Ratings based on 254 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston, tx

Happy surprise

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Pros: How the house is very well preserved, and visitors can walk the rooms freely
Cons: Food, restaurant is ok but an upscale menu would fit better the style of the house
Location: Not much to do nearby
We got there with the idea of expending the night in a plantation, we never expected to find it in such good condition, we stay at the main house, so it was the whole 1850s experience. My daughter really enjoyed wandering the house.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Southern charm

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: Staff, setting, food
Cons: Fitness center, a bit more attention to detail on the cleanliness
Nottoway is a perfectly lovely hotel, catering for weddings and events. We splurged on the honeymoon suite, which was well decorated and comfortable, but were disappointed that the private pool was neglected and looked like it hadn't been cleaned in quite a while - we decided not to enjoy a little dip in it. We had dinner while we were staying, and that was excellent - steak cooked to perfection with baked shrimp scampi and a fabulous wine list. The staff couldn't have been better. The "fitness center" left a bit to be desired - one treadmill, one bike and one crosstrainer (which didn't work) and a home gym with pulley system. Fortunately it was possible to take a run along the levee, and the grounds were pleasant to walk around in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely grounds, peaceful.

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: The grounds
Cons: Food
Location: Visited a total of 6 plantations.
Restful, peaceful, gorgeous getaway. Beautiful lantation house, great grounds with huge, old live oat trees. Staff is very accommodating. Would go back in a heartbeat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Jen Donald, Hotel Management
Glad you enjoyed your getaway with us! We enjoyed seeing the pictures you posted and hope that you will come and be a guest soon in the near future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Romantic with a step back in time.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Unique experience.
Location: Also visit nearby Oak Alley Plantation.
Beautiful antebellum home and grounds. Room was great and the period decoration allowed a good feeling for what it was like during the antebellum period. A highlight was the restaurant, which is worth a visit on its own. The staff was helpful and attentive. Hope to have a chance to return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Jen Donald, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. Our restaurant is very unique and we are happy you were able to experience the ambiance and the cuisine we offer. It sounds like you were able to really "soak in" the rich history we have here at Nottoway. We hope to have you back in the future as overnight guests again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and confortqblw

Posted Oct 14, 2017
The cottages are very spacious and the beds are very comfortable. The plantation is beautiful. You will not be disappointed if you stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Orange, FL

Feels like your in your own city

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Very southern hotel with very unique experience. I could see how it would be a great place for a wedding or gathering but it was a night stay with our family on a road trip. It ended up being just fine for two kids (10&3), but I did feel bad for people in other rooms because of the hardwood floors and our active children.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Magical Manor

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Set in exquisite, picturesque grounds, Nottoway is simply stunning. Everything you would want/expect from a resort and old fashioned charm. Our rooom was clean and quaint. Pool area is beautiful however it is home to a LOT of hungry mosquitos- I read other reviews about this so something does need to be put in place to improve this as I am covered in bites. Also, a little confusion over breakfast times- reception said 6-9am however I double checked the website in the morning and it said until 10am so sadly we missed what I'm sure would've been a delicious breakfast buffet! Highly recommend Nottoway especially in comparison to Oak Alley, far more trafitional and intimate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Peaceful, quiet, and charming!!!

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Everything was GORGEOUS - extremely quiet and peaceful, the bed was insanely comfy (nice linens and pillows too!), staff was wonderful, food was stellar, and we loved how casual the environment was. Highly recommend! On a side note, we wouldn't have enjoyed more than 1-2 nights because there isn't much to see in the area once you've seen the house, but for a quiet weekend it's perfect!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Wonderful experience

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Decided at the last minute to book a room at Nottoway. What a grand place. We loved everything about it. Loved walking through the mansion after tour hours on our own to get a good look at everything close up. We ate at the restaurant and it was delicious. The chef came out and asked us if we were pleased. I am already planning another trip down there with my 5 sisters for a long weekend. Loved our time spent there.