Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Crowded and soiled - good food

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: The innkeeper was pleasant and helpful.
Cons: The place should be well cleaned.
Location: Nothing of note.
ROOM WAS SOILED AND SPARTAN. THERE WAS A LARGE SPIDER LIVING IN A CORNER OF THE CEILING IN THE BATHROOM. THE INNKEEPER WAS PLEASANT AND HELPFUL. THE TV WAS SMALL AND DIFFICULT TO OPERATE.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hull

Dirty

Posted Sep 15, 2017
We found the room dirty. The bedding was clean thats all. The bathroom was very dirty. We was above the kitchen so could smell food..not nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chelmsford, Essex

Not fancy but good honest value

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Friendly people, good food and great value.
Cons: Clothes hooks on the bathroom door.
Location: Just outside Whitby so both scenery and history "on the doorstep."
Looking for an economical place to stay for a couple of nights whilst attending a family celebration in the area, we might easily have settled for one of the popular chain hotels (except that they were really too far away to be convenient) when online searches led to the Plough. Not at all disappointed as our room was clean and comfortable, the people friendly and the location suited our needs. I should add that we did have the only one (of three) rooms with its own bathroom. Unlike some larger establishments where breakfasts may be buffet style ie prepared in advance and laid out to select from - and possibly to get cold - the Plough's "full English" was freshly cooked to order from the menu tick sheet we were invited to fill in the evening before. Sunday roast dinner was available from mid-day up to 6pm and that, too, was well cooked with a good range of vegetables and, of course, Yorkshire pudding with generous portions of everything at a very keen price (can't bear to call it "cheap" simply because it sounds - well "cheap"!) Wifi was not only free but fast enough for anything I needed to do. Good value all round.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester UK

Really nice place, homely

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Despite the business of an August bank holiday in Whitby.. these guys still took extra efforts to make this a pleasant visit. Fine clean room, good tailored service, good beers and nice surrounds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice friendly pub

Posted Aug 30, 2017
A really nice friendly pub situated in a beautiful village just outside Whitby. The staff are really welcoming and friendly. We had Sunday lunch on our arrival and an evening meal on the Monday. I can't fault the food at all and it was reasonably priced. I wouldn't hesitate a return visit whe we are in the area again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Close to Whitby - excellent accommodation

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Comfortable pub close to Whitby with great food - variety and taste. Quiet and good parking facilities. Enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Room was small with little space for luggage, but clean. Beds ok, but not the most comfortable. Nice bathroom with large shower, but low water pressure. Lovely staff and good breakfast. Great place for a one night stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hull

Great food and lovely staff

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: Able to come and go as you pleased, given keys to outside door as well encase you wanted to come back very late.. The staff were very friendly.
Location: 10 minutes from Whitby plus beautiful country side.
Made welcome on arrival, everything clearly explained. Room clean and comfortable. Shower pressure low but water hot when needed. Beautiful view out of window.Nice beer garden at the back for a relaxing drink. During day hours extractor fan noise from kitchen below not good for an afternoon siesta. Food and service was excellent. Reasonably priced and good food size portions. Very friendly and welcoming, would definately go again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from a

Disappointing

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Hard to say
Location: Close to Whitby and North York Moors
Very dated, large stain on bedroom carpet, hole in towel, stomach turning aroma, couldn't face breakfast. On the plus side, friendly staff, working wifi and a very good night's sleep.
5 out of 5
by Janice

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
Good place to stay as a base for whitby and surrounding places of interest. Good breakfast and excellent evening meals. Super beer garden. Lively views from rooms.