Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cochrane Alberta

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Thought was a bit pricey for size of room and comfort. Was just a bit small for 3 people.
rooms were clean but a bit crowed. Beds were very close together like room was originally for one bed but two were squeezed in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Jacqui - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our property. Your feedback has been passed on to the relevant departments. I truly hope we can welcome you back again soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good option in Whitehorse

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Location: Close to downtown and many cafes and attractions
The staff were very friendly. Some construction ongoing while we were there but they did their best to minimize noise. Clean and very well located in centre of town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Jacqui - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the Best Western Gold Rush Inn. We are very happy to hear that your enjoyed your recent stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good Downtown Location

Posted Jul 7, 2017
A perfectly adequate hotel but with nothing special. Reception was a bit hit and miss in their helpfulness. The room was fine and the curtains kept out the midnight sun. The best feature was closeness to the attractions of Whitehorse and the free airport shuttle.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Jacqui - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Alan, Thank you for reviewing the Best Western Gold Rush Inn. We love to hear all feedback from our guests as this helps us to improve on the superior service that we strive for each & every day. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Our motel room wasn't available. Overbooking.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: The alternative hotel was fine.
Cons: Only allow reservations if hotel has available rooms.
Location: Whitehorse, Yukon, is a great place to visit.
We had to go to another hotel because the Best Western Inn had no rooms. Beware using Expedia! I don't blame hotel staff, but being told at the hotel desk that you don't have a room at a hotel you've already paid to have a room at isn't a great vacation experience. Clean up your act Expedia! Or hotel management, stop overbooking!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Jacqui - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Chris Thank you for your recent review of the Best Western Gold Rush Inn. We are very sorry that you did not get a chance to stay in our hotel during your visit. I hope that we can welcome you back, and you can enjoy the amenities that our property has to offer.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

terrible hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2017
no ice on every floor. slowest elevator in Canada. keys don't work. no parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Jacqui - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that your stay did not go as expected. We do have parking at our hotel. The parking lot is located at the end of the hotel. There is a small paved parking lot and a larger gravel lot operated by IMPARK. Both parking lots are free to use. I hope that this does not deter you from returning to our property as we look forward to potentially inviting you back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay and get Yukon Gold era XP

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: the architecture and decorations
Cons: make it more authentic vs trying to modernize it
Great place to stay and get Yukon Gold era experience. You can see the old elevator gate, old phone, the stuffed mounty. Great decorations.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Jacqui - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the Best Western Gold Rush Inn. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the authenticity of the hotel. I hope we can welcome you back again very soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unprofessional and incompetent!

Posted May 12, 2017
We booked a room through expedia eventually got confirmation that our room was booked. We went to the hotel to say at which point they told my husband they did not have a room. Of course upset after driving all day we began searching for a room which if one positive they did offer to do. We told them we would go to the other hotel. We were exhausted and so was our family. After all this is getting some email about our stay so I call then and she says they have our roim. I did ask if it was a top floor because of noise and she said she would check. I lIstanbul cell service and call dropped so I tell my husband who is already at the other hotel they said we have a room there. So we go back and yup you guessed it they have NO room. We are booked and it's expedia's fault not theirs we were told. At this point we are staying calm to be polite but in complete shock at the lack of professional. Expedia did give us a refund but this was a terrible experiece. Oh well ended up back st the other hotel. I could not say anything about the room quality because I did not see it but I could not submit a review without clicking in it.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Jacqui - Front Desk Supervisor, Hotel Management
Dear Lynn Thank you for you feedback. I am very sorry to hear that this situation occurred during your recent visit to Whitehorse. I have looked in to this and it does seem there was a system error between our hotel & Expedia which I will be investigating a little further. I hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again and I hope we can welcome you back to Whitehorse again in the near future.
5 out of 5
by Robert

Pleasant stay

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is downtown whitehorse which is convenient. We stayed in a king suite which was a very large room. Nicely decorated, the bed was comfy and the staff friendly and helpful. Check in was easy and the sports bar attached to the hotel is convenient for a meal, but l found there was not a lot of healthy options to choice. Overall a very pleasant stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2017
Dear Robert Thank you for your kind review of the Best Western Gold Rush Inn. I am very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay in Whitehorse. We are currently putting out our new breakfast menu in the next few weeks. This menu will include more healthier options. However I will be forwarding your feedback to our Food & Beverage Director. I hope we can welcome you back very soon.
5 out of 5
by Irene

Best place to stay in Whitehorse.

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
I love staying here. Always great service from the front desk, rooms are very clean and large, and the bed is amazingly comfortable with quality bedding.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017
Dear Irene Thank you for you for your recent review of the Best Western Gold Rush Inn. We truly appreciate your feedback and I hope we can welcome you back very soon. Thank you Jacqui Connolly Front Desk Supervisor
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Clean room and comfy bed near restaurants.

Posted May 2, 2017
Very helpful and pleasant staff. Bar in hotel. Close to restaurants and shopping. Had parking for our big rig too. Keycard for elevator was a bit touchy so we just took stairs.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Jacqui - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the Best Western Gold Rush Inn. We love to hear feedback from our guests as it allows to continue to strive for superior service. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.