Ratings based on 656 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Beautiful coral sea view room.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Summer in the middle of winter :) Beautiful island with friendly staff. Reef View hotel was excellent, spacious room with a marvelous view.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

A well managed hotel in great location.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: The staff were very friendly in all areas and they couldn't do enough to ensure our stay was relaxing and enjoyable. Great location too.
Cons: It is rare to find a hotel meeting all our expectations. The Reef View Hotel is one of those. Thank you to the staff and management who deserve credit
Location: Located right on the beach with several pool offerings close by. Restaurants also within walking distance or by free bus to marina eateries.
From the moment we arrived the hotel exceeded our expectations. Check in was efficient and our luggage delivered to our room even before we arrived! Staff we're very welcoming. Our room on level 13 had amazing views across Cat's Eye Beach and the large balcony provided a delightful area to relax and enjoy the ever changing visual panorama. The room facilities were most adequate with a large ensuite and plentiful hot water! The super king size bed was amazingly comfortable. The fridge was well stocked with a wide range of drinks and many snack options. The restaurant breakfast was amazing with a large range of options catering for those with special dietary needs like coeliacs. The hotel restaurant , gym, pools and free beach non- motorised equipment available to guests was a bonus. The free transport running every 15 minutes to most locations around the Island was great value. It was easy to walk to most local eateries too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, great view, nice pool

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Loved the HUGE room, great pool for swimming laps in the morning, proximity to all the hiking trails, expansive view of water.
Cons: Prices are astronomical for food---be prepared to part with lots of cash
Location: Great for swimming in the ocean and hiking. Tours to activities are plentiful but expensive (but still well worth it---the area is stunning).
Went there with my teenage daughter for three days, took a snorkelling tour (saw whales and tons of undersea activity), hiked almost all of the trails, went out to great restaurants. Even though one day was rainy, there was still excellent snorkelling and swimming.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nz

basic but clean hotel room.

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: the large amount of pools and activities that were free
Cons: including 12 ot 13 yr olds in activities
Location: the explore copany was amazing and the beach sports were great every day
hotel was large with small rooms that were constantly cleaned. but everything at the hotel was expensive especielly braids and souvenis. the resturant sails was a dissapontment and nothing was cooked as we ordered the title says that they are good and grill and seafood but the steak we ordered was not good when we sent it back to the kithchen the next steak we got was not cooked well either. but there were lots of activites to do and many pools to swim in but the child activities left out the ages 12 and 13 alot and they were only included for some activites. the bird life around the hotel was beautiful and reef and coral growth was right infront of the room. we enjoyed our stay and only had few issues.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and Gorgeous View of Coral Sea

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: location. View. Ample balcony.
Cons: renovation. price of pool side restaurant was ridiculously high. A small bowl of calamari, nothing special, was almost 20 dollars!
Location: clearly, it's the great barrier reef
The hotel needs a facelift asap. Lobby is worn and dated. Hallways are also shabby looking. Everything with metal is rusty. However, it is a high quality construction hotel and just needs to be modernized. The room we had was very spacious -- two queens. Bathroom was spacious. Balcony overlooking stunning ocean was spacious. Arm chairs and ottomans had stains on them. I didn't even sit on them because they looked saggy and had spots. These are things that should be changed. Check in was fine. However, when we call from the room, whether it be front desk or concierge, sometimes there was no answer for long period of time. Clearly they need more staff! We went during break period for school children and the place was a zoo. Family with children. Breakfast line was very long and the host for some reason not only had to check people in but also escorted them to the table (rather than just check them off and have them get their own table -- just have people clear tables and have tables ready for guest). Because host had to escort guest, the line of people waiting to be checked off was super long.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great size room and bathroom

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Not too much to do in the hotel but very easy to get around.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing view, central to everything

Posted Jul 11, 2016
We had a great room on the 17th floor, so woke up to magnificent views of catseye beach every morning. The hotel is certainly older, but maintained perfectly and the room was immaculate. Would highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

Relaxing

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Top rate. Couldn't ask for more. The staff excel. View amazing. Buffet breakfast was lovely. Can't wait to return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Aust

nice hotel good views

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: neat and clean
Cons: luggage porters had not returned baggage to collection site in time for transfers to airport
Location: close to all activities
Friendly staff,everything catered for.Good views ,close to all activieties.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Nice hotel, good position for everything

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Pros: Great staff, lovely room. Great place to celebrate an important birthday.
Cons: Carpet in room could be vacuumed more often. Guests should not leave trays outside rooms as it attracts the cockatoos who make a mess.
Location: Location terrific. Great shuttle bus service. Lots of choice re activities
Had a great time. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Would definitely go back.