Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Lovely location, great view.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Very nice room and decor. The evening meal was mediocre and service poor and indifferent. Staff not especially friendly, i.e. waiters and bar staff. Two lights in the room were not working when we arrived.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nicely refurbished hotel close to beach

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Lovely spacious rooms with Victorian feel, newly refurbished. Lovely meal in dining room, friendly and helpful staff. We had an attic room but it was spacious and had a great sea view.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dartford kent

lovely!!

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Location. close enough to visit whitstable and the buzz of people but far enough to get away from the hustle and bustle. lovely to sit on the balcony
Cons: tv went off at 12, not sure if on purposeBreakfast ordering toast before the breakfast meant you have cold toast with your breakfast! minor critisim
Location: whitstable is in walking distance. nice walk along sea front. (although there is a bit of hill)
I have wanted to stay at this hotel for ages and it did not disapoint. room was lovely , sea view , balcony, caught the end of the oyster festival in whitstable so more people than usual out on the slopes and in the hotel but good people watching! room was better than I imagined and very comfortable. staff all friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but a bit overpriced

Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
lityle far out from town but close to castle visit and beach . Think the receptionists need to brush up on customer care or just a few min welcome would benefit all. Wifi was poor but probably a network problem. 130 pounds is quite a lot for one person . Think hello how are you or just a welcome would go a long way for the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Ali from Kimpton

Overnight stay

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
Really enjoyable stay in a nice area close to the beach. Great service
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant, but room for improvement

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
The room and hotel generally was very pleasant with some nice features, although some might find the beds a little short – I am well under six foot, and my feet were right up to the end of the mattress. But a quiet and comfortable stay nonetheless in a great location. The hotel is let down slightly by the kitchen, as we had to send food back that came out cold. We weren't the only guests to do this either, at both breakfast and dinner. If this simple issue was resolved, it would make all the difference to the experience of the guests.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading

Good hotel, right on the sea front

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Cons: If you can't walk up stairs you may struggle with some of the rooms as there is only lift access to particular floor levels. Check before booking.
Location: Whitstable is a short walk away where there are a good few eateries and character bars/pubs.
Good hotel, nicely decorated, looks like it's had a fairly recent refurb so everything is still looking clean and newish and painted in calming Farrow & Ball heritage type colours. Right on the sea front so some rooms have a sea view. Comfortable bed, although the room was cold on arrival so they'd already provided additional heaters which did the job, so it's obviously a known problem. Parking on site. Some rooms apparently allow pets provided they don't go on the furniture. The bar was lively but not raucous, breakfast in the morning is freshly cooked and of a good quality.
5 out of 5
by teresa from Rainham Essex

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay at the marine was very pleasant surprise, staff were very friendly. Room was bright and clean.. Breakfast was lovely m, couldn't fault it x
5 out of 5
by Janice from Birmingham

Lovely sea front hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely clean and comfortable room, with a sea view. There was also an excellent restaurant in hotel. The Reception staff could have been a little more welcoming/friendly especially regarding information or map of the town.
4 out of 5
by Gary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2016 on Hotels