Ratings based on 1,429 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Bed bugs! Disgusting not worth paying $200 at all please pay $100 extra and stay at a nicer hotel staff was horrible
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south san francisco, ca

By the boardwalk Inn

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Room was a comfy king size room with a fridge, microwave, couch, tv. Couch looked dirty so didn't even go near it. Bed and sheets was comfy. Bathroom was ok. Size of room was bigger than usual.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Check-in staff were great. Room was clean and had been updated within the last few years. Amenities, like in-room refrigerator a plus. Police were on foot patrol around the area, not sure if for the hotel or the area in general. Cons: A little pricey for a Saturday considering the area and noise. Parking was tight; don't bring your SUV. A little too much banging on doors and loud voices at night. Police were on foot patrol around the area, not sure if for the hotel or the area in general. That last Pro/Con can be taken either way. Good to have them aware and in the area? Bad that they need to be there at all? It's obvious the hotel staff care, they were great. Might just be the area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santa cruz

TERRIBLE

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Front desk was horrible. Was unable to check in after 3pm. Room is infested and DIRTY. When I tried to complain to the front desk no one answers and when they did they did nothing. I called next day after check out due to left items in the room. He said would call me back when he found them, 2 days later no call back. 2nd day I called and he told me to take my business somewhere else and stop calling because he was busy !!! Worst service partnered with Expedia. Highly disappointed
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from antioch, ca

No AC or decent soap products

Posted Sep 5, 2017
The only good thing about the place is that it's 4 walking blocks to Santa Cruz beach boardwalk. My AC didn't work and I'm sure it is an issue that has gone on for awhile and just not addressed by the owner of the establishment because all the hotels and motels were booked. Poor quality and quantity in regards to bathroom soaps and toiletries offered. The room was a sauna.... I expected better for a place that's uses Expedia service. Expedia should take sanctions against establishments that fail to live up to adequate accommodations. My children and I had a very disheartening experience at torch lite inn. Which also translates into a horrible Expedia experience for me.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old rundown motel

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Air conditioner broken, 100 degrees outside. No other rooms with 2 beds all other hotels in area were booked. Old, dirty smelling rooms, window was broken very expensive for the quality. Only provided $50 discount and 30% off future stays, I will never go back here again!! They should have comped one night stay for the price. They should not be giving rooms at full price or making available if the air conditioner is broken.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Ca

A so so hotel at a premium price

Posted Jul 10, 2017
I stayed at this hotel because I needed to attend my daughter's graduation. The hotel is close to the university. Other than that there is not a whole lot to say about it. But it is expensive, over $200 per night for something that is barely better than Motel 6
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boise ID

Bugs in the Bathroom

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: The only thing I really liked about the hotel was it's proximity to the Boardwalk. Also, it had a balcony that we were able to stash our bikes on.
Cons: The general cleanliness of the property could be better.
Location: The property was only a few blocks from the Santa Cruz Boardwalk, which made the bike ride over really nice and quick.
When we first entered our room, it appeared okay, but as soon as I went to use the bathroom, the first thing I noticed was about 5-6 bugs (looked a little bit like small cockroaches) on the bathroom floor and in the tub. Then, within 10 minutes of arrival, the untouched pizza we brought into the room to have for dinner was covered with another dozen or so of the same bugs, just after sitting on top of the dresser. Where we parked seemed more like an alley way and had an overflowing garbage bin. Soon after our arrival, someone was going through the trash right next to our car (we could see this from the window of our room). Though there seems to have been some attempt to spruce up the rooms (not bathroom) and the common areas, the stairways were all grimy and old. There were broken pallets at the bottom of our staircase which just added to the run-down look of the place. The continental breakfast time was advertised as being from 6:30-9:30am, but when I arrived at 7:45, only some packaged danishes and yogurts were available to eat. Slowly, someone added some bagels and instant oatmeal to the lot. By 9:15 the person taking care of the breakfast room started clearing things. Apparently, though advertised as otherwise, the breakfast room was only open from 7:30-9:15am. When we inquired about the possibility of extending our stay for another night, the price quoted to us was $100 more than what we had just paid for the night we booked. We decided to go somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Great breakfast options. Will stay here again. Nice friendly staff... easy check in
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, 8 min walk to the beach

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: complementary breakfast, nice and clean swimming pool.
Cons: drywall in room 215, bedroom next to the window needs to double check funny smell.
Location: the location is very good, closed to the boardwalk, there are a lot of things to do, just have to walk 8 minutes to the beach.
checked in on time friendly staff, nice and clean swimming pool, and great free complementary breakfast from 7 a.m. to 9 a.m.