Ratings based on 1,271 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Our base to watch soccer at Colisseum

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Lobby and view out from lobby and restaurant were pleasing on the eye. The staff were extremely good, at check-in, check-out, lobby staff at night.
Cons: They could remove pop-corn ceilings in rooms (makes them look old), and have someone sleep in these rooms with A/C running
Location: We only used hotel as a base, which was near Rowland Heights and Monterey Park, and easy access to freeway to get to Colisseum,
We came in from Las Vegas and chose the hotel because it is fairly close to Chinatown areas of Rowland Heights and Monterey Park. The hotel is located only a short distance from the freeway and at the end of the main street of Whittier, which has seen better times. Check-in was good, although we had booked a King room 3 months before our stay but they had none as they had all been sold, so we had a room with 2 beds for which breakfast buffet was thrown in. Considering the over price of the buffet ($18/person) we would have eaten outside of the hotel, so being free was a good reward for bad room allocations. The room was a reasonable size, and bathroom was clean. We came back to the hotel late from the match so should have been able to crash and get a good sleep BUT the A/C in our room (305) was extremely noisy and neither my wife or I felt we ever really got to sleep because as soon as we did, the A/C would wake us up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, CA

Nice hotel close to freeway

Posted Jul 31, 2017
At first I was a little bit iffy staying in Whittier but everything in la is fairly close and you still get the quiet of a smaller town, they had a lot of parking and I felt safe leaving my car out in the parking .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from riyadh

Lovely hotel in Whittier

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Price and parking
Cons: Bath tubs
Nice hotel with convenient location and friendly Atmosphere, reasonable prices and free spacious parking lot
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!!

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Everything about my short stay was great! Check-in was quick and painless! The bed was SO comfortable!!! and loved the size of the TV. Hotel is walking distance from main street with tons of shops & restaurants!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whittier, CA

Adequate for a 2-day stay

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Clean passable hotel and room. The wifi never worked. Closet was small. Bartender was lacking in customer service skills.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Relaxing

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Nice area, many things to experience walking distance from hotel. Peaceful and friendly
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Old Hotel in nice area of Los Angeles

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: The only positive was the complementary cookies provided whenever requested.
Cons: As stated previously...
Location: As upon my understanding, Whittier is a nicer area of Los Angeles. However, there is homeless people right outside of the hotel.
This hotel was absolutely horrific. There was an absence of a mini fridge despite the cabinet accommodation for it. In addition, there were multiple attempts to fix the broken toilet in our room, however, it remains "un-flushable." There was also no microwave, which is a little more understandable. We booked this hotel on the basis of 4 adults, however, the sink is unreasonably low in stance, and is inconvenient, especially when brushing teeth; toothpaste drips everywhere. Not to mention, by the bathroom door, there was a staple protruding out of the ground, which I only discovered when I stepped on it. The only way to receive utensils is to go down to the bar and they will hand you plastic cutlery, very disappointing for the Hilton Hotel Franchise. Also, in reference to the bathroom, there was one broken light by the vanity, so it was fairly dark in the bathroom. There was no washer or dryer provided outside of room, except for a ridiculously expensive laundry service. There was also extremely loud guests, which is unpreventable, however floors 7-8, we were on floor 7, are supposed to be reserved for select guests, not for rambunctious teens with no parents. There were even strobe lights flashing from a party being held across from our hotel rooms. Also, the key card system was very faulty, I was locked out of my room three times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Hilton in uptown Whittier

Posted Jun 16, 2017
Pros: The cookies - exceptional at best, incredible at worst.
Cons: Timing of housekeeping arriving. Seemed to be quite random.
Location: Food - Bizarra Capital Drinks - The Bottle Room Short drive from most Los Angeles and surrounding area activities.
Check in was smooth. We were stood in line waiting behind someone who was already being checked in and out of the blue, the receptionist offers us both a cookie (something we'd later find out they'd happily supply you with on request, to which we indulged.) The room was just as described, no complaints there and kept fresh everyday by housekeeping. We couldn't comment on food within the hotel as we ate out every night to try and get in as much variety in California as possible. The bar staff were super friendly, recommending us places to go around Los Angeles and the whole state of California. Definitely would love to come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Posted May 24, 2017
staff was very friendly and hospitable. i would definitely stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted May 23, 2017
I stayed in a suite for my wedding friday through sunday and i had a great experience the staff was very friendly and always very helpul.