Ratings based on 425 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ruhig und 7min zum Bahnhof

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Ältere Bauart, hellhörig, enges Bad, gute Matratze, Frühstücksbüffet war sehr lecker, leider war Warmwasser ausgefallen so dass an diesem Morgen kalt Duschen angesagt war
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A nice place to stay in a quiet location.

Posted Aug 26, 2016
We enjoyed our 2 night stay here. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. We were able to take the train to the Jungfrau from the nearby station, about 10 minutes walk away. The bathroom was a little cramped and we didn't like that we had to use the room key to access the fridge, but otherwise everything was perfect, and the buffet breakfast was excellent!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Haifa, Israel

Not a bad location

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Location: we had a lake trip (2+ hours) to Thun, and back by train. Took the whole day. Otherwise trail trip (needs pre booking) to Jongfrau seems funday too.
Actually pretty good location near public transportation. We left the car in the hotel parking and used public (free) transport. It is actually in a good position to go up the Jungfrau (though we did not go there). The room is small, the bad mattress is not super, but view is nice and the village is very nice to walk in and enjoy the surrounding mountain views. We could see the Jungfraw from the lobby only. Wifi is good only in lobby. Bkfast food is rich and healthy. Staff helpful and speak reasonably the English language. Bed blankets are too heavy and worm. we asked for thinner alternatives and in a special effort the staff was able to get a second one to the only one we had in the room. Thanks. All in all - costly hotel for the facilities - but that is Switzerland. What can you do. Yet, seems to us a better location than in Interlaken itself.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bath, UK

Near to transport system for Jungfrau area

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: It was friendly and had a nice rustic restaurant
Cons: Perhaps a lift for more elderly customers
The hotel is a 15 minute walk to Winderswil station where you can get trains up to the 'Top of Europe', Scheinigge Platte and into Interlaken where you can get trains to all over Switzerland and boats on the Breinerzee and Thunersee
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Wonderful Swiss experience.

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Great stay overall, agree with the 4 of 5 most reviews grade it. Amazing views, great staff, great location, ample breakfast buffet. Only cons were the location can be a bit noisy from traffic and some of the hotel furnishings feel dated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany

Beautiful location with wonderful views.

Posted May 7, 2016
Cons: One of the beds squeaked!
The hotel had great character, nice breakfast, wonderful views, friendly and helpful owner and staff. Can see the Eiger out of the bedroom window!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Close but far away.

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Bus 105 takes guests from Interlaken West train station to within a few steps of this charming hotel. The staff were personal and professional. The location was small town charm. The building is classic Switzerland. The buffet breakfast was among the best we've experienced and in a very charming room. They offer a free transportation pass for the immediate Interlaken area. The view from our room was spectacular. This is the best value we have found in the Interlaken area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Good breakfast and location.

Posted Mar 26, 2016
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Bed
Location: Near the railway station.
10 minutes' walking to the train station. Room condition was acceptable considering it was a 300 years old hotel. The mountain view outside the room window was quite charming. The breakfast was really really good which was the highlight of the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Marlene

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by JEFF from Ligonier PA

Try it once, you'll go back...

Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Hotels
We have been going to the Hotel Baren for over 30 years. It is a very good value in a very expensive country. The accommodations are simple but very nice. An excellent example of Swiss hospitality. The staff is friendly, helpful, engaging and it is obvious that they enjoy their work and want you to love the region as much as they do. There are views of the Alps from guest rooms that are simply stunning. The included breakfasts are excellent. My wife actually ate smoked salmon every morning. Consider purchasing the half board option. That buys you a four course meal that will be delicious, filling and reflective of the best dishes of the region.