Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Lovely hotel close to the beach

Posted Sep 11, 2017
A very Warm welcome awaits you at this hotel. The staff are friendly & helpful. The room was nicely decorated & comfortable with great views across the channel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel, engaging staff.

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Lovely hotel, great location. Breakfast needs improving.
5 out of 5
by Karen

A little pricey!

Posted Aug 5, 2017 on Hotels
Nice location on sea front, waiting staff friendly and professional. Bed was way too soft for me! Personally I felt the room rate was overpriced. Breakfast was delicious!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gillingham

Great hotel - fabulous location

Posted Jul 12, 2017
We have stayed here many times and plan to continue doing so for as long as i can imagine - tamkerton is one of my fabourite places in the world and this hotel is the best for accommodation, food and location. The staff are all outstandingly and long standing - which also speaks well for the establishment
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but finishing touches needed

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Spent a lot of money on communal rooms but bedroom had flaws paint chipping off windows watermarks on the ceiling
4 out of 5
by greg & christine from Australia

UK road trip

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
great old style hotel with friendly helful staff, good selection at breakfast of continental or home good english breakfast. great comfortable front room with coastal views. the only 2 things i could fault would be lumpy pillows and stairs with lots of luggage is not ideal. lift only goes to level 1. other than that great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel close to the beach

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Hotel is a great location on the beach, we went for the superior room which had a lovely balcony. Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was very nice. We only stayed 1 night but have already booked for 2 nights next year.
5 out of 5
by Susan

Beautiful view and Location.

Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Hotels
We arrived there straight from Heathrow airport and so were tired. We were given a front room overlooking the sea and cliffs and it was beautiful complete with balcony. Hotel is a ten minute walk into Whitstable or Tankerton. The room was big and so was the bathroom with a full bath and shower. We ate in the pub restaurant and it was excellent.
4 out of 5
by keith

Wedding

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed on the top floor where they had restricted the window opening to a few centimeters which meant the room was very warm especially at this time of the year. The best place to stay is the first floor where you have a balcony facing the sea which looked marvelous when we had a quick peak. Having said that the room was fine with good tea and coffee making equipment. The actual shower unit was quite small so if you are above 6 foot you have to be careful. The annoying thing about the shower was that although they provided excellent shampoo/conditioner there was no where to put them other than the floor and with space very tight I had to try and balance them on the taps which was a bit tricky! Breakfast - the hotel was full so arriving for Breakfast at 09.00 on the Sunday morning meant that the staff were at full pelt, probably could have done with some extra help. We had breakfast on Saturday at 8.15 and it was a completely different experience, very smooth and not stressful. On the Sunday we had brunch in the orangery which was very good. Overall the service was very good, the staff friendly, and the decor well looked after and bright. If you have heavy bags and are on the second floor then their is only a lift to the first floor and then then stairs. Lots of Parking at the front and back which is also a positive and a 15 minute walk to the town via the beachfront which was very nice. Wifi excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brighton

Beautiful hotel and views

Posted May 26, 2017
Beautiful room with views across the beach however the shower cubicle was so so tiny and we would of liked a hairdryer. Staff were lovely and breakfast was amazing