Ratings based on 473 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Really enjoyed our stay. Nice people, large room, really clean, good breakfast. We will stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading, PA

Wheeling Stay

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Complimentary breakfast and wifi
The hotel staff is wonderful. The accommodations are very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Nice place to stay [3 adults & 2 grandchildren]

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Lighting in the room
Location: Oglebay Resort, lights, 2 colleges and sightseeing.
Very close to Oglebay Light Festival which is where we were going. Plenty of room for the 5 of us for overnight. I'd opt for adjoining rooms if staying any longer. Staff very nice, friendly & helpful. Rooms furnished nicely. Lighting could be somewhat brighter as overall tone of areas were dull. We kept wanting to turn on more lights. Could use a small under cabinet light for kitchen area even though there is a larger one over the entire kitchen area. Too bright for a night light but an under the cabinet would have been perfect. Grandchildren loved the pool. It is somewhat small if more than 3-4 kids in it but we didn't go for olympic swims. Didn't try exercise room. Buffet breakfast very nice...and it's included with room. Would stay here again. It is very close to several restaurants, a CVS, Sheetz and the highway. We had a first floor room [that was requested] and found the hall and rooms to be very chilly even set at 74. Don't know if it had anything to do with being on first floor with traffic coming in/out etc but needed the convenience of first floor access.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: Clean and big rooms. Nice breakfast
I want to stay there again when I am in Wheeling!so greaT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
4 out of 5
by Hector

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Chris

Got the job done

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
We went to Wheeling for the Oglebay Festival of Lights and stayed at this property. While the room was large, we found the details in disrepair. The ice machine was out of order on our floor and there was a light bulb burned out in the bedside table. The worst, though, was the condition of the sleeper sofa. As soon as my 11 year old sat on the mattress, it sagged and bowed in the middle. Not great for a good night's sleep. It served its purpose, but would not stay at this property again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Holiday get away

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Location: We went to Oglebay to drive through the light display, ate dinner at the Lodge. We also visited the toy and train museum in Wheeling.
We came to Wheeling to see the lights at Oglebay Park. We chose this motel based on internet reviews. Our room was very clean and spacious, my only complaint was the heater made a lot of noise, and although we had the heat on 67 or 68 degrees, the lounge part of the room was registering between 76 and 78. The first night I turned off the heater, but the second night it was colder outside. We went out for the afternoon, and with the snow falling had a hard time getting up the hill to the hotel! We asked the desk clerk for a recommendation for a restaurant and she gave us a good one. My husband used the treadmill and I used the hot tub. Overall our stay was pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Great hotel with nice view and feel to it. I had a great experience at this hotel. The staff was very nice and the hotel was very clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wooster, ohio

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Location: was very close to where we went
we had five rooms and only one had comfortable beds! awful night trying to sleep felt like we were sleeping on box springs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near to many things.

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: Near to many things, polite, helpful staff, clean, nice views. Easy to find.
I found the beds very hard and the breakfast mixes sausages in with eggs and peppers and many older people can eat the meat not the other things.