Ratings based on 927 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Great experience! Wonderful hotel!

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Wonderful hotel away from the village. Includes free shuttle service to the village though...so no driving neccessary for dinner out! Includes breakfast, has a lovely pool, great rooms with patios and friendly staff! Ive stayed here before and will continue going back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Hannah Bryant, Coast Blackcomb Suite Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Krista, Thank you for your continued patronage and for your wonderful review! We are delighted that you had an amazing stay and look forward to welcoming you back again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LLL

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Comfortable and nice breakfast. But the price was a little bit expensive. And the parking was not free. We hope the parking fee can be a little bit cheaper. Thanks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Hannah Bryant, Coast Blackcomb Suite Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Ashley, Thank you for taking the time to review the Coast Blackcomb Suites, we appreciate your feedback. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast and that you found your room to be comfortable. We hope that you had a great time visiting Whistler and that we can welcome you back again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel easy walk to Upper Village

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Stayed here many times in summer. Great location, great breakfast. Very disappointed this time that the pool was closed on a very hot long weekend. Bed and pillows very comfortable. Kitchen well appointed. Couch and chair in living room space rather uncomfortable as they are well worn and the cushions sink down with no way to sit in comfort. Still love this hotel and will come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Erin Thomson, Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing the Coast Blackcomb Suites for your summer vacations, and for taking the time to post a review. We do sincerely apologise regarding the pool closure, which has unfortunately been extended longer than we had hoped. The repairs that were necessary to the pool area have encountered delays, and we are working hard to have these resolved and the pool re-opened as soon as possible. We appreciate your feedback regarding the furniture in your suite and we will provide this information to both our Maintenance and Owner Relations Teams for improvements in the future. We are glad to see that you otherwise enjoy the suites and your experiences at our hotel, and we look forward to seeing you here again soon! Thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards, Erin Thomson - Customer Care, Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Whistler getaway

Posted Jul 5, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay -- quiet, relaxing and the free shuttle to the village works get great
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Hannah Bryant, Coast Blackcomb Suite Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with the Coast Blackcomb Suites and for your wonderful review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that you had a relaxing vacation. We hope to welcome you back again for your next Whistler getaway!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC, Canada

There are better choices in Whistler

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Nice that there is a free shuttle bus though. And the view from our balcony was lovely.
Cons: A restaurant or lounge and room service.
Location: Whistler Village was a lot of fun! Great shops, restaurants and a kids' activity centre in the summer.
The hotel pool was closed for resurfacing. They have no estimate of when it will be done and no little extras to compensate for the fact that we booked this hotel especially for the pool. This part isn't completely the hotel's fault - it shows on THEIR website but is not reflected on Expedia. I really wish I'd known the pool was closed before I booked. Also, there is no on site restaurant or option for room service. The hotel is located quite a ways from the village so there's no way to grab a bite to eat. Nice that there is a free shuttle bus though. And the view from our balcony was lovely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Erin Thomson, Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Jennifer, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel with us. We sincerely apologise for the pool being closed during your stay. Unfortunately the repairs that were necessary to be completed have taken longer than expected, and we are working hard to have it re-opened as soon as possible. All of our booking sites do have the information displayed on the hotel information page, however we sincerely apologise if this was not visible when you booked your reservation. We have double-checked to ensure that Expedia is displaying this information and we will continue to keep this up-to-date as changes occur. We are glad that you enjoyed your suite, and the free shuttle to and from the village. During any future stay, you could utilise the Whistler Restaurant Delivery Service, Whistler Dine In, which allows you to order from a variety of restaurants throughout the village, as well as grocery stores, and will be delivered right to your suite. We hope that despite the disappointment on your recent visit, that we will see you again in the future. Thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards, Erin Thomson - Customer Care, Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Blackcomb Suits

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Overall was not a terrible stay, but no mountain view like it said when we booked, there was no pool access as it was down for maintenance and the website made no mention of this and it's summer definitely would have stayed else where had we known, cupboards in the room were broken aswell as the tub drain was broken and we couldn't have a bath.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Hannah Bryant, Coast Blackcomb Suite Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for reviewing the Coast Blackcomb Suites. We apologize for the scheduled pool closure. We do have alerts on all of our Coast Blackcomb Suites websites and have tried to contact all of our guests prior to check in but it seems somehow you were missed and we are very sorry for this. We are disappointed to hear that your room had some maintenance issues. We trust that you were able to inform our front desk so that we could remedy the situation. We hope that despite these setbacks you enjoyed your time in Whistler and got to experience some of what our beautiful town has to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very quiet location

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: quietness and the. staff
Cons: Need Air condition
Location: Everything
Very nice hotel with quite location.Everybody was so nice and helpful. Our room was little warm ,this person ,i forgot to ask his name. gave us extra fan to keep our room cool. We walked down on a trail, behind the hotel, to upper village and then the lower village, Breakfast was great, so many items to make choice.. We love this place .Can't wait to stay there again.Overall experience was great. The only thing bothers me is the Parking fee which is is too high .
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Hannah Bryant, Coast Blackcomb Suite Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review of the Coast Blackcomb Suites, we are excited to hear you had such a great stay! I am glad you found the "Little Burn Trail" to guide you down to the upper village, it is a beautiful way to get down the mountain! I am also happy to know you found our breakfast to offer a variety of fresh daily choices. We do have a package to celebrate the 150th birthday of Canada being launched in a few days that includes complimentary parking, I hope you are able to visit again this summer and take advantage of this deal!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Posted May 23, 2017
Cons: Do not close the pool area for 2 weeks over the May long weekend when you are charging premium prices.
Coast Hotels is a brand name property that you would think is concerned with their reputation. Over the May long weekend they charge premium prices. But over this weekend they decided to close their pool area for 2 weeks of renos. This could have been done before or after.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Erin Thomson, Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely apologise for the pool closure during your stay. The repairs to the pool area were weather dependent, and unfortunately this meant that they were required to be closed over the Victoria Day long weekend - which we had hoped would not be the case. We understand your disappointment, and apologise for the inconvenience this caused. We appreciate your feedback, and hope that despite the pool closure, that you had a wonderful time in Whistler. We hope that we will see you again in the future, when we will ensure you have a great experience. Kind Regards, Erin Thomson - Customer Care, Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington Point Brisbane

Lovely hotel in Upper Whistler

Posted May 22, 2017
Had an excellent 2 days here. Self container suite with all the necessitates. No restaurant in the hotel but continental breakfast provided. Loads of restaurants in the village with a shuttle bus service running between village and hotel regularly. Loved it
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Erin Thomson, Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you Mandy for your lovely review of our hotel! We are glad that you had a wonderful time, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Erin Thomson - Customer Care, Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delta. BC

Dog friendly!

Posted Apr 30, 2017
We like staying here for a few reasons. 1- it's dog friendly. We like to bring our dog on adventures to Whistler . We never had a problem staying here with our dog. 2- the pool and hot tubs are great. Very nice setting. Very relaxing. 3- the breakfast. Love those big fluffy waffles with maple syrup and whip cream!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Hannah Bryant, Coast Blackcomb Suite Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Pete, Thank you for reviewing the Coast Blackcomb Suites. We are delighted that you and your four-legged friend enjoyed your time in Whistler! We appreciate your loyal patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!