Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome location disappointing hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2018
The hotel is placed very conviently and has a great amount of history and character to it. The issue is whoever remodeled it simply had no clue what they were doing. Dry wall seems are apparent and tape is not hidden. It feels as though they don’t even care about the apparence of the rooms, lights are crooked tiles are way out of line and everything needs to be re-caulked. The absolute worst part of the stay though was the steam heater in our room, which was apparently not even running, was clanging so loudly that i was woken up 4 or 5 times throughout the night. The front desk employee was very nice and the hotel overall has the right values but just needs to fix some unacceptable problems.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2018 by Front Desk Judith, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback. I can tell you that we have two full-time staff members and a couple of part-timers who work diligently to keep the Hotel maintained--it is a huge job, with three floors comprising over seventy rooms, along with meeting rooms, dining rooms, and a number of shops and stores in the building. The Hotel is heated by a huge steam boiler which heats the building in different zones, and makes noises that many people enjoy, quite honestly--they find it reminiscent of a visit to Grandma's house (so we've been told). Just like any heat system, it is thermostatically-controlled and thus is not on all of the time--it would cook us all out of here if it was! You were here during one of the coldest periods we have had to endure in some time, which necessitated running the heat during the night. My apologies if it woke you. Thanks again for your review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

A relaxing step back in time to old Vermont

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Authentic Vintage hotel. Pleasant ambiance
Cons: Oh don't bother, it's just fine as it is.
Location: Tuckerbox Turkish/American fare is on the same blcck and very good. Hanover NH is just THeacross the river with Dartmouth University.
If you want to experience authentic historic Vermont ambiance, this is the place. Take a train ride to White River Junctions (conveniently located across the Connecticut river from Hanover NH, but very much in Vermont) walk the block over to the Hotel Coolidge and 100 years back in time. We arrived in the cold rain of November and were greeted by a warm lobby with a wood fire in the brick fireplace, and somewhere on the 2nd floor, a choir of girls could be heard practicing Christmas carols. The staff are friendly and helpful. Historical books and pictures are everywhere in the wide halls and landings.Our room on the top floor was large, high-ceilinged, clean and comfortable, with lace curtains and mini-blinds, a TV hidden in a wardrobe cabinet, and botanical prints on the walls. The hotel provided both the vintage steam heat radiator (ticking nicely, a familiar sound from my childhood) and a modern space-heater, the combination of these two make it easy to regulate the heat during our cold November stay, but also keep it cool for sleep. At night the trains rumbled by, loud enough for nostalgia, not to loud for sleep. We ate at the Tuckerbox restaurant 3 doors down, both breakfast and dinner, which were excellent. There is also a pie shop advertising meat pies, sweet pies and pastries, good smelling. Some other features of the location, The Enterprise Rent-A-Car will pick you up at the hotel or train station, and drop you off for no extra charge, very convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Front Desk Judith, Hotel Management
This is absolutely the most perfect review of our historic Hotel that I've ever read. You perfectly capture the ambiance here, and I have nothing to add, except THANK YOU! Hope your travels bring you back this way!
3 out of 5
by Deanna

Hard Bed- cute area

Posted Nov 14, 2017 on Hotels
Nice staff, cute area. The heater was unbelievably loud and the bed has clearly not be replaced in many many years, because it was extremely uncomfortable. But, it was a nice place and the town was really cute!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017
Thanks for your feedback--yes, the boiler and steam radiators do "talk" when the heat is running! I personally, like many of our guests (see the review right after yours) find it to be a nostalgic sound. I will certainly pass on your feedback about the bed, however. Thanks for staying with us!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Please is unhygienic. Management are jerks.

