Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Antebellum mansion

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Lovely place with history! Beautiful mansion and grounds. Staff was amazing and knowledgeable! Will be going back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Overnight for the tour

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: The tour. Although the guide needs to be trained.
Cons: See experience above.
Location: Location remote, oil industrial and White Castle town drive through was shabby and seemed dangerous.
Hotel check-in service was minimal. Big hotel with several floors, no elevators. No bell staff to help with bags. One Ice machine, no where near the room. Room was very dark with few lamps. Did not notice any security staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas Texas

Beautiful place

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Beautiful place with a very friendly staff, a little far away from everything but that's some of it's charm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from san antonio tx

Very nice hotel, very quiet, enjoyed family time.

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: The grounds is what I really like and the upgraded rooms had everything that we needed.
Cons: Needs a Helipad and some excursions on the American Queen steamboat.
Location: Baton Rouge for the best crawfish around town and New Orleans for does who like the drive.
weekend family getaway, everything was nice, family story of the mansion was amazing, we enjoy the restaurant, the peacefulness of the property, the relaxing vibe, and all the green areas with our family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Abita Springs, LA

Great getaway!

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Close enough to get to from just about anywhere. Not the normal hotel experience. Amazing ambiance.
Cons: Rooms could be cleaned a bit better.
Location: Gorgeous. You didn't even need to leave the property to enjoy yourself.
Beautiful grounds, very nice accommodations, great food and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Beautiful Victorian Plantation home.

Posted Feb 1, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay. Had dinner and breakfast in the dining room. The food was excellent. Service was better for dinner. Slower in the morning. Enjoyed our Tour of the Plantation. Rooms were large, comfortable and had a nice patio with 2 rockers. Unfortunately it was too cold to use them. A must see experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Jennifer Donald, Hotel Management
Thank you or staying with us, as we truly are thrilled you enjoyed your stay here. We hope on your next visit the weather will be warmer so you can enjoy those rockers and the wonderful views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glastonbury, CT

Don't stay in the loft!

Posted Jan 21, 2017
We booked a stay in the "loft Bertha" room because all of the Expedia photos looked really nice. This must be the only "room" not pictured. It was an attic with two separate rooms across the hall from each other with a bathroom in the room with an uncomfortable twin bed. If we slept in the queen bed room we would need to cross the hallway with our key to use the bathroom. We could have dealt with all of this but both rooms were infested with lady bugs and there was mouse poop under the pillow! We called the night manager at 2am who was very accommodating! Bob has great southern charm and stories about the plantation. There were no other rooms available so he put us in the master suite of the mansion which was beautiful. The next two nights we stayed in one of the cottages which were very nice. If we never experienced the loft all of my ratings would be 5 star. I would definitely recommend this plantation... Just avoid the loft.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Jennifer Donald, Hotel Management
We are so sorry about your experience in our LOFT, we are happy to hear that Bob rectified the situation immediately and made you feel comfortable. We hope you are able to stay with us again in the future in one of our cottages, please feel free to reach out before booking so we may be able to assist you in getting you a much more suited room to your liking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spring, TX

Nottoway Plantation and Resort

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: History, decor, cotttages, and grounds!
Cons: Some type of food service should be provided at least from 7-9:00 pm daily.
I loved Nottaway Plantation and Resort! Our cottage was delightful and very comfortable! Breakfast at the Mansion was delicious and reasonably priced. The restaurant and bar were impeccably decorated! I thoroughly enjoyed the tour of the Mansion! Our tour guide, Crystal, was very knowledgeable and interesting. My only disappointments were that I missed breakfast, as I went to the fitness room (very meager equipment), and by the time I finished and showered I missed lunch, as well. They had closed 15 minutes early. There was no food to be found on the premises until dinner time, as the cafe is only opened certain days of the week. Also, our room wasn't cleaned, and when I called to check on it, I was told housekeeping had gone home for the day. The bellman brought me two bath towels, but we did not get anything else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from The Wilds of Utah

Peaceful, Unique Experience

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: beautiful scenery, good bar and restaurant
Cons: It would be nice if the rooms were better described so you choose the one that suits you best.
Location: There are lots of plantations. Be sure to visit Houmas house!
We stayed in the cheapest loft lodging, and it was lovely. It was actually divided into two rooms, and large bedroom and a small bedroom and bathroom across the hallway. It is very peaceful. I would recommend it for a one night stay. Children would probably get bored. You need a car to get here. Be sure to visit Houmas house, a nearby plantation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by Jennifer Donald, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, and for your review of our resort. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you back as our guest.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good and Bad: Tough Call

Posted Dec 23, 2016
stayed 2 nights on our trip. This was a tough review because the good was great the bad was pretty bad... GOOD: Rich history, great tour of beautiful mansion, cute small museum, DELICIOUS food at restaurant, beautiful grounds right on the Mississippi River, nice little escape. Fun event of bond fire and fireworks. Easy parking. Complimentary tour tickets! BAD: Room was infested with lady bugs, yellow jackets and a mouse that we woke up to scurrying behind the couch the dresser and by my luggage. Because it was an old building there is little holes in the walls and floors I think the pests come through because it's by feilds. Floors are creecky. Also, due to the age, the restroom was in a separate room (I'm sure other rooms have it in the same area this was just our experience in the room we got.) the jacuzzi didn't really work it was warm at best and the press "0" for help didn't work. Also there was no flyer or info given about times of events that would've made it more enjoyable. So overall a wonderful place, on the river, great food at the restaurant; but the room itself was not very comfortable.