Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Stow, MA

Charming B&B close to ski resorts

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Quiet, clean, nice décor and close to ski areas.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Short drive to ski areas and restaurants.
We had a wonderful stay here for two nights during ski season. The staff is friendly, informative about the restaurants and activities in the area, and really take an interest in ensuring a wonderful stay for their guests.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would stay again

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was very friendly and the bed was very comfy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful!

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: We went up Mt Washington. Breathtaking.
I can't say enough good about this place. The owners are great people and very knowledgeable. The hotel is lovely. Also they make a great breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Fantastic stay in old Victorian

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Chris and Roger were fantastic innkeepers. They provided dining and various activity recommendations. Home-cooked breakfast by Chris was also very delicious and a really nice touch before you get ready to check out. It is very clear that both Chris and Roger enjoy entertaining guests. Highly recommend this place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business beige is boring, quirky is fun.

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
It was a little funky. It smelled its age but it was a pleasant stay. There was too much kitsch mixed in with a collection of bonafide antiques. However, it made me realize I have stayed at way too many business beige hotels. The building's period details, antiques, pleasant owners and enjoyable common breakfast made me say maybe I'll do another B&B rather than a business hotel next time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Gem of a place!!

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
I would highly recommend staying here! Roger and Chris were awesome!
5 out of 5
by Sehnaz

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
I had an amazing stay at the Lion and the Rose. The cleanliness, comfort and hospitality can't be beat and I look forward to my next visit. The breakfast alone is well worth the trip and the premium bedding was one of the best. Thanks for a great stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Can't think of anything to improve our stay

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: the truly Victorian feel and of course Chris & Roger
Cons: I wish Missy the cat had been a bit more friendly
Location: right on main road but very quiet.unfortunatly there is not a lot to do in Whitefield but that is what make this so special
All the hotels in Littleton were booked but we expanded our search and found the Lion & Rose..what good fortune! we had the Avalon room with our own private sitting room, little fridge & coffee maker. Chris & roger could not have been nicer..we were early so Chris told us where to get a good lunch in town..the bed & bedding was perfect for sleeping, I had a nice visit with Roger talking about travels and the Reunion I was going to in Bethlehem. to top it off we had stuffed French toast, and sausage for breakfast YUM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Starksboro, VT

Elegant Victorian with modern conveniences

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: My biggest peeve is hotels that have rock-hard mattresses - this mattress was VERY comfortable! Room was clean, spacious and comfortable.
Cons: Where the driveway meets the road, the ROAD has a huge dip - I actually bottomed out the bike getting out. Be careful pulling in & out. The ONLY flaw!
Location: Sunny's is a place for a not-too-quick (but very tasty!) bite to eat in town.
My wife and I stayed here one night when we needed a place to overnight in NH - wedding on Saturday and a poker run on Sunday. I really had no idea what it would be like since I'd never been there before. It's a big Victorian house in Whitefield near the center of town. Our room was on the first floor, nicely equipped with a VERY comfortable queen bed, WiFi, a flatscreen TV (that we didn't even turn on, we were so tired!), a small fridge, coffee maker and an AC. Parking lot is hardpacked dirt, and Chris, the owner, made sure to direct us to the spot that was packed down hardest, since she could see us rolling in on our Gold Wing. We weren't terribly hungry (the meal at the wedding was late in the day), but Chris told us of the two places in walking distance and we did eat at Sunny's - a surprisingly good little pizzeria/restaurant. I recommend the burgers and the onion rings. They were both quite good! As you'd expect from a Northern New England town, it was quiet during the night and we slept very well. Breakfast was French toast & sausage with local maple syrup (the GOOD stuff!) and Chris was very accommodating for times - we needed to get on the road early to make the poker run, so she had breakfast for us at 7:30. All in all, it was a very nice stay, and we'd stay there again if we're in the area!