Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016
The hotel and grounds were first class, breakfast was good but service was slow and a bit chaotic due to about 30 golfers all wanting a different breakfast together !! The staff did well to cope (I'd have told them to tee off !) with even the duty manager rolling up his sleeves and helping to serve .. Well done in the circumstances :-)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cold, heartless welcome from Reception staff

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
The facilities were excellent. The food was very good. The only disappointing element was the Reception staff (both on arrival and departure). Very 'cold' welcome. Even 'colder' departure. 'You have nothing more to pay' was the only comment as we handed in our keys. Not even a 'Thank you for your custom'.
4 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Derek from Dorset

Excellent for business or leisure stay

Posted Feb 6, 2016 on Hotels
Good reception and checking in experience. Weather cold and wet but once in hotel we went straight down corridor to our room on ground floor. Spacious room with all facilities and the bed was huge and extremely comfortable with premium bedding. My wife was with me and loved the spa and leisure facilities which she said was first class. Lovely pool for swimming. Staff friendly and we had a great breakfast in the morning. Very attentive service. Unfortunately the breakfast room was very cold but the staff were dealing with it when we went in about 9 am.
4 out of 5
by Zoe

New Years Eve

Posted Jan 6, 2016 on Hotels
New Years Eve celebration - excellent. Only negatives - slow service on bar food on 2nd night due to low staff numbers and high volume of customers. We were unable to add on an extra night through the reception but booked through a hotel website at a better rate which the reception said they couldn't match which seemed strange.The wine we had pre ordered didn't arrive until well in the evening and had to be chased up numerous times. We had a fab. break and like the hotel and will return.Only minor problems which wouldn't put us off.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just what I wanted

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: Pretty well everything including gym and pool facilities.
Cons: Restaurant too busy, could not get a booking till 9 pm 9but was able to eat in bar area
Location: Visiting relatives only.
Only stopping in Whitchurch for a couple of nights and this hotel provided all I needed.
1 out of 5
by Mrs.J from St Helens

RIP OFF!

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
Attending a friends wedding close. Room only £133 (if you wished to purchase breakfast it was £16.99 RIP OFF!!). As we could only check in from 3pm we arrived at 4pm - given room 105 on ground floor - corridor full of dirty towels waiting to go into the laundry room which was opposite our bedroom - not very welcoming!! Ordered taxis to take us to the wedding - received phone call from the Reception desk at 6.30pm informing us there was no taxi until 7.30pm decided to drive ourselves but asked them to book a return taxi for 12.30am. Taxi never arrived! On getting back to the hotel asked if the bar was still open which it was and ordered a round of drinks £31 !! Another group still drinking so we ordered another round and told the bar had shut - then witnessed the other group ordering and receiving drinks on more than one occasion!! We decided to go to bed at this point. One of the other couples with us were put in a disabled room 101 - had no flushing toilet! Not the sort of things you would expect from a 4* hotel. We felt we had been treated like second class citizens. Wouldn't recommend it !!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wirral

Excellent hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2015
Pros: The quality of the rooms and atmosphere of the hotel
Location: don't know
The staff were very helpful and friendly and there was a lovely relaxing atmosphere in the hotel. The rooms were very comfortable and the towels were especially good. Liked having a fridge in the room as I was staying for 3 nights. The breakfast was of a very high standard. One of the nicest hotels I've stayed in. I would definitely stay again
1 out of 5
by Mrs.J from St Helens

Over priced!

Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
Very disappointed. As we couldn't check in until 3pm I was very surprised to see a corridor full of dirty laundry trucks outside our room at 4pm!! As the laundry room was opposite our room 105 it was also very noisy the next morning with the hotel staff. We didn't bother booking breakfast @ £16 per person after paying £133 for room only for one night! Friends who paid this the previous morning said it definitely was not worth it and wasn't even a buffet style !! We had asked the reception to book a taxi for us as we were attending a wedding nearby - we were only informed at 6.30 pm that they hadn't been able to arrange a taxi for the time we required so we had to drive ourselves there and arranged for a return taxi to collect us at 12.30 am. - the taxi never arrived!!! On arriving back at the hotel we went for a drink in the bar. Another group of residents were already drinking there and when we ordered another round we were informed that the bar had closed, although we witnessed the barman serving the other residents on more than one occasion. The drinks were expensive too. Very disappointed with the whole experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2015 on Hotels
Bad Wi-fi