Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from coventry

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: close to seafront
Cons: car parking
Location: near seafront and entertaiment
value for money basic bed & breakfast very friendly manager, close to seafront
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Pleasant guest house overlooking the sea

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Cons: Put in ensuite bathrooms
Nice guest house, lovely lady running it but they need to make the rooms ensuite
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hostess

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Very hospitable. Great information. Great touring ideas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great location by the coast

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Pros: The spectacular views of the sea from the park across the road, and the fact that the sun rises over the sea, so the sunrise was beautiful.
Cons: A small matter, but some light bulbs needed replacing.
Location: Get up early and watch the sunrise from the beach or park! Drive to historic Cullercoats, the next bay and walk down to the beach.
Cara Guest House has an unobstructed view of the coast from the little garden in the front, as well as from some rooms. Carol was welcoming and treated every guest like a friend. She's an experienced cook too, and the cooked breakfast was beautifully set out and delicious. Communication was excellent. The rooms are old but clean and warm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Winchester

Friendly, clean and great value!

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Pros: Carol the landlady - friendly and very helpful. Beautifully poached eggs and good strong tea - an underestimated art!
Cons: The building could do with a little bit of brightening up in terms of decor but cleanliness and tidyness outweighed this and it's great value.
Location: Atmospheric windswept seafront with lighthouse. Enjoyed top notch dinner at Valentino's - walking distance / 5 min taxi ride away.
I booked a one-night stay for work purposes and this was my first visit to Gateshead / Whitley Bay area. Carol the landlady was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. She was apologetic not to be able to offer me a sea view but it really didn't matter as I was arriving in the evening and had an early start the next day. The room was modest and basic but the bed was blissfully comfortable. Shower was clean, water nice and hot. The quietness of the place was really appreciated and I slept soundly all night. The next morning I was met by a cheerful Carol armed with beautifully poached eggs on toast just as I had asked (I am veggie so didn't want the full English). Fresh orange juice, piping hot tea and more toast with a choice of jams and preserves really set me up for the day. The building decor is a little tired in places but I would highly recommend this for value, cleanliness, friendly helpful service and comfortable beds. I will gladly stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice sea view, but mattress a bit tired

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: very friendly staff, very affortable, nice and clean
Cons: I could really feel the spring in the mattress
Location: really nice being right on the sea front
nice sea view, but mattress a bit tired. The staff were really friendly, and breakfast was good. Excellent value for both Bed and Breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ann from Denver, Colorado

Great location!

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Although we liked the location (ocean view, right off the beach), the room was a bit of a tight fit for 5 people. The beds were not quite as comfortable as I liked, and I wish that we didn't have to go down the hall and up the stairs to get to a bathroom. All and all, a decent hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Hotel is wonderful. Great (big) breakfast and very accommodating. The hotel is clean and is right across from the beach and a few blocks away from several restaurants and the downtown area. Train stop is also an easy walk (it takes about 45 minutes by train from the airport with one change). Given the price, location, and breakfast you will certainly not be dissapointed if you stay here. If you don't want to share a bathroom be sure to book one of the suites. Even if you do share it is not a problem since there are multiple bathrooms to share and only a few rooms to share them with. Plus, all rooms have sinks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Martin

Great Value

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Pros: Location, friendliness of proprietor
Location: Geordie Shore! What is more beautiful.
Cold time of year, warm Tyneside welcome. Just what you expect in Tyneside, basic, love, caring. Would be happy to bring family.
1 out of 5
by david from lincolnshire

rooms not very clean breakfast not very good

Posted Nov 20, 2013
Pros: northing
Cons: every think rooms not very clean
Location: thats ok right on sea front