Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Array of activities

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Location, views, ambiance
Cons: Our only surprise was the in-room air-conditioner which was quite loud. It was one of those separate units on wheels, hooked up through the window.
The resort has a boat load of activities to fill the day for both adults and children. The staff is professional and friendly.
5 out of 5
by Almedia

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
We had a great time staff was great, we will be back this time on a warmer weekend
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by Christopher Diego, Hotel Management
Dear Almedia, Thank you for your review! It's wonderful to hear that you had a great time and are looking to return. We look forward to welcoming you back during the warmer seasons! Christopher Diego Managing Director
3 out of 5
by James

Fantastic view and property, avoid the restaurant

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
The views breathtaking, facility well maintained, bell staff and desk staff outstanding, but the restaurant seemed like another entity. We were there for an 80th birthday celebration a party of 18. Because we had small children, we asked to be in one of the separate dining areas, we were instead put at the table where the breakfast buffet is set up. Several meals were served cold, some sent back, others tolerated. The head waiter was extremely rude the entire night. The worst part was that after requesting, then cofirming 3 times that there be a birthday cake, there was none. Ruined the entire stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Christopher Diego, Hotel Management
Dear James, Thank you for your review here on Hotels.com, as well as your guest survey. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the situation with the birthday celebration. Arnd Sievers, our Food & Beverage Director, has reached out in response to your survey. I hope you've been able to connect. Please feel free to reach out to him directly if you have any further concerns. Christopher Diego Managing Director
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Great hotel, great service. Very nice for kids. Did not have good weather this week but we had plenty of options. Location is good, close to many small towns for visiting. Would go back and hope to have snow on the ground so we can take advantage of all activities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by Christopher Diego, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review. It's too bad the weather wasn't cooperative but hopefully we'll be able to welcome you back once we have snow again!
3 out of 5
by Debbie

Historic hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
The mountainview is a grand old hotel with an interesting history. The rooms are decorated tastefully but rather small. We had a room with 2 queen beds, separate bathroom and closet. It was a tight squeeze for 4. Our room was on the the third floor and this building has one very old elevator that needs an operator. This could really be a problem if traveling with someone who is old or has medical problems. There are many activities at this resort for children. We listened to the pianist in the lobby. He was wonderful. At night we played board games in the library which was fun. I have to admit I stayed previously at the OMNI mount washington hotel and think I was spoiled by that. This was less expensive and nice just on a lesser scale.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Christopher Diego, Hotel Management
Dear Debbie, Thank you for taking the time to review here on Hotels.com. While we are proud of our historic elevator, we understand that it does make things difficult for our guests. Which is why we are pleased to announce that we have begun construction on a brand new modern elevator that will service all floors of the resort. This project has been in the works for some time and we're excited to finally see it come to fruition. We hope to welcome back you in the future to see the changes! Christopher Diego Managing Director
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Really hot in rooms and very loud teens in hall and nearby rooms
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Christopher Diego, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on Hotels.com. I am sorry that your room was too hot and that other guests disturbed your stay. February Vacation is a very busy time for families at the resort, and unfortunately it does tend to be a bit noisier. I have met with my management team to discuss the vacation period, and devise a plan to better manage noise moving forward. We are committed to providing a wonderful experience for everyone, and your feedback is highly valued. I do hope you will consider visiting us again in the future. Warmest regards, Christopher Diego Managing Director
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your five-star rating! We so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Christopher Diego Managing Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Beautiful hotel and setting. Had a wonderful time highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Christopher Diego, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your rating and review here on Expedia! We're delighted to hear you have a wonderful time and greatly appreciate you recommending us to other travelers. Hopefully we'll be welcoming you back to the resort in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lunenburg, MA

Beautiful view with Victorian charm.

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Loved the View and the bed was comfortable.
Cons: The bathroom ceiling fan was noisy and had to be on with the light.
Location: We hiked mount moriah.
I really enjoyed working out in the gym that overlooks the southern range. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the history of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Christopher Diego, Hotel Management
Dear Isabelle, Thank you for your review! It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Lovely hotel full of character

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: The staff and the character. Rooms are large, clean and tidy
Cons: The wine cellar temp control. I got 3 dirty glasses during my stay
Location: Its in the white mountains. snow mobiling, dog sleding, mountain tours, cross country skiing, snow shoeing, skiing, ice skating
We stayed for one night in Jan. The hotel was lovely and warm and 99% of staff were very pleasant. They have a list of activities and plenty of rooms to relax in We had lovely food in the wine cellar but it was so cold down there you couldnt enjoy it. We ate fast to leave. Though we said it to the waitress (who was really nice) we were never moved.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Christopher Diego, Hotel Management
Dear Sharon, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. While I'm glad to hear you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, please accept my apologies for the situation in the Wine Cellar. As it is a functional wine cellar, it must be kept between 55 - 60 degrees F. I understand this can be uncomfortable in the winter and we are working on a solution to improve guest comfort. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again in the future.