Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Brent Paul from Kristiansand Norway.

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
This Hotel is extremely run down and requires a lot of upgrading.There are far better Bed & Breakfast establishments in the local area.Plusses are the location-- right on the Seafront and very short distance to the Metro System when travelling into Newcastle city centre.Big minus can be having a room allocated directly above the nightclub "Deep" especially at weekends
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Xavier from Baildon

very good a little TLC needed on the rooms

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
the hotel needs a bit of TLC and it would be great as the rooms are of a good size and is well placed for some good restaurants and the town center. just a stones throw from the beach and lots of parking, the staff are very helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Oct 16, 2015
Hotel is cheap and although very tired is clean, close to the Metro to Newcastle (£4.75 day return), breakfast is really good (both variety and quantity), staff very helpful if lacking slightly in training. Paid for rooms on Expedia but was asked to pay again at check in, queried this and they finally found the payment on the room's. As previously mentioned the disco (DEEP) is incredibly load and vibrates through the hotel, tried ear plugs but that only killed the background noise not the constant rhythmic bass. Fortunately for us long days watching (hic!!) the Rugby World Cup in Newcastle meant we were asleep within seconds. Would recommend it to those who will be partying till late and like full English the following morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by George from Oldbury, West Midlands

Old and Dated

Posted Oct 10, 2015 on Hotels
Accommodation was of a decent standard, rooms could do with a spruce up, lift broke down twice during our stay there (1 night). Breakfast was 5*. Would use again but would want a room with a sea view.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
Arrived with a 11 week old baby and were charged extra money!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Won't be back

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
Cold and rundown
1 out of 5
by Laura D.

Nightclub yn

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on HotelClub
On arrival they had no record of booking and had to pay again. Freezing cold room on ringing down was told heating doesn't come on til 6:30! This was February. Heating never came on, no maintenance on site so at 9:30 absolutely freezing we went to get a heater. £10 de posit for a remote control! Went out for a bit to return to the cold because heater was electric and so went off when we left the room. There is a nightclub in the ground floor so there is no possibility of sleep before about 3:30 am. Someone has made a really bad decision about diversifying because now the hotel cannot be used for sleeping in. The place has clearly been nice in the past, it looks like it's on its knees
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from newcastle

nice hotel near to beach and town centre

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Cons: The carpets on the stairways to the rooms are worn and in need of replacement
Location: The hotel is perfectly located for both the beach and local restaurants with the town
the staff were friendly and helpful and the room was very clean and comfortable. Enjoyed the full English breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

Ok hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: staff , room and breakfast
good friendly and helpful staff, hotel good but a bit tired .night club very loud on saturday night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by jaqueline from chesterfield

A Grand Hotel with Character and Luxury

Posted Dec 4, 2014 on Hotels
I love this hotel! Decor is in need of TLC - aren't we all? I stayed at a guest house round the corner from here two weeks prior, about the same price, nice deco but room half the size, no desk and shared toilet/shower and no breakfast after 8. Here the room was a good size, desk, comfortable bed and my own bathroom and bath!! Had a lovely bath. Everything was very clean. As well as that, decent times for breakfast and the full English was fabulous!! The sea across the road; I didn't have the great view but I wouldn't have expected it at that price - besides, it was dark apart from the morning. The staff were very helpful. So nice to be in a hotel - it is a grand hotel - lovely to be able to afford to stay here. If I can get a room, I will be staying there again next week.