Ratings based on 371 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by SAFWAN

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017
Thank you
5 out of 5
by Victoria

Great Weekend

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Really lovely room, single visitor and had a large bed, en suite bathroom and desk area. Room also had a safe and fridge as well as air con. Staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet has a lot of variety with continental options and is open between very reasonable hours. The U-Bahn is only two minutes away and the distance to the State Opera and town centre is walkable (depending on your fitness and healh levels of course).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent location, and good value

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: The lift and lack of replacement of feed at breakfast
Location: Very well located for the centre of Vienna.
We have just returned from a long weekend in Vienna at the Hotel Johann Strauss. The reception staff are delightful and very helpful. Alex and Ernst especially. They arranged taxis for us, provided good guidance and were always happy to help out. Our room was on the top floor and it was a decent size with a very comfortable bed. There were a couple of things that could have been better (hence not an Excellent rating). The room safe was broken (but reception put valuables in a safe for us), there are no hooks in the bathroom to hang towels or anything from, and the walls are a little thin - we could clearly hear our neighbours running their bath. The breakfast room did get a little busy, but there were never people queuing. There was a tendency to run out of things, like the fresh fruit salad, And I was none too pleased on Monday morning to be told, when the plate of smoked salmon emptied, that it would not be replaced as salmon was only served Friday to Sunday and what had been there was all that was left. That appeared to be the case with cakes too on Monday. But the rest was good. There is only 1 lift for the hotel, and during "rush hour" you may need to wait for it to arrive. Wifi is free and works well everywhere in the hotel. The location of the hotel is superb. It is literally 2 mins walk to the Ubahn and then only a couple of stops to the city centre. Or if you prefer to walk, that only takes about 20 mins to be at the heart of Vienna. There is a superb restaurant just
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well placed, near all main sites.

Posted Apr 26, 2017
A lovely small hotel near the heart of Vienna. Friendly staff, we spent 4 nights there. Comfortable rooms and excellent breakfasts.
5 out of 5
by NEIL

Excellent Friendly hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
We choose this hotel as it was close to the city centre with an underground station just across the road and because it looked like a traditional Austrian hotel with character and we were not disappointed. It's a lovely hotel with helpful and friendly staff. Approx 25 minute walk to the city centre, 7 minutes by underground, nice choice of bars and restaurants nearby. We were on the top floor in not the biggest of rooms but perfectly adequate, spotlessly clean each day and with a very comfy bed. The room was pretty warm but easily cooled with an open window, one small point which was annoying and probably outside of the hotels control was that every English Channel on the TV had very poor reception. Breakfast was good with a wide choice of almost everything one could wish for. Highly recommended and will certainly return one day. Vienna is a gorgeous city!
5 out of 5
by Linda

More than I could have asked for.

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
This is a wonderful hotel within walking distance of all of the sites of the Old Town of Vienna. For that trip to the Schonbrunn Palace, a metro stop is 1/2 block away. The hotel staff were knowledgable and courteous. The room was large with a delightfully comfortable bed. I enjoyed the daily breakfast that was available early enough for work and late enough to get that extra cup of coffee on the weekend. Free wi-fi was an added bonus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Warm and cosy

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Great hotel with spacious and clean rooms. Excellent breakfast, friendly staff, clean and quiet room. The whole package. Not right in the centre but only a short walk to the sights. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
by Saeed

Close to metro but need renovation

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is located in a very cool area which is quite close to the metro station. The room had heating problem when we checked in they tried to fix it but still it was cold and we had to borrow a heater from reception. The lift is also need to be renovated as it works very slow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel,excelent location

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Location & breakfast, fast wi-fi
Cons: This is an old, but beautiful building. They started renovation from the top down. Finished the renovation of the lower floor rooms and make sure the
Location: Perfect location to get to all touristic sites:Belvedere, Opera, Museeum quarter, Stephan & Karl kitchen, Alberina, Hoffburg, and everywhere else by s
Hotel located next to a subway station. That make it easy to get from airport and/or to reach to most of the touristic sites. It is so close to the city center that you can walk. Excellent breakfast with many choices; the reception staff helpful in accomodating our request to change to a warmer room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rockville, United States of America

location

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: breakfast is good
Location: you can go to many places, museum and restaurant by foot
this hotel is close to Metro. and close to city center