Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place!

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Perfect location and very nice rooms. Staff was very friendly. And free parking
Cons: No complaints at all about the hotel. Would go back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Nice hotel very central like great music in bar and lovely bar food and lovely cocktails !!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff. Near the center of town.

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The staff and room
Cons: More breakfast options
Location: Athlone Castle & Seans Bar (the oldest bar in the world) are only a short distance away. Thyme Restaurant is also nearby and a great place for dinner
The staff were very friendly and happy to assist us in recommendation on things to see in Athlone. The room was very nice with a queen and twin size bed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ontario

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: Not comfortable beds, the room although quiet, faced a barred windowed rundown abandoned building, very sketchy, making it appear quite unsafe
Cons: Rooms and hotel very worn while some improvements have been made it is not improving overall, the room was smokey
Location: Nearby to several good estaurants and famous Seans bar
Disappointing reception, when we mentioned the room was smoky she just shrugged and said some people smoke with the window open, we are allergic to smoke so could barely breath by morning. Also when we left the room to take our bags to the car when we came back to the room the maid was in the room sttipping down the beds, we hadnt checked out yet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Welshmen at the Prince of Wales

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Pros: The FULL Irish breakfast - superb
Cons: The Guinness in the bar is good but it isn't the best pint in Athlone
Location: Hotel is VERY central and within walking distance of everything in the town centre. Sean's bar in the Old town is a must visit.
I recently stayed at the Prince for the Wales v England rugby weekend with 5 other friends and had a fantastic time. The check in was quick and easy and the staff very welcoming. The room and bathroom was very comfortable, clean and modern and there is a complimentary safe in the wardrode. The hotel is VERY central for all of Athlone's sites and amenities and everything in the town centre is within walking distance of the hotel. The best part of the hotel was the FULL Irish breakfast which was served with a smile and was hot with all ingredients used being of a excellent quality. Last time I stayed in Athlone I stayed at the Sheraton hotel just down the road and while I also enjoyed that hotel and there is nothing wrong with it, if I had to choose then I would definitely plump for the Prince of Wales.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, West Midlands

Good central location

Posted Jan 27, 2016
I found this hotel perfect in every way. The staff were friendly, it was spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable, despite the size of the place it was nice and quiet, the menu in the bar was varied and the food was both well cooked and plentiful, in fact the bar itself was comfortable and smartly decorated. In fact, only someone who was looking for petty faults would find anything untoward. I very much enjoyed my stay and look forward to returning again this year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good, Well Priced Accommodation In Athlone

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Pros: A spacious, well appointed room with an very nice bathroom.
Location: Great location. Right in the heart of town. Very close to restaurants.
For my wife and I, The Prince of Wales Hotel in Athlone was a last minute stopover on our way back from the West Coast to Dublin. We were very pleased with what we got for a very reasonable price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Enniskillen

nice hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Pros: it was very central and clean and friendly
Cons: some of the bar staff were not the most friendly
Location: got to see ireland oldest pub and as we were central to any were we needed to go so we went to galway for a day and sligo for a day.
we stayed at the prince of wales from sunday august 30th 2015 to tuesday 1st sepptember.. we could not have asked for better and more helpful staff especially the girl on reception who checked us in and checked us out she was working our whole stay and was amazingly helpful suggested were was good to eat outside the hotel and some bars to check out im just sorry i didnt get her name she had long dark hair. rooms were clean and very comfortable and nothing was too much bother.. bar food was to an excellent standard and reasonably priced.. would definately recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Hotel central and staff very pleasant and helpful.

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: Reception staff, centrality food all good.
Cons: Slow service for breakfast could be better.
Location: Athlone castle waterfront lovely.
Overnight break so very happy with hotel price and room. Only downsides were that the outlook from the room was awful opposite what looked like an abandoned building. Breakfast and meal in hotel bar good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Good hotel, good location

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Just spent 3 nights at this hotel and we will definitely be back. The hotel is located within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants, bars, cinema, etc. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean, lovely comfortable room and all the staff are friendly and helpful We paid for breakfast when we were checking in and for very little extra it was well worth it as it kept us going most of the day. Definitely recommend this hotel.