Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Decent Place, Nothing Fancy - Warning: No Elevator

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Beds were very comfortable, nice location, beautiful views on drive up/down the hill with wildlife along the way. Short drive into Whiitefish.
Cons: Carpet - replace/clean, install elevator. Add garbage disp in kitchenettes. Gen'l building maint. Upgrade to beyond 70s if poss, improve maid serv.
Location: Whitefish is nearby - quaint town with great shopping & dining options. 45-60 min drive to Glacier Nat'l Park- stunning views, wildlife & wildflowers
We expected something nicer for the price.. In reality, this place is an older ski lodge - outdated and in need of some updates and an ELEVATOR (:-)), but not terrible. It's a fine place if your expectations are properly set in advance. It seems that the owners of this property put their current focus on the front of the property - beautiful flowers, etc but the other exterior portions are in need of paint, there was a minor ceiling leak dripping into our room during a rainstorm, etc. The quality of the maid service was very spotty - some days good and others poor. One example: when we arrived, the used coffee filter packet from the previous guest was still in the coffee maker. That seems like a pretty basic thing that should be checked/taken care of - especially between guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Beautiful setting
Cons: An elavator!
Location: Too far from town to do anything.
Nice place, but we didn't realize it was so far from town:(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice classic Lodge environment

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Very comfortable, very clean rooms. Staff very considerate!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

Far from Glacier

Posted Aug 2, 2016
This hotel has a super restaurant! And a great little bar with a terrific bartender. Well worth the price tag. A small breakfast is provided, which is good because it's quite far from the next cafe! The rooms were adequate however the bathroom sink was overlooked in the cleaning. Probably a good place to stay if you are skiing but a bit far for Glacier National Park.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Close to the ski lift

Posted Jul 31, 2016
No Resturant closed on Mondays and Tuesday's Hot tub not working I had to walk up 3 flights of stairs . No bellhop to help
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Was so disappointed in Kandahar Lodge. There was minimal parking (less than a dozen spots), so you had to park in gravel lot across the street. The bar was a small room with no window next to check in desk. The restaurant was closed for the two days we were there (no advance notice or explanation why) and there was no restaurant of any kind open within walking distance. That meant back in the car for the 12 mile trip down the mountain and back into town. There was no deck or view of Big Mountain and the only place to sit outside were a couple wooden chairs facing the parking lot! On the positive side, the rooms were spacious and clean, and the beds were comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from z

What I wanted remote

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Hated the stairs but overall loved the setting area. Grounds etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, very rustic

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Excellent location, very nice and rustic Lobby with fireplace and nice ambiance Very good breakfast even if the breakfast area was a little small Hot tub a little small We enjoyed our stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: We did the zip line right down the hill from Lodge
This lodge is absolutely beautiful ! We loved the location at base of mountain. Loved the hot tub
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Well kept lodge with very clean rooms and an excellent lobby.