Ratings based on 355 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Choice! So glad we picked the Kandahar.

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
If you love the outdoors, it doesn't get any better than Whitefish, Montana, the gateway to Glacier National Park. The Kandahar Hotel was a perfect choice for our accommodations. It's nestled up in the high grounds overlooking the valley. This hotel is quiet, rooms are comfortable and clean, the staff is very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed viewing several species of wildlife traveling the winding scenic road to the valley. The hot tub is a must after a 10 hour hike! You can't go wrong Here!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

noisy rooms , thin walls,

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
no elevator, not accessible, hot tub was hot but no jet action. breakfast very minimal. lots of ceiling from room above, like elephants over head. I will not stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty, but not where I should have booked

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
I came to visit Glacier National Park. This was really farther away then I would have liked (1+hr drive to West Glacier). The location is nice: up on Big Mountain, pretty and clean, but I'm not a skier and it wasn't ski season. The continental breakfast was the best I've had at any hotel on this trip and it was served for several hours (which was generous). There is a restaurant (Kandahar Cafe) attached to the hotel but not run by the hotel that had amazing (and very expensive) food. Have one dinner here if you can afford it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

An excellent Lodge

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Had a wonderful time at Kandahar Lodge. Excellent meal at their gourmet restaurant. Morning continental breakfast was one of the best ever had. Would go there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC

Three Great Days

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Service was exceptional. Staff helped us with our baggage without being asked. They knew how to restore internet service by rebooting the modem.
Cons: Parking. Most of the time we had to park in a lot across the street. There were no handicapped spaces
Location: Whitefish was a disappointment. Mediocre, pricey restaurants and tourist shops.
We used the Kandahar as the base for visiting Glacier National Park. The drive to the West Gate was an enjoyable 45 minutes. Just right The Kandahar featured a lounge area with a crackling fire and friendly guest conversation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Convenient to Whitefish and served as home base for visit to Glacier- not as close as other accommodations but nice place to stay- hotel staff were courteous and helpful
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Great hotel up the mountain near Whitefish

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice place to stay. Clean, quiet and comfortable. Loved the relaxing lobby. The only negative is that there are a lot of stairs and no elevator.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Jordan, Utah

Would definitely go back

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
We planned a last minute trip to see Glacier National Park. The hotel was in a beautiful secluded area next to the ski resort. Very quaint, quiet lodge. Just don't use your vehicle gps when going to the hotel. It will misdirect you. Use your phone gps instead.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels