Ratings based on 654 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shelburne Falls MA

Historic conference center hotel

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: The ambiance, the unusual aspects, its surroundings and history.
Cons: More thoughtful allocation of rooms when the hotel is not full.
Location: Near the Hudson, many historic sites nearby, good restaurants, easy commute to the city by train if you don't want to drive, beautiful area.
The management was very accommodating when we asked to change our room, and made sure that our stay was extremely pleasant. This is an interesting facility- one of the first conference centers in the US, it was made from two combined estates in a wealthy suburb of NY. It's well-maintained and beautiful. The staff are friendly and helpful if you ask for anything. The place has a lot to offer, and the grounds and surroundings are very relaxing and peaceful. When I was there in the summer it was really lively, full of people, but in the cooler months it's much quieter.
4 out of 5
by Jan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Lisa from Dallas, TX

Lovely historic hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is lovely and in a lovely quiet location with a view of the Hudson. It is an old place but well maintained. It is extremely confusing finding your way around such a large place but it is pretty. The staff was very responsive and helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent served in the mansion on the property and the dining room has a wonderful view of the river.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
Front desk staff were really rude and unhelpful. There are no elevators and we specifically asked for room with minimal steps but he gave us a room up 5 flights of stairs!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful grand hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2016 on Orbitz
My wife and I loved our getaway to this beautiful hotel. The grounds were lovely and they had a wide variety of activities that you can be involved in. We are now planning a trip back, this time with our kids.
4 out of 5
by Marie from New York

Big hopes, poor delivery

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
We paid for a king mansion room. Not worth it. The ones without balconies are useless. We paid extra to stay at the "mansion with water views" only to be able to see a small sliver though a tiny window at knee height in the bathroom. The room smelt like someone had been smoking in it... It was a terrible room. Carpet was old and felt dirty. We asked for slippers.. First told they didn't have them, then yes they did, waited hours ... Actually till the next morning only to be told sorry we don't have them. ???? At 6am an alarm clock went off in an empty room - when we were told all rooms were booked and we couldn't change... We called front desk... Waited over a 2 hours for it to be turned off. Like really ??? We also used the indoor pool and spa. Dirt and mould a plenty in the bathrooms there. Such a shame because it's such a nice little hotel.
4 out of 5
by Gerald from Middletown

Comfortable stay

Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable stay. Did not make use of sports facility. Would have loved to but was on business. Like most others stated. Be prepared to walk a lot. No elevators. Rooms far apart. I was ok with it. But others? No free breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Laguna Beach California

Not actually a hotel

Posted Mar 11, 2016
Staying here is quite possibly the most frustrating hotel experience I have ever had. The restaurant was completely empty but would not service coffee and dessert. If we wanted to eat there we had to order a full dinner. The only option for breakfast was a full buffet or takeout food. No partial buffet and no menu to order from. Even though the scant room information said luncheons are served, the buffet was only for people attending a conference. Apparently as an act of mercy, they were once again able to offer takeout food. I don't stay in nice hotels to eat takeout food in my room. The room was so hot it was unbearable and there was no way to cool it down except to sleep with the windows open even though it was snowing. There were a lot of stairs to the room and there was no elevator to be found. The carpet in the room was ratty. I could go on and on but I think you get the picture.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

An old property with character

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Pros: History, décor, grounds. May be nice to be back in the summer for the pool and tennis courts.
Cons: The property is old and some of the rooms especially in the historic King House may need repairs.
Location: Tarrytown for great restaurants, Sleepy Hollow cemetary and Rockefeller House. Not just for Halloween but definitely a fun spooky time!
There aren't many good hotels in the area, and the Tarrytown House Estate has a lot of storied history and character. Expect some quirks from an old house if you are staying in the King House. Stay in the old King House for a spooky time - it's supposed to be haunted, particularly on the 2nd floor. Also, it's the first corporate conference center in the US, ever! PROS: The grounds of the hotel, overally décor and history of the hotel, location close to good restaurants in Tarrytown and Sleepy Hollow touristy stuff. Ample parking, although it is a walk from the rooms depending on where you are staying in the hotel. You are less than an hour from NYC so it's close enough for some urban exploration if you want to take the train in for the night. The train station is right there in Tarrytown and a short cab ride from the hotel if you wish to do that! CONS: It's an old property, particularly the King House where we stayed. There was a leak in the ceiling and a stain from that leak on our bedspread. Toilet kept running. Room in King House was small too.
4 out of 5
by Kevin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels