Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Nice hotel close to mountains

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Service was great and lot of things to do on site including golf course would recommend to anyone looking to stay in Vermont New Hampshire area
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Christopher Diego, Hotel Management
Dear Ryan, Thank you for taking the time to review here on Expedia. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our wonderful golf course. We hope to welcome you for another visit in the future!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mass

Beautiful Setting

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Location, views, activities, rooms, staff.
Cons: Food
Location: The hotel is fairly self contained and you have to travel a bit to get more amenities.
The Mountain View Grand is in a magnificent setting on the top of a hill with sweeping views of the White Mountains. The hotel is just the right size and presents itself as a grand reminder of the era of majestic destination hotel/resorts of earlier times. The view off the front porch is stunning and on a beautiful sunny day, it has to be one of the best spots to just sit and relax and have a drink. The room was very nice and updated, with comfortable beds and plenty of room for an older hotel. Overall, the service is good and the staff is very friendly. There were numerous activities to keep everyone occupied and happy. If there was one area that needed more consistency it was the food. It was overall adequate. This seems to be a recurring theme of reviews and I would agree. My suggestion would be for management to look into bringing this area up another level. This is the area that keeps it from 5 stars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Christopher Diego, Hotel Management
Dear T.K., Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I am pleased that you enjoyed many aspects of the resort, but I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy the food. I have shared your feedback with Abraham Rubio, our Food & Beverage Director, and Nathan Varney, our Executive Chef. We have collected a significant amount of guest feedback over the summer, and these comments will be directly reflected in our new fall menus that are currently in the works. Please trust that your concerns have been taken to heart and I do hope you will consider visiting us again for a future visit. Warmest regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saugus, MA

Beautiful hotel, food not so much....

Posted Aug 12, 2016
I loved the beauty and grounds of this hotel! The pool was nice, and the staff very friendly. We ate dinner at the bar, and while the bar itself is nice, the food was not. $25 for a tiny piece of meatloaf that left my husband still hungry, my mother ordered salmon that came as a circle (yes, circular salmon!) on top of rice that was very average...if you're going to eat there, play it safe and order a burger. The other major issue is that there is NOTHING to do after 9:00 pm. Everything is shut down (pool, activities) by 9:00, so unless you want to drink at an overpriced bar or play air hockey in a room in the basement that smells like cat pee, it's bedtime for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2016 by Christopher Diego, Hotel Management
Dear Kathy M., I am pleased that you enjoyed many aspects of the resort, but I am sorry that you did not enjoy your dining experience at the bar and the lack of activities after 9pm. I have shared your dining feedback with Abraham Rubio, our Food & Beverage Director, and Nathan Varney, our Executive Chef. Nathan will be reviewing the portion size of the meatloaf entrée and also the presentation of the salmon dish. I have also spoken with Elaine Frenette, our Activities Director and asked her to try and incorporate more adult oriented activities in the evening. She will also be working with housekeeping to investigate the smell in the game room. Please trust that your concerns have been taken to heart and I do hope you will consider visiting us again in the future. Warmest regards,
4 out of 5
by martine

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2016 by Christopher Diego, Hotel Management
Dear Martine, Thank you for your 4-star rating. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will visit us again soon.
5 out of 5
by Robert from L. Compton

MVG Hotel

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent hotel in a beautiful setting. The hotel is exceptionally well maintained and furnished. This is the second time we have stayed there and won't be the last. The dining experience was a little off. The wait staff could use more training and refrain from calling guests 'guys' and drop the word 'absolutely' from their vocabulary.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2016 by Christopher Diego, Hotel Management
Dear Robert, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I have shared your dining feedback with Abraham Rubio, our Food & Beverage Director. Abraham will be reviewing with his staff how to properly address guests, and additional training will be provided as need. I am happy to learn you enjoyed your second visit with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for your third.
5 out of 5
by Jung Hee from NJ

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent experience at the historic hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2016 by Christopher Diego, Hotel Management
Dear Jung Hee, Thank you for your comments! I am glad to hear you had an excellent experience at the hotel and we hope we will be able to welcome you back.
4 out of 5
by Glenn from Belmont NH

First time stay..

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Truly a grand place to stay, the hotel staff was friendly and accommodating . Incredible views , a little hard to get up and out of the very comfortable bed in the morning.but when we did , there was nothing better then enjoying a delicious cup of coffee , locally roasted I might add , out on One of the most incredible front porches I've ever been on. This is a historic hotel , room sizes are not what you might expect call the hotel directly with any questions and you will not be dissatisfied .
4 out of 5
by haim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by michaela from Waltham

Relaxing getaway

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
We had a very relaxing stay with amazing food right at the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

An Amazing hotel!

Posted Feb 22, 2016
It was amazing! The hotel as well as the scenery was over the top gorgeous! Awesome pool, hot tube and sauna! Worth the price!