Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
WiFi was aweful. Service was poor. Reservation was for four people, but it took about 2 hours to get the proper set of towels after we told them we had only three sets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Make sure you check out events ahead of time.

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: The front desk staff was extremely friendly.
Cons: The restaurant should call out people's names if there is no answer by cell phone. Or at least look in the hall and see if people are still waiting.
We really think there should have been some notice that there was a major event going on (Festival of Lights) that severely impacted the enjoyment of our stay. Had we known about it in advance, we would have never booked our stay. We were just traveling through town and had no idea we were going to be involved in long lines of traffic and multitudes of little children. Also, the restaurant used cell phone numbers to attempt to contact us when our table was ready. However, several parties did not receive calls (including us) and other parties walked up later and were seated before us. They could have at least called out our names. We were never more than ten feet from the door.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful property

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing property and pretty room. Wonderful scenery. But they have to get better food and food service. Resort is beautiful but having terrible food is definite bad flaw.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mount vernon, oh

Perfect at christmas

Posted Dec 19, 2016
There was only one issue when we stayed, and that was that the heat wasn't exactly working in our room, which made for a cold morning. Overall the stay was good!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautifully remodeled room that just reopened

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
We loved the remodeled room~it was very large with a nice gas fireplace, comfortable bed, modern bathroom with granite counter tops and top amenities, fridge, Keurig and a flat screen TV. There was a nice balcony with a beautiful view that would be nice to use during warm weather. The room was very close to the stairs and elevator and easy to get to everything. We loved it!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from athens ohio

Over crowded not enough staff

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Orbitz
We waited hours for our room. We traveled with an infant. It seams like the staff wanted to help but once you walked away you were forgotten
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

stay and eat elseware

Posted Dec 6, 2016
our room at 122.00 was overpriced to say the least. the buffet at 35.00 person was overpriced, food luke warm (we we're the first to sit down at 5:00 pm). the prime rib(you have got to be kidding) looked like a long balonie. it was too rare for me and many others, no way to cook it more.. to call oglebay a resort is the worst one I have visited. next time a visit the area I will stay at the casino and enjoy a fantasic buffet for half the price. no need to respond to this, I won"t be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Austinburg, United States of America

Great cabins in a peaceful, beautiful setting

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: The cabin was wonderful!
Cons: Staff at the front desk, Pricing on some of the kids' activities
Location: There's a lot to do right at the resort, which is nice. Wheeling is a short drive, and there are stores and restaurants very close.
While we had a terrible experience checking in, we were finally given a beautiful 4-bedroom, 2-bath cabin and we had a wonderful vacation! The cabins are a bit of a drive from the main lodge, which makes using the pool a little more difficult, but the serenity was worth it. The cabin was very spacious, and the amenities were great. We enjoyed the driving tour of the lights and the kids loved the pool. The kids' train left a LOT to be desired, and the zoo was a bit over-priced for the few animals that they had out, but the kids enjoyed themselves, so it was worth it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016
It was nice the room was a little outdated but overall was a nice place
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Disappointing

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: location is fine.
So many twist and turns to get to your room, not enough signs , or Directions on how to get to your room. just not set up very well.