Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from cumbria

Dinner bed and breakfast

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Peacefulness
Cons: Not enough experience
Location: Ditto
Excellent.Arrived late but staff served up a lovely dinner. Room excellent . Quiet and peaceful after a rather grim journey from Cardiff.Great nights sleep and a lovely breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west midlands

Basic

Posted Oct 1, 2017
I was a little disappointed as was expecting a more luxurious stay. The room was clean although the fridge smelt and there were not luxurious wash items as described but small basic soap, shampoo and body wash. The breakfast was ok however many tables did not have salt and pepper and the wait for toast and coffee seemed to take forever. They were clearly inexperienced staff or understaffed. The spa however was fantastic and the staff were both friendly, professional and experienced. It's just a shame about the hotel part really.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Robin Hood's Bay

Comfy rooms

Posted Sep 18, 2017
We stayed for 2 nights for a friends wedding nearby. Room was big and comfy. Food at restaurant was of a good standard. Only complaint was paying £10.50 for a scallop starter that only had 3 scallops and a bit of sauce on plate and a side salad which cost £3.50 for a very small dish. The salmon main was however superb as were the sweet potato fries. Staff really friendly and very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Beautiful surroundings friendly helpful staff

Posted Sep 18, 2017
All the staff in the hotel including the laundry, house, spa, restaurant, golf shop and particularly the manager and reception staff helped to provide a very special experience for my 70th birthday with my family. A big thank you. X
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2017
We were staying for a wedding and they managed to get our room ready early so we could get ready in comfort. I thought that was great service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible check in and it went on bad from there.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
When we arrived we were great by the MOST unhelpful receptionist. She obviously missed the customer care training. We got to our room and the TV wasn't working. After calling reception 12 times no answer so I went to ask for it to be fixed. This time got a helpful receptionist who offer to change to room to 2 single beds so we stayed put. Just found out they have over charged us £50, not very happy. I would not stay here again. Drink prices are a total rip off.
4 out of 5
by david

Nice hotel but procedure let's it down

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
The facilities are good, nice rooms two golf courses very nice swimming pool and spa in a lovely area of Cheshire just a 5 minute drive from Northwich but the service or more like THE procedures seem to let it down compared to other 4* rates hotels. On check in the printer wasnt working so it was done manually it took a bit longer but no problem these things happen then we were told the kitchen fans were not working so the kitchen was closed. Instead the hotel would put on a barbeque at £20 a head but you would still have to book a time to avoid any rush. Given the issues I don't think it would harm of the hotel took a bit of a hit and put the barbeque on for free or if not just charge a nominal fee. Then the lift for stuck. Breakfast the next morning certainly wasn't worth the £20 charge and this is where the service/procedures let them down. The staff were working hard but there did not seem to be enough of them. The lady that greeted and sat us went to sit others before coming back and taking tea and coffee orders so there was a 10 minute wait before she returned and the following morning she didn't return after seating us and I had to go and find her. I would be more than happy to get my own tea and coffee and toast as in other hotels, it would be quicker and leave staff with more time. The hot breakfast was limited & not the best quality for £20. I would stay at the hotel again but eat breakfast at Sainsburys a 5 minute drive away.
5 out of 5
by Gary

Good stay

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Hotels
Not a lot to do if your not into golf, pool, sauna and steam room were good, but no jacuzzi, for a spa hotel that was disappointing, asked for a family room, a double and single in the picture. Got a folding bed, not comfortable. Breakfast, why oh why do you have plated service, I like to see the food, just turning the ban maries sideways on would be better. That said room was excellent and lovely view of the golf course and an awesome sunset.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel with a few technology problems.

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff. Good food. Excellent swimming pool. Wifi out of action and poor mobile phone signal.