Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J.

Wonderful Getaway

Posted Jul 21, 2017
I have stayed at the Nottoway Plantation Resort several times. This time was lovely, just like the rest. We stayed in the mansion in room 13, the Moses & Bethia Liddell room. The room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. We ate dinner in the restauant twice and thought it was great. Also, the bartender was skilled, as well as very friendly. Overall, we enjoyed our stay thoroughly. I can't wait to go back. The Nottoway is one of my favorite places on Earth.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Texas

Not a word from Nottoway

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: The beauty of the grounds. The majesty of the mansion. The huge live oak trees. Lovely place for a wedding. Not a great place to stay overnight.
Cons: After wandering in New Orleans, my wife and I were hot, sweaty, and tired. We came back around eight pm to a room that had not been serviced.
Location: Baton Rouge is packed with nice restaurants. We also went into New Orleans for that experience.
According to reviews we had read about staying at Nottoway, my wife and I decided to give it a try. Let me start out by saying that it is a beautiful piece of history. The magnificent huge live oak trees and the setting of the mansion certainly make one say "Oh, my Goodness" as you drive up. The rooms are nice. The accommodations... comfortable. I can't comment on the food, as we spent most of our time exploring Baton Rouge and New Orleans. The first night's stay was great. We did visit the pool prior to venturing out on the first evening. The pool was OK. The bottom rung on one of the ladders is broken. There was only one pool towel left, and I never saw any staff check the pool area the two hours we were swimming. There was a total of about ten lounges, which is about half enough for the number of rooms & guests. There is an area with bar-height seating, but it's in the shade. The hot tub / spa was filthy. The water in the spa was murky. After a refreshing swim in the pool, and sitting on a towel on the pool deck, I was ready to explore other areas of the grounds. I heard bullfrogs in a pond nearby. There is a fountain with a statue of a girl holding a goose. The pond was covered with scum. The bullfrogs were fat from eating the mosquitoes breeding in the muck. After being gone for the day, the room was not serviced. We had to drive to the front desk to get fresh towels and bottled water. I asked that a manager contact me via phone or email. Not a word from Nottoway!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and relaxing!

Posted Jul 7, 2017
There are amazing 100+ year old oak trees throughout the grounds, we stayed in the carriage house and our room was extra large and the beds and pillows were amazing! It is next to the river and in the country so there are alot of bugs and we had to close the hotel room door quickly to keep them out but again in the country that is not surprising. Listening to the bullfrogs and crickets at night made for a relaxing evening. The house tour is interesting and informative and the restaurant has wonderful food. If you want a quiet, relaxing stay somewhere this is the place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Relax , Relax this is butifull place to stay

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Perfect getaway to relax and clear your mind. Not to often do I find a place to relax with my life of 7 kids and a business owner. But here I was at the perfect spot . I will make another trip there next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Beautiful mansion, excellent restaurant, friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by Jennifer

Just lovely

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
We were only here one night. It was lovely. The plantation itself is just amazing. We did the tour and had a very nice evening there. We were in one of the rooms in the Overseers Cottage and it was absolutely lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anchorage, AK

Beautiful Spot!

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Beautiful setting
Cons: Restaurant service on Saturday morning was much slower and inefficient that previous mornings. We waited longer than we should have for everything.
Location: Lots of plantation homes to visit on the Great River Road.
Having been on the road visiting Civil War sites for two weeks, we wanted a rest. This place was so placid and beautifully maintained. The mansion is a beautiful center piece, the grounds are delightful to stroll and the cottages are clean and quiet. Additionally, the restaurant was a nice surprise with good food and reasonably good service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Great room, beautiful location. The service was fantastic and definitely would visit again. One note of caution: watch out for cockroaches. There weren't any in our room but since it is in an area with lots of vegetation, we saw many crawling around outside our door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Longview, Tx

Southern plantation dream

Posted May 14, 2017 on Orbitz
We stayed in the 3rd floor room overlooking the river. Great view. The room was awesome but the bed was very uncomfortable. A lot of noise kept waking me until about 4am but the grandeur of this old plantation made up for any inconveniences. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable. Just watch out for Bob. He can tell some tall ghost tales. I would definitely stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recommend you stay

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: The tour was informative & interesting. Very picturesque/beautiful home. Food in restaurant was delicious.
Cons: The pool and hot tub needed much TLC. The bikes were flat and dirty.
Location: Walked the levee; not much to do
It was a beautiful location. Most of the staff were helpful and kind. Outside of the tour, not much to do so plan on relaxing. There is a small café that is open outside of restaurant hours; I recommend taking snacks/drinks if you stay overnight.