Ratings based on 241 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Romantic with a step back in time.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Unique experience.
Location: Also visit nearby Oak Alley Plantation.
Beautiful antebellum home and grounds. Room was great and the period decoration allowed a good feeling for what it was like during the antebellum period. A highlight was the restaurant, which is worth a visit on its own. The staff was helpful and attentive. Hope to have a chance to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and confortqblw

Posted Oct 14, 2017
The cottages are very spacious and the beds are very comfortable. The plantation is beautiful. You will not be disappointed if you stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Orange, FL

Feels like your in your own city

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Very southern hotel with very unique experience. I could see how it would be a great place for a wedding or gathering but it was a night stay with our family on a road trip. It ended up being just fine for two kids (10&3), but I did feel bad for people in other rooms because of the hardwood floors and our active children.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Magical Manor

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Set in exquisite, picturesque grounds, Nottoway is simply stunning. Everything you would want/expect from a resort and old fashioned charm. Our rooom was clean and quaint. Pool area is beautiful however it is home to a LOT of hungry mosquitos- I read other reviews about this so something does need to be put in place to improve this as I am covered in bites. Also, a little confusion over breakfast times- reception said 6-9am however I double checked the website in the morning and it said until 10am so sadly we missed what I'm sure would've been a delicious breakfast buffet! Highly recommend Nottoway especially in comparison to Oak Alley, far more trafitional and intimate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Peaceful, quiet, and charming!!!

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Everything was GORGEOUS - extremely quiet and peaceful, the bed was insanely comfy (nice linens and pillows too!), staff was wonderful, food was stellar, and we loved how casual the environment was. Highly recommend! On a side note, we wouldn't have enjoyed more than 1-2 nights because there isn't much to see in the area once you've seen the house, but for a quiet weekend it's perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Wonderful experience

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Decided at the last minute to book a room at Nottoway. What a grand place. We loved everything about it. Loved walking through the mansion after tour hours on our own to get a good look at everything close up. We ate at the restaurant and it was delicious. The chef came out and asked us if we were pleased. I am already planning another trip down there with my 5 sisters for a long weekend. Loved our time spent there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful architecture no attention to detail.

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Cons: Custmer service
Nottoway has a beautiful building and grounds. The staff at check in was courteous. The room floors were dirty and there was a significant amount of black mold growing on the ceiling and wall in the bathroom. The food in the main dining facility was good, but overpriced for what it was and the experience with the wait staff. The view at dinner time almost made up for it. The room had almost no wifi access. It came and went but went more than it came. Daylight was visible all around the door to our room with plenty of room for the mosquitoes and wasps (which were everywhere) to enter. Be sure to buy a ticket for the tour if you want to see the main building. We were told that we had to go in after 5p and use the back stairs if we wanted to see it and then reminded not to open any closed doors if we weren't going to buy a ticket. The first morning went down for breakfast we arrived at the main restaurant at 9:40a. We noticed the sign said breakfast was served until 9am so we decided to leave for breakfast. On the way out the staff at the desk told us the restaurant there was open until 10am (they need to change their sign). When we went in for breakfast, we were asked to wait and stood there for several minutes. The staff was so slow that by the time they sat us and served our coffee it was after 10am and they told us the kitchen was closed and we had no choice but the buffet. Skip staying at Nottoway, go to Oak Alley for great hospitality and excellent food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

A great piece of history.

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: It was great to stay in a piece of history.
Had a wonderful tour and a great dinner with a beautiful view of the live oaks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J.

Wonderful Getaway

Posted Jul 21, 2017
I have stayed at the Nottoway Plantation Resort several times. This time was lovely, just like the rest. We stayed in the mansion in room 13, the Moses & Bethia Liddell room. The room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. We ate dinner in the restauant twice and thought it was great. Also, the bartender was skilled, as well as very friendly. Overall, we enjoyed our stay thoroughly. I can't wait to go back. The Nottoway is one of my favorite places on Earth.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Annapolis, MD

Could not have asked for a better vacation!!

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The only thing I would like to see is if the outside/exterior lamps were converted from electric to gas, as they were when the house was first built.
Location: Not much to do nearby, but we did go to Mass at St. John the Evangelist in Plaquemine - it is a beautiful historic church.
ALL of the staff were so incredibly friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The room was immaculate, the house was stunning, the grounds were beautiful, and the food in the restaurant was fantastic. We cannot say enough wonderful things - our favorite staff person was Bob who works at nights. We thoroughly enjoyed our conversations with him each night as he made the rounds and he made every guest feel important. The tour of the property gave us so much information and the "museum" was wonderful. If you love history, make sure to get a room in the mansion! #13 is probably the best room!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Jen Donald, Hotel Management
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our history interesting. We wish we could convert to gas as well to really get a feel of what it would be like back in the 1800's, however it is more conducive and safe to keep our lamps electric. We hope to see you back for a visit in the near future.