Ratings based on 409 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

No man’s land. Hotel was step down from Motel 6

Posted Oct 12, 2017
The hotel is in the middle of nowhere. At entrance to Carlsbad but only one store across street that sold pre-made sandwiches. One restaurant next door that closed at 7 so we had sandwiches. Hotel is old, dated, poor landscaping... Phone in room didn’t work and while I reported it immediately it was not fixed. Towel wrack in bathroom was missing. This is what I would expect for $70 a night but for $135? Not acceptable. Breakfast was at a small standup bar in office...cereal, waffles, prewrapoed muffins. No where to sit down.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Olathe KS

The only hotel close to Carlsbad Caverns

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Close to the Caverns
Cons: The overprice
Location: The Caverns
Because it's the only hotel at Whites City, it has an elevated price of perhaps 40 to 50% over the same hotel's price elsewhere. I always seek the lower priced places. That means I often have to put up noisiness. I just happened to be placed next to the ice machine. I was awakened at 3AM by a guy filling his ice chest. Otherwise, no complaints. It was just my bad luck of the draw.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2017
nothing special about stay. close to Carlsbad Cavern
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ATX

About the only game in town.

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Close to the National Park. Feet, not miles away.
Cons: A couple of wi-fi extenders would help tremendously.
Location: Go to the cave. That's it. There is absolutely nothing else nearby.
The bed was comfy. The room was clean. The "breakfast" was a bit of a joke, and don't think you'll get any at the caverns; they don't start serving until lunch. TV and internet should be taken off of any advertisement for the motel. They were both pretty much nonexistent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Very convenient to Carlsbad Caverns

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Comfortable beds, nice and clean.
Location: Carlsbad Caverns is a World Heritage site - it is truly amazing! Sign up for extra tours if you can - they are well worth it - also the bat emergence!
The rooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable. The Inn is only a short distance from Carlsbad Caverns - a great choice if you want to get an early start or stay at the National Park late to watch the bats! The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The ONLY motel near the Caverns at Carlsbad

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Close to NP
Cons: it's a basic motel with minimal maintenance, cleaner than it appears though.
Location: The National Park is close by.
Heads UP:' Whites City has almost nothing a dinky restaurant and less than 7-11 Grocery store and one motel. It is only 5 miles to the National Park Headquarters though. Carlsbad is 20 miles away with lots of hotels and services.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Cool haven near the Caverns in Carlsbad

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Proximity to Caverns and pool.
Cons: Breakfast eating area.
Location: Right next to Carlsbad Caverns but nothing else except a little cafe.
Spent two days exploring Carlsbad Caverns. Since we did bat flight at night and return in the wee hours of the morning, it was great to be so close. Little cafe in town was perfect for a family with kids. Pool was great. I know there are mixed messages on the reviews about whether the pool even existed. It does slide and all and is open late at night and early am. Staff was great?
4 out of 5
by Rhonda

Sweet Dreams

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
Most comfortable bed EVER! We got a great night's sleep. The room was very clean and felt freshly done. I would be glad to stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Orbitz
The kids really enjoyed the pool. I also liked how close it was to the caverns.