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: nothing at all.
Cons: Being clear on policies, and not making unwarranted charges on people's accounts, with no receipt or notice.
Location: ghetto.
Please is unhygienic. Management are jerks. Upon arriving at the hotel there was mold on all the walls, stained carpets, and a musty, damp smell. The employee in the lobby was rude and arrogant. The room was tiny with uncomfortable spring feel to the mattress. I asked if it's too late to cancel my stay. The lobby employee informed me, as he rolled his eyes, that they don't charge people until they check in to the room. I asked again to clarify, "so you're sure, nothing at all will be charged to my card?" He said no. Then I asked for a receipt of cancellation or to show removal of my car info, and he said, "Well that's just gonna stay in our system. We're not gonna do anything with it." 2 weeks later found out they charged me $120+ bucks for cancellation fees. Spoke with their manager and he said, "I'm sorry, but I have a hard time believing you over my employee and don't appreciate you implying him to be a liar." The manager was condescending and not open to hearing what I had to say at all. DO NOT STAY HERE, unless you want to get sick from breathing mold air, wake up with a sore back, and be treated like crap by employees and managers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Front Desk Judith, Hotel Management
With all due respect, this review is a complete fabrication. The reality is that the guest ( who never actually stayed at the Hotel) had made a non-refundable reservation through Expedia, changed her mind very late on the day of her arrival on the busiest weekend of the year, and asked us to cancel her reservation. Our policy, and Expedia's policy are clear with regard to non-refundable reservations. If we had been given any notice of her intent to cancel her reservation, we would very likely have been able to resell the room, and then I would have been happy to refund her reservation (although the Hotel was under no obligation to do so.) We were given no notice. Also, I will absolutely go to the mat to defend my staff. They are hard-working, dedicated, professional, caring folks, and I will not tolerate them being abused or harassed.
4 out of 5
by Grace

Cool historic hotel

Posted Oct 22, 2017 on Hotels
Comfy, clean and near good food. Like staying with a relative in a cool old house. Rooms and bathroom were clean. We enjoyed our night there!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have heard previous guests describe the Hotel as being "like a trip to Grandma's house", and I love that you had the same experience. I hope you come stay with us again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indianapolis, IN

Comfortable

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Location: Excellent location to nice stores & restaurants
Room arrangement somewhat strange with 2 entraces - one to twin bed & one to queen bed with bath in between. Otherwise, very comforable for an old hotel. Somewhat quaint & I mean in a good way. Wish it had it's own dining area, maybe they can buy the avaiiable next door?
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Front Desk Judith, Hotel Management
HI there--We see the double-entrances to our Linked Rooms as a definite plus--If friends are travelling together, for instance, and one of them keeps different hours that the other--they are much less apt to disrupt their friend's sleep, and each room is able to enjoy some privacy. Thanks for the feedback about the dining room too! We look forward to your next stay!
4 out of 5
by Jessica

Historic hotel, maybe haunted?

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
It was set up interesting, two rooms with a bathroom in between. The people who worked there were friendly and helpful. Not much to do in the town. There is a nightclub but no where to get a strong cup of coffee in the morning! Maybe haunted? Some strange things happened during the night but it is old, the third hotel to be built as the last two burned down! I recommend it to someone who is looking for some peace and quiet!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017
Thanks for your review! Sadly, I don't believe our Hotel is haunted--although it would be fun if it was! And I beg to differ--there's lots to do in WRJ! Excellent restaurants, all within easy walking distance; The Briggs Opera House, Northern Stage, and Opera North all offer a wide variety of live entertainments; and there are a number of interesting shops and stores all within easy walking distance as well! Perfect place to spend a night, a weekend, or a week!
4 out of 5
by Jacqueline

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017
Thanks for the 4 stars! Hope you come stay with us again!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tn

OLD

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Rural small town; VERY old hotel. A bit scary for single female. But rooms very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Front Desk Judith, Hotel Management
Yes, we have an "old" hotel--it's on the National Register of Historic Places! And as a (until recently) single female, I can tell you that I find this area to be completely non-scary, especially here at the Hotel where our Front Desk is staffed 24 hours a day. Thanks for staying with us!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Old world. Needs update.

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: It is a relic from a bygone age.
Cons: Start by updating the formica bathroom in the lobby. The shower and bed in our room were almost unusable.
This hotel is interesting due to its history. The staff is very polite. From there things fall apart. The shower in our room was barely a trickle. We reported it to management and were offered the option to shower in another room. The bed is cheap and moves any time you move. It creaks and groan with every movement. While things were generally clean, the were stained from ages of use. Example: the vinyl around the toilet is yellow.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by Front Desk Judith, Hotel Management
Thanks very much for your feedback. And my apologies for the delay in receiving my response. It is my understanding that a glitch in Expedia's review system has kept reviews from being posted promptly. At any rate, I will bring your concerns to the attention of our Housekeeping and Maintenance Departments. I truly appreciate your detailed review. Thanks again!