Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Beautiful Hotel in parkland setting.

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Comfortable Room with amazing views. Excellent breakfasts. Staff pleasant and helpful. Good walks from hotel. Swimming pool and Jacuzzi good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great food, staff could be improved

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Lovely hotel, great food. Staff service can be a little slow, bar often unattended. Smashing views over the valley from the room on the second floor (Executive). Special mention to friendly and efficient front desk staff, especially Steph. Single track road to the hotel, one mile, can be challenging at busy times but enjoy the remoteness of this terrific locations. Great local pub in the village, Windmill, for both drinks and food . Less than a tenner each way for a taxi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice country hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: Location and nice personal service from all staff
Cons: Room being in roof space quite warm but fan provided
Location: Located at the end of quite a long narrow lane but trust your sat nav
The hotel were unable to fulfil the 1st night of our 3 night booking because of an unforeseen problem so arranged for an alternative hotel of similar quality/style. This was also very nice but we were glad we decided to return to Wood Hall for the remaining 2 nights. Enjoyed our stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Blissful weekend for two

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
Great weekend away. Beautiful place/location. Wonderful escape.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Quiet and extremely comfortable

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: As stated previously, the warm relaxed and comfortable atmosphere created by the staff and the facilities and quality of services.
Cons: It would be nice to have 2 wash cloths in the bathroom instead of just one. Perhaps we are a bit spoiled to that at home.
Location: Great access to Leeds if you want a larger city and its attractions. We enjoyed the interesting countryside and attractions in Wetherby and similar.
We had just finished a 2 week tour of Scotland and Ireland and stayed over for 3 days to visit with friends in Yorkshire. I searched online for a place about halfway between Leeds-Bradford and Boston Spa and found Wood Hall. I checked out the reviews and description and selected it. It was absolutely perfect for us to relax and rest up before our long flight back home. The remote countryside locale and the wonderful ambiance of the restored mansion made a powerful first impression. We arrived a little early to check in but the hostess made us comfortable in the drawing room and served us complimentary tea and biscuits while we waited a short time. That was just the beginning of a truly memorable visit and by far the most comfortable accommodations we had the entire trip. The staff was attentive and friendly, the food was excellent, the room was large and warmly comfortable. Our friends came to dinner the first evening and were profoundly impressed. There were 2 large weddings during our stay but no intrusion on our comfort, quietness or service by the staff. We enjoyed the spacious facilities and grounds and the scenic overlook from the front of the hotel. The décor and furnishings in every area created a wonderful atmosphere of rich quality without being over the top. We looked forward each day to enjoying a friendly relaxed sense of welcome peace and goodwill among the staff and fellow guests. In many ways, we regretted having to leave and return home but hope to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

Stayed one night as a wedding guest.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: The setting, the staff and the meal.
Cons: The dark decor in our room (Juniper) - very oppressive. The noise of the air con (?) outside the window.
Location: Beautiful location near Linton- very peaceful with lovely views across the valley to the front of the hotel.
The hotel is in a fantastic setting and the whole experience was very welcoming and relaxed. The staff were extremely friendly and efficient and worked hard to make the wedding day run smoothly.We enjoyed being able to wander the rose garden, whilst having canapes served and relax in the drawing room the next morning to say how great the wedding had been.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

country hotel

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
it was superb
2 out of 5
by Loyd

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Just recently proposed to my girlfriend here. Had this fantastic idea of how everything would be perfect and at £210 you would sure think it would come close. We were first so excited when we saw the hotel as it looked so grande and is such a lovely position. Disappointed soon hit in as we saw the room (executive suit). The bed sheets were dirty, floor not cleaned very well, the work tops dusty and sticky from previous persons and lip stick on the lightswitch. In the bathroom the door handle fell off straight away, grime in the corner of the shower and old silicone that was looking filthy on the bath because it hadn't be scraped off. After going downstairs to grab one of them to show them the state of the room the apologies and agreed it was unexceptable and said they would ensure it was all done when we went for dinner. Also we weren't able to get a table in the fine dining restaurant even as in-house guests for ensure you book weeks in advanced due to them catering for so many weddings. When we come back from dinner the room looked much better, bed made again, clean surfaces, door handle fixed. But once again when we went to Hop into bed we found the hadn't even changed the bedsheets but only made the bed. Grime and silicone also left in the bathroom. Basically what I'm trying to say is if they find it acceptable to charge such a high price then they really need to pick up the standards of the basics. Been to cheaper hotels that have been so much better. Will not be return
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from east yorkshire

birthday treat spa day over night stay

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: like a country manor could have lived there
Cons: for us perfect would have liked to stay longer
Location: lots to do around the area although we had a spa day andt used the facilities
staff attentive looked after us a soon as we walked through the door. free glass of fizz to celebrateour birthdays very nice touch