Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice resort

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Nice view of lake from room, but the room was outdated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dublin

Fabulous Hotel Catering for all ages

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: The Curtesy The Staff showed to everyone of all ages
Cons: Possible a play area for children outside
Location: Lovely Location Perfect to keep all group together for
We had a family occasion with little ones and It is one of the best hotels for All ages
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Are stay was fine wasn't in the hotel much as we had stuff to do in athlone but facilities was great x
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel staff were very friendly

Posted Oct 24, 2016
The hotel was great! The bed was super comfy, and the food in the bar was good. The location was beautiful and very central so you can get to many different parts of Ireland from the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dublin

Posted Oct 8, 2016
The sun rises at the front of the hotel over lough ree, stuning. The staff were very friendly But thankfully not over the top. Over all we had a lovely time and would go again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good place to go for downtime

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Really enjoyed my stay. Would return and have already recommended to a friend.
3 out of 5
by David from UK

Not As Expected - Not Worth the Price

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
I hear it advertised regularly on Irish radio stations & in competition prizes, but it’s not as expected, looks tranquil on website, but not the case. Well occupied, good for them, but the bar/restaurant/breakfast room etc are not big enough to cope with the volume. Add to this leisure centre/water adventure attraction/marina/motorhomes & people stopping for carvery etc & it is unbearable at the weekend & very unkempt. The room wasn’t ready when we arrived at 16.15 on a Sunday, they supplied us with free drinks- which is fine, but it was very busy & bar almost inaccessible. For a family room; it was smaller than usual- only two chairs & single beds were small & uncomfortable (one was a temporary bed & pretty much unbearable). Seemed like double room with couple of small singles added. They need soft close mechanisms on the doors - slamming doors seemed a regular thing. Food in the restaurant was good, but expect to pay a premium for this. Bar food ok, but expect don't expect comfort or to find a table very easily. Ordered room service one night, which came quickly, but operator wanted to charge €3.75 per diner, which I questioned & wasn't charged! Location ok, but limited activities & you'll struggle to find decent restaurants in the area. I have trouble rating it at 3stars. For a family with very small children expect discomfort. Avoid weekends.
5 out of 5
by Carole from Wexford

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was by far the best family friendly hotel we have ever stayed in. The staff were lovely and helpful and everything was catered around children. I will always return to this hotel in future with the kids
5 out of 5
by Garry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Declan from Corvallis

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Hudson Bay I highly recommend. Amazing setting......breakfast was 5star.....room was 3star