Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maputo, Mozambique

Nice relaxing hotel close to a golf course

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Staff, location and atmosphere
Cons: Some guests were a bit too nosiy, one of the days. They were having a birthday part, forgetting they were in a public space, and not in their homes.
Location: Said it already above!
I visted this hotel with my wife for a weekend away. The location is good for golfers - there is a nice golf course. We are novices in golf, still learning. For that, it was a disappointment that there wa not a drive range there. But they had a training area, where we practiced some chirping and putting. We also went for a ride for some of the scenery attractions. Unfortunately the weather was at its worst in the last days and we couldn't see al we wanted - too foggy. But it was within the reach of several nice scenic routes and places. A bit too far for a one day trip to the Blyde River Canyon. You may consider closer alternatives. But, as a place for relaxing, it is cozy and the atmosphere is pleasant and relaxing. We didn't try the spa, but friends had recommended it to us. Maybe some other time. The restaurant, also recommended by the same firends, is a good one but not the best (3.5-4 of 5, I would say). The service is very good with very friendly and pleasant staff. We plan to return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absolutely flawless

Posted Dec 4, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely flawless. Above our expectations especially since we were upgraded to an executive suite. Food fab, service very personal. We would love to stay there again if possible. Best hotel we have been to in a very long time
5 out of 5
by Aylwin from Johannesburg

Gem in the Lowveld

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
The hostess Tania was very welcoming and gave lots of advice for our next trip. What a stunning hotel with such friendly staff. We will definitely be back with family in tow!
5 out of 5
by Gerardas

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
great hotel to stay enough close to Kruger park
4 out of 5
by Raul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Lawrence from Johannesburg, South Africa

Top Class

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for 2 nights in early Jan after an extended trip to the bush and Kruger. Olivers was an awesome place to relax after many days of game viewing and driving. The room we had (no 11) was fantastic, we felt like it was a palace. The food was exceptional and the staff were brilliant and very well trained. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by susan from Kent

Lovely stay!

Posted Nov 5, 2014 on Hotels
Really lovely stay in beautiful room 9. No lift though so you need to carry luggage up 2 flights of stairs. Room was stunning with lovely view over gardens.. Broken umbrella on private roof terrace and dribble of sherry in the decanter would be our only criticisms. Had great spa treatments by lovely spa staff and then an early dinner of outstandingly good food on a beautifully decorated romantic table. Returned to our room to find rose petals and candles beautifully arranged! Good nights sleep followed by a huge breakfast and another spa treatment. Would definitely return!
5 out of 5
by Morrison from Pretoria

Our favourite place to stay in White River.

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels
We have stayed here a few times now and it is always enjoyable. The rooms are very pleasant and the bar, lounge and dining room areas are always homely, warm and pleasant.
5 out of 5
by Philip from South Africa

Relaxing and luxurious getaway

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed in the suite and found it very spacious and luxurious. The room was very clean and the bathroom very spacious. The bathroom even had a bidet which is rare in SA. We also used the spa for some massages which were amazing. The dinner at the restaurant was delicious and we were always treated with great hospitality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

holiday

Posted Oct 19, 2013
Pros: everything
Cons: no
Location: loits to do we wanted to just relax by the pool and chill on our few days at Oliver's
my husband and I now live in New Zealand for the last 5 years and we went back to SA for a holiday to visit family and we just had to fit in a few days at Oliver's Lodge it is the most beautiful place we have ever stayed and we have stayed and travelled to the UK, America, China, Australia on our next trip back to SA in 2015 we will certainly come back to Olivers - Tanya the owner is a fantastic host well done Regards Irene & Mervyn