Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Proprietors Andy & Karen run a perfectly lovely B&B. Beautiful farm and accommodations. Great breakfast, Dexter the border collie, peanuts the cat, the old friendly goat and fat happy chickens add to the great stay. Highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by ANDY, Hotel Management
Thanks and glad you enjoyed your stay !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Beautiful

Posted Nov 6, 2017
We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our 2 weeks in NZ and it was by far the nicest place we stayed in - everything was top notch Andy was an perfect host - being very interactive but not in your face. Room was stunning - and lovely breakout area, breakfast was amazing. 10 out of 10....a lovely treat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by ANDY, Hotel Management
Thanks for your great review
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful lodge

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Accomdations. Staff.
Location: Location bit away from things to do and restaurants.
Lovely lodge with spacious, clean and comfortable room and very helpful staff. Only minor issue, if any, it is far from restaurants and cafes. So make sure you stop to eat on way back in the evenings after day’s events. Otherwise, really beautiful place to stay. Andy will go out of his way to help.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2017 by ANDY, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review. I understand your comment about not being near to restaurants and cafes. Just for reference for others reading this, the closest restaurant is 5 minutes drive, and there are several within 10 minutes drive. Also we offer very good dinner options here if you pre-arrange it in the morning,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The perfect place to stay when visiting Whangarei.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Location, room size, quality of meals, friendly owners.
Relaxing and great location for exploring the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by ANDY, Hotel Management
Thankyou for the lovely review
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Excellent service, room was fantastic, great breakfast, great add-ons.
4 out of 5
by David

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Very comfortable, clean with modern amenities but in a traditional location. Was a bit out of town but that was OK as it was easy to get in to town to find a restaurant. Friendly welcoming host did a good breakfast and had a pool table DVD's and books to amuse you during your visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Great B & B, well managed and presented by an affable and helpful host. Good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

A beautiful boutique B&B

Posted May 19, 2017 on Wotif
Lupton Lodge is set in the countryside with lovely gardens and the original dry stone fences. From the time we were greeted by the very friendly and knowledgeable Karen to when we sadly had to leave 2 days later, when we were farewelled by Andy, our stay had been perfect. We stayed in the very spacious and very tastefully decorated upstairs loft. The bathroom was huge with lovely views into trees and the farm. Andy cooked up a great breakfast every morning to get our day started. When I broke my wrist, at a local observatory, Andy went out of his way to make sure I had plenty of pillows to support my arm. I couldn't have been in a better place when I was feeling miserable. Although Lupton is not in central Whangarei it is definitely well worth staying at because of the setting and very friendly owners.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Best Ever

Posted May 6, 2017
Cons: Nothing without significantly increasing prices.
Location: Great location , Falls worth a visit.
As a B and B best we have seen in Europe Australia and NZ, ( ie in the price range), Great meals, staff could not have done more to help, beds and accomodation great.
5 out of 5
by Debra

Wonderful stay

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
A warm welcome from Andy. We had a large, comfortable room with large ensuite, all beautifully decorated. Lots of 'extras' like Dvds and Cds to borrow. Great dinner and breakfast. All in a lovely setting of 10 acres and my husband also enjoyed the pool.