentary breakfast not very good. Will not be my choice to stay at this hotel again. Staff very nice though.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Jeff Shepherd, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to subitt a review of your stay here. I would like to apologize for your experience here with us. We have reviewed your stay with management to assure this doesn't happen in the future. We hope to have you back in the future to show you this was an exception.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Shower

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Location convient
Cons: Shower water temp
Location: Cliffs close by
Shower temp changes in middle of shower from cold to scolding hot. Also charged card twice at check in this was corrected but took 3 days to reverse.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I would like to apologize for the experience you had while staying at our facility. We have reviewed this with the maintanence staff to ensure the water temperature issue is addressed. I do want to thank you for your input and for bringing these issues to our attention. -Jeff Shepherd, General Manager
5 out of 5
by Peter

Round up 2017

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017
We appreciate your recent 5 star review of your stay with us. We thank you for your positive comments about our team and assure you we will pass them on. We look forward to your next stay at our hotel. Jeff Shepherd, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great breakfast and clean rooms at the Holiday Inn

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: I enjoyed the buffet breakfast and the pool.
Cons: Let people stay closer to the front office if the hotel is not full. We had to walk a long way to our room, and my dad had a bad ankle.
Location: We like to go fishing and crabbing. The town is nearby, and fishing boats are very close. The restaurants are close, and they are all generally qui
We have stayed at the Holiday Inn at Solomon's Island many times. The location is convenient. The rooms are clean, the room service is great, the breakfast is very good, and the price is right.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for the recent review of your stay. First, let me apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We try to make each and every guest stay as comfortable as possible and fell short of expectation. On a more positive note, I am glad to hear the rest of your experience here was much better. Thank you again, and we hope to have you back in the future.
2 out of 5
by Christian Vlahos from Solomon's Island

No relaxing on this trip

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
I would not stay here again. The shower was never a constant temp, it was either freezing or scalding and made no difference what time of day. The staff was pleasant but when I informed them about the water I could tell they had heard it before but acted surprised. The inroom heater/AC was so loud when it came on it would wake you if you were sleeping. The cable tv did not work when I got in my room till I fixed the poorly crimped wire.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Jeff Shepherd General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Great Hotel. Great Staff. The Room was very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Our toilet overflowed on the floor from normal use

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: I liked the eating facilities room was a hike to get to
Cons: Toilet over flowed on the floor with no tissue in it. Gross
Location: Went fishing for rock. There was a decent bar/Resturant up the street that was happinin.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by jdshepherd, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I do want to apologize for the experience you had with the toilet in your room. We hope to see you return to our location. Thank you again. -Jeff Shepherd, General Manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 8, 2016
It's was a great experience the view was great and the staff was great and the breakfast was excellent
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by jdshepherd, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive feedback. We hope to see you return! -Jeff Shepherd, General Manager.