Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
It was a lovely weekend thanks
4 out of 5
by Patricia from Cape Town

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
Pleasantly surprised with the hotels, the rooms were very comfortable and the location is quiet and peaceful. I wish I could have stayed longer.
4 out of 5
by E M

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Weynand from Johannesburg

Great stay

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
Was very nice. The manager, owner and his wife, and staff made sure that we were absolutely happy and comfortable for our entire stay. They also let us know about happenings in the area and gave some good advice on where to enter the Kruger for the most animal viewings. The room itself was beautiful and clean. It needs a little TLC here and there for e.g the ceiling in the bathroom needed some minor repairs, toilet seat was worn (still clean though) and TV remote didn't work properly. The place itself is very peaceful and hidden away. Don't be discouraged by the semi-run-down places you pass on your way there. It really is a diamond in the rough. Take some time to walk around the beautiful gardens and down to the stream to enjoy some picturesque moments. Although service is a little slow, the food is great and the staff will always make a plan to accommodate you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfy stay

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels
Our stay was comfy. However on arrival our room was not book, lucky they could accommodate us in 2 different rooms for the two nights. The for the price I paid, I expected a bid more.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Neil from UK

Disgrace! ZERO is my actual score!

Posted Apr 13, 2014 on Hotels
Absolute shambles from start to finish.... even before you arrive you have to drive down a completely unkempt dirt road only passable by 4x4s. On arrival we were told that despite confirming the booking with Hotels.com (for which I am still trying to claim a refund (unsuccessfully)) that they were not expecting us and did not have room/availability for the second night of our booking. In the end, this was probably a blessing. This hotel is an old country house and has recently changed hands and the new owners do not understand how to maintain or run a hotel to a reasonable level. The paths through the grounds were completely covered in moss and the swimming pool was unusable. The room had mud footprints on the carpet and there was a cigarette butt in an ashtray behind the bath. The restaurant served frozen not fresh food - including a breaded Hake as "fish of the day" that was laughable... Good luck to anyone trying to get a refund from hotels.com!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very relaxing location and hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Pros: The food was simply superb.....even if the chef does go a little off piste as the food served seems to have a few variations from the menu description
Cons: Very little!
Location: Proximity to Nelspruit airport was its major plus for us
We stayed one night en route to The Kruger. A very relaxing stopover
4 out of 5
by Travel_Bug from Johannesburg, South Africa

Romantic hideaway

Posted May 2, 2013 on Hotels
Beautiful retreat, excellent service (better than most restaurants), excellent food. Well worth the visit. The approach road is terrible, but don't let that put you off.