Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great hotel in Assmannshausen

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Pros: location, staff, room size
Cons: a little outdated
Location: Take a chairlift up the mountain, then a hike to see the sights above the Rhine, followed by a gondola back down through the vineyards to Rudesheim.
First off, this hotel is in Assmannshausen, not Rudesheim. I was surprised to find this out, but in the end, I was glad. Rudesheim was much more touristy and busy than Assmannshausen. The manager was super friendly and helpful. He helped us put together our itinerary for the one day we stayed there, and he recommended a lovely restaurant/winebar that was slightly off the beaten path. We stayed in a deluxe room, so we had a nice balcony overlooking the Rhine. My friend stayed in a single room, which was much larger than expected. The showers were a bit small, but that seems to be typical in Europe. Overall this hotel is a great choice!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as good as hotel you expect from review

Posted Sep 23, 2015
First of all, I don't know why this hotel has a good review point (4.3)...maybe I have expected more but not even close to 3.5 point. Hotel was very dated and room was sad. Hotel staff was okay, but not hotel itself. Dark and sad environment inside which makes me sad as well...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California USA

Beautiful Rhine River

Posted Sep 4, 2015
The rooms were a nice size. Reasonable price! Food was delicious. Magnificent views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Aug 28, 2015
We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel, our walk through the very romantic village by the river Rhein.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gloucester, VA

Nice restaurant, Uncomfortable Bed

Posted Jul 6, 2015
While the view of the river is very nice and the staff was welcoming, the room (while spacious) was very uncomfortable. While some may really enjoy a bed that can recline/decline, the combinations of the mattress and pillows made for a really rough sleep. I ended up on the floor at one point hoping that might be more comfortable. Furthermore, despite the AC, it did not get cool. It made for a rough night's sleep. Parking is also a bit of a challenge, and the hotel is rather small. The pictures look nice, but it's not what I imagined it would look like on the Rhein.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel by the river

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Simple place in great location - quite okay. Breakfast was simple but enjoyable. Staff was very accommodating!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fair Lawn, NJ

Best location.

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Great hotel, excellent location right on the river, beautiful vew of the mountains, wonderful breakfast. Good restaurants nearby, or 5 miles down the road is Rudeshime with even more places to eat and see. Very friendly and helpful staff. We spend three nights there and didn't want to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Staff & management great. Best place on our trip

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Management and staff were great. Great view overlooking Rhine. Almost on water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great value on the Rhine

Posted May 28, 2015
Excellent hotel in every way. Highly recommended for comfort and service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Very pleasant hotel in a quiet town

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Staff, breakfast, location.
Cons: Better pillows and mattresses.
Location: Great spot to catch the tour boats and ferries. There is a chair lift and a walking path to the monument above Rudesheim, and a chair lift down.
This hotel is in Assmannshausen, very close to Rudesheim. Compared to Rudesheim, Assmannshausen was not at all crowded. The town is small, quaint and of course doesn't have the number of shops and restaurants that Rudesheim has. The staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. They were very accommodating in answering our questions. The breakfast that was included was very nice with breads, cereal, meats and cheeses, scrambled and hard boiled eggs, yogurt, some fresh fruit, and juice. They had the coffee already in a carafe on the table. Very convenient to the docks for tourist boats--they were right across the street. The room was spacious. The bed was firm, but the pillows were a little soft for us. It is quite close to the train tracks which is a plus and minus. It is less than a 5 minute walk from the train stop to the hotel, but there are quite a few trains that run through the night so it can be a little noisy. They did charge 5 euro for internet access, but that covered the entire stay. All in all a great value.