Ratings based on 229 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Colleen

Luck of the draw

Posted Oct 22, 2017 on Hotels
This is a 5 star location with a motel 6 feel. The location is great, beach front and a million dollar view. We only stay one night and it was fine, but could never stay longer. Beds were like sleeping on plastic wrap.This units are own individually by different owners, so you may luck out. Depends, do you feel lucky?? eh??
5 out of 5
by Diane

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
This was such a nice weekend in October at the shore. The boardwalk was winding down and we enjoyed some last little bits of summer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We love staying at The Monterey.

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: We love being right on the beach & the beautiful view. It's great having a full kitchen, too.
Location: We love going into Cape May & all the wonderful seafood. The Cape May Zoo is beautiful, too. Love all the Victorian homes to tour & the Lighthouse.
We have stayed at The Monterey many times for 20 plus years. LOVE being right on the beach!
5 out of 5
by kimberly

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northeastern Pennsylvania

Nice hotel that is on the beach & close to CapeMay

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Location and price.
We like the Monterey because it is on the beach in Wildwood Crest and it is only a 10 minute drive to Cape May or the Wildwood Boardwalk. Rooms are spacious and clean. Great views from the beachfront rooms.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Not recommended

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: The location and patio area.
Cons: Everything about the inside.
We stayed in unit 105. It desperately needs to be updated. There was not enough seating. There were holes in the walls. The beds were very uncomfortable. We left a night early because we could not stay there another night. It is unfortunate because the outside is neat and well taken care of. Nice pool and patio area. It is right on the beach, however not worth staying there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels
Beds weren't that comfortable...
5 out of 5
by Kim

Loved our stay!

Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Hotels
Enjoyed our stay immensely. Everything from our deck to the view was perfect! All kinds of games and activities provided to us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYS

Love-Hate Relationship with the Monterey

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location, laid back atmosphere. Apts. nice and clean.
Cons: WIFI. Management attitude toward complaints, and seemingly, toward guests who were darker skinned. Plumbing. Stock kitchen w/ a few more items.
Location: Dead end street, off street parking, walk onto beach. Pool nice and warm, very clean. Trolley at corner to boardwalk.
The Monterey "Resort" -- AKA Motel -- is in a great location. The apts seem to be condos that are owned by individuals and rented out by the management. It's a little unclear. But we did see a couple of for sale signs in the windows. We liked our apt. It was airy, and clean. The toilet blocked two of the three days we were there, however. We were put on the third floor even though I had called and talked personally to someone in the office who said we would be put on the second floor. it was difficult for me to lug heavy things by myself. I asked for help and was told that their staff goes home at 12:30 and no one was available. Since check in time is 3:00 pm, that didn't work too well. The other troublesome thing is that they allow smoking on the premises. So if we were sitting out in front of our apt. or down on the huge patio, people were sometimes smoking. If you need WIFI, forget it. They have a network that is not available to guests. Our network worked intermittently. With thick older, concrete walls, it's not likely to get better unless the Monterey management decides to put in a few extra bucks. But the place was convenient. Lots of kids, families, seemed like everyone was related. But friendly. So, love-hate. I would go back without expectations.
5 out of 5
by John

Really enjoyed it!

Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Hotels
We had a great time. Owner and staff were very kind and friendly. Room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Had everything we need. We will def be back!