Ratings based on 216 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Highland falls Ny

Good location, near highways

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Getaway weekend. Stayed here to take advantage of nearby attractions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Beautiful hotel with lovely grounds.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Fast check in, privacy, great view of the courtyard from our room window.
Location: We love Posh Pretzels in Tarrytown!
We had a great stay. The staff was welcoming and professional, the hotel is lovely, the room was delightful and the bed was comfortable. Be prepared to walk a bit to your room, but there are great old captioned photos of the area on the walls as you walk to keep you entertained
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

A mixed bag

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
This is a lovely, period (sort of) hotel. The grounds are beautiful. The older historic buildings are fascinating. The location is wonderful. The check in took a long time (we stayed here on Friday night, November 25) and while we were waiting in line, the power went off for 5 minutes. They need a swifter check in. The facilities (the "new" part) are dated and unattractive, but they surround a lovely courtyard. Our room was fine. Suitable and comfortable, but starting to feel a bit outdated. It is a real shame too that the on-site restaurant & bar, in the basement of one of the historic buildings, offer no view/vintage point of the lovely grounds. It feels cold and the furnishings need updating. All in all, if you want the feel of an historic lodging experience in a nice, comfortable, well-situated hotel, we can recommend this (but keep your expectations 'average').
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable room, accommodating staff

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Staff allowed us to check in after midnight and gave us a late check-out as well. Very professional and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Virginia

The Sunny side of the Hudson.

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Old world charm with a modern touch. Checking in late on a Friday night we were delighted with the service and friendliness of staff. The lovely Christmas tree in the lobby set a festive mood as well. In the morning we awoke to a view of the Hudson Valley blanketed in its first snowfall. Wonderful!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but def not 4star

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Hotel is nice but smells dated. Bathroom wasn't clean and had to request service. They did come immediately. Breakfast was $46 for two people. Not worth it if you stay multiple nights. Staff was friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, N.Y.

we loved the graciousness and architectural charm

Posted Dec 18, 2016
great value, loved the King Mansion, and its beautiful proportions, detail splendid Victorian antiques in the room very comfortable bed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

Getaway

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: The grounds are beautiful, it is always very clean and staff is always willing to help.
Cons: Wish they had the main restaurant open again. Called for room service and it felt a little tacky as it was just served in a bag.
Location: Mainly just go into town and walk around. Not very large, but a couple of nice shops.
Have been to Tarrytown House numerous times and will continue to go back. Although it is under new ownership and they have cut back on many amenities (no longer have the restaurant in the main building) it is still worth the money if you can get a good price. I would not book it at the normal price of approximately $270 a night, but have been able to get prices in the range of $129-$149 a night and that is certainly worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Wonderful ambiance, classic environment and gorgeous views of the Hudson from the King Mansion terrace.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2016
4 nights....wonderful to take the train into the city and also spent a day exploring the Sleepy Hollow cemetary. good restaurants locally... amazing grounds