Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Good food at dinner

Posted May 1, 2017
A group of friends joined us for dinner and all our meals were lovely. Dinner service was good. Breakfast wasn't so good as the food was only warm and several tables had dirty dishes on them or dirty tablecloths despite three young people standing at the desk chatting. It's a nice friendly place but it really needs a makeover from its 1970s decor and our room smelt of very old cigarettes despite being a non-smoking room. The bed also needed a new mattress as it was very uncomfortable. Ok for a night or two, could be a great place with a bit of a spruce up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WAIKATO

Relax with Distinction!!!

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: The hotel was located in a very good area and the facilities available, gym, pool, spa etc, service (after hour meals) were great!
Cons: To be honest, maybe a small playground for younger children to play in (Outside area of pools where the tables were?) and a smaller pool? A suggestion
Location: Very much enjoyed the shopping and the marina. A quick drive also to the beaches and bays.
We enjoyed going for a stroll along the marina and meeting very friendly people. It was a beautiful day and a market was being held. Our children and grandchildren really enjoyed staying there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and close to the Conference Centre.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Accessibility to the town.
Whilst the room was very clean and tidy but the disappointing features were the lack of storage in the bedroom and the bathroom. It would have been nice to have somewhere to put items in both areas. Everything had to be put back in the suitcases. The impression we got was that it was rather tired and worn and very basic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Very nice place central and comfortable

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Comfy beds, lovely waitstaff..bottle of wine produced for inspection at dinner when only a glass ordered.Good amenities, spa, pool and gym Good parkin
Cons: As above in experience column
Location: Cafes, interesting shops, glass blowing, clock museum, lovely drive around to the Heads.S
Small annoyances...3 people room, but set up only for two. No full length or able-to-get-up-close-to- put- on- makeup mirror, which is easy for management to supply on back of bathroom door maybe?? Very bright bed lights, lower wattage would be better for reading and environment!! An extra couple of pillows and a bottle opener!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wasn't the best but it was ok.

Posted Apr 1, 2017
The room was fine but there was some cleaning needing to be done on the roof of the shower. It seemed to have been there for a while. Another tiny complaint would have been the fraying on the towels which looked as though they should have been replaced a while ago. Other than that, the beds were confortable and it was an enjoyable stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short stay

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Bed was nice and comfortable, friendly staff. Close to town so good for people who like to walk.
Cons: Although nice furniture the table in our room was scratched up. Not what I'd expect to see in a hotel.
Location: Walking distance to town and local restaurants
Reception staff were lovely and hotel was nice a close to town. Walking distance to our dinner party. Bit disappointed about the spa bath. Was expecting a bigger bath (more spa like). Only stayed one night. Checked in a between 5.30 - 6.00pm, went out to dinner at 7pm and then came back to sleep then checked out at 9.30am so didn't really get a chance to see the rest of the hotel. Bed was very comfortable and nice and big.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand. Whangarei

Great

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Good experience. Parking excellent. Generally staff friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to town

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Location Reception personnel were polite and very oblidging
Cons: Decor and upgrading of restaurant carpet and room furniture
Location: Great location and walking distance to town
Great situation to town and nearby cafes and shops. The room rate is competitive. However the Hotel is getting a little tired and needs some updating and modernising. Evening meal is overpriced for what we got and breakfast cost was not competitive with what I know I could have received at a cafe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bendigo, Australia

Comfortable hotel with river view.

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location, easy to find with free onsite parking. Staff were warm and friendly, also provided advice on local attractions
Cons: Foyer area of entry to front hotel rooms was incredibly hot. Large glassed window area needs some venting just to reduce the heat trap.
Location: Kiwi House just out of town is within 10 mins drive, also Whangarei Falls, although water is now looking rather polluted.
Room was clean, well serviced. Hotel walking distance to town centre. Great facilities, restaurant, bar, pool and spa. Restaurant was reasonably priced for breakfast and dinner, great service and excellent food.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northland NZ

tired old hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Good location
Cons: Everything. Customer service! please don't charge the customers credit card before they have even arrived and viewed the room.
Location: Close to the Town Basin, art galleries cafes etc
There are two wings of rooms, the old 70's block and the nicer block, guess which one we got... The booking was made for one double room via Wotif I arrive to find my credit card has been charged in full for two double rooms. Staff very unhelpful and I am left with a spare Hotel room which they will not credit me for, and no response from Wotif, the booking site. The room was dated to say the least, the ceiling fan was very dangerous, precariously shaking around loosely attached by a screw, the aircon was either on full blast or nothing at all. Glasses dirty, carpet stained and grotty, old style shower over the bath, shower curtain flaps around the toilet bowl, yuk. Just a really grotty and very expensive experience.