Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just what I wanted

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: Pretty well everything including gym and pool facilities.
Cons: Restaurant too busy, could not get a booking till 9 pm 9but was able to eat in bar area
Location: Visiting relatives only.
Only stopping in Whitchurch for a couple of nights and this hotel provided all I needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wirral

Excellent hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2015
Pros: The quality of the rooms and atmosphere of the hotel
Location: don't know
The staff were very helpful and friendly and there was a lovely relaxing atmosphere in the hotel. The rooms were very comfortable and the towels were especially good. Liked having a fridge in the room as I was staying for 3 nights. The breakfast was of a very high standard. One of the nicest hotels I've stayed in. I would definitely stay again
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andy from Essex

Poor service, highly inflated pricing

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
Booked in for one night on business. Booked also a table in the restaurant only to find the menu selection was very poor and extremely high priced!!! Service was poor and slow in the testy army even to the extent of having to ask for salt and pepper which took approx 10 minutes to reach us!! As to the neighbouring table, they gave up on asking! In my room I had a dripping shower all night long which when I complained to reception the next morning I was informed that "they would look into it!" No mention of any assistance etc - certainly no Lenny Henry and a sleep guarantee! Breakfast was additional £17.50 each which amounted to a pathetic amount of good for such overpricing. As to the service, again poor with waitresses asking which table numbers our food went too. Again the salt and pepper fiasco at breakfast! The smallest items yet not on any tables - maybe they are thinking of charging for these also? Overall pretty poor in my book especially the pricing. I won't stay here again and will inform my business colleagues accordingly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michael from Tamworth

Get away from it all!

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was busy to Internet voucher. So seemed a little short staffed particularly in the restaurant. The quality of all the food is excellent and well presented. All staff are very helpful too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mr S J from Wales, Sheffield.

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
Went to visit several National Trust properties and much appreciated the pool, steam room, etc., on our return each day. Excellent food both at breakfast and dinner. One of the best four star hotels we have stayed at. Staff in all areas friendly, helpful and professional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Joanne from Reading

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
Very enjoyable. Great service from very friendly staff. Excellent facilities. Rather pricey but otherwise excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Pleasant

Posted Sep 10, 2015 on Hotels
Attended the hotel for a friend's wedding and was everything that I expected. Pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by robert from liverpool

rest and relax

Posted Sep 6, 2015 on Hotels
superb place to relax and enjoy yourself staff food spa and golf wonderful really enjoyed the emerald course very good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
relaxing stay with great facilities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David

Perfect for a romantic night away

Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
A lot posher than expected, great price, could have done with a Jacuzzi, and the bathroom wasn't to the same cleanliness standard as everything else