Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ridley Park PA

Nice hotel just feet from the beach.

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: The proximity to the beach. They also have a very nice pool and the hotel was very clean.
Cons: I would supply a packet of coffee upon check-in. It was supplied if you asked for it but it would be a nice touch to have it in the room upon arrival.
Location: There was a nice park across the street and the beach was a few feet away. Other than that, there wasn't anything else to do. Absolutely nothing!!!
It was an very nice experience overall. We were there at the end of September and we were disappointed that the hotel restaurant was only open for breakfast and lunch. I believe they stopped serving dinner mid-September. I would recommend this hotel but I don't think I would visit again at the end of September. Wildwood Crest was very quiet and the few boardwalk stores that were open on weekdays closed at 3:00 PM. If you visit, do so before the last week in September.
5 out of 5
by Joseph

Nice property

Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Hotels
Great property right next to bike rentals, beach, and park!
4 out of 5
by Michael from Little ferry

Great hotel in wildwood

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
A very nice hotel. Clean, modern and pleasant for wildwood. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great location in Wildwood

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Right on the beach, easy to get to and very comfortable overall.
Location: Location was great right on the beach, plenty of things to do like biking, walking, swimming, boardwalk, etc.
My wife and I had a great stay at the Port Royal, the hotel was clean and comfortable and we would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Carol from Philadelphia

Lovely beach front hotel in the Crest

Posted Sep 11, 2015 on Hotels
We booked 2 rooms; one for my husband and me and one for our 2 adult daughters. Both had 2 queen size beds. The room was very quiet. The hotel is ocean front and has a large pool. My only disappointment was there was no hot tub, but the pool temperature was very comfortable. We ate breakfast at their restaurant and the food was reasonable and quite good. We would have liked to have had a late check out as we only stayed one night, but were told that our rooms were booked. I was surprised as it was the Tuesday after Labor Day. They do however have a changing room and shower so we were able to take advantage of the beach and pool before leaving. Overall a very nice hotel. Would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vero Beach, FL

One of the nicest hotels at the Jersey Shore

Posted Sep 6, 2015
Pros: Clean room, comfortable bed, outstanding views, friendly staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Hotel is close to beach and a short drive to the boardwalk, restaurants, bars and the bay.
The Port Royal is an exceptional hotel in every respect, especially for one at the Jersey Shore. We were only able to spend one night on this trip but we will definitely stay here again when we have more time to enjoy the things the hotel has to offer. We have stayed at some of the best hotels in major cities (New York, Chicago, Seattle, etc.) and this hotel is every bit as nice as any we've stayed at. The rooms all have spacious balconies with ocean views; the bed was very comfortable; the linen was top quality; the room was spacious, clean and well maintained; the beach is a short walk from the hotel; the staff is friendly and helpful; there is a very nice pool; there are showers and changing rooms for people who want to stay beyond their check-out time. This hotel will be our first choice for future trips to Wildwood, NJ. Kudos to Teresa at the front desk for her friendly demeanor and excellent service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel Close To Beach

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Upside - clean and basic - balcony is lovely. Lots of posted activities for people with children. IF YOU ARE GOING FOR THE BOARDWALK, it is not near that end of the strip. It is, between two parks and has a pool, etc. But if you want to be down near the boardwalk this is not for you. If you don't mind walking a bit when you want to hit the boardwalk and like being a little quieter, etc., this is right on the beach, has a pool, parking and when you check out, they welcome you to still spend the afternoon and offer showering facilities you can use when you are ready to go - a truly sweet additional allotment for beach time with no additional cost.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ren from Wilwood

First Wilwood stay

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Its on the beach. has a kitchenette
Cons: towels are rough, pool should be open later and restaurant as well. not for couples/families whose parents would like to go down to restaurant later
Location: nice location
WE were NOT happy..upon our arrival to be told that we needed to change rooms twice during our 4 nt stay. we had 3 rooms in 4 nths!! they said they could not reach us b/c our bkg was made cvia Expedia. We are a family of 6 and it is NOT EASY settling in and THEN having to change rooms twice! We wasted two half days having to stick around to be told whne we could change rooms..not happy about that either. and having a canadian cell phone I turned all my data/roaming etc off to not be charged very expensive fees. BUT..they needed my cell number to contact us to tell us when the rooms would be ready so I had to turn my cell on. So now, we have US cell charges. Pool closes at 7pm! Way too early. And restaurant closes at 8 PM...too eary as welll.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Scott from PA

Great family-friendly hotel right on the beach

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Quiet, comfortable, great staff, excellent pool, very close to the beach, showers/changing rooms available after checkout, and more.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Ask the staff - they had very good recommendations for dinner, and even went as far as to make the reservation for us and give us a free gift card!
We arrived and found out Expedia did not book our room, despite sending us the confirmation number. No problem. The Port Royal bumped us up to one of its best suites at no charge! The staff was friendly, the room was excellent, and the pool and accommodations were just what we were hoping for in a weekend stay at the beach. The hotel is right on a very nice and family-friendly section of Wildwood Crest's beach. It was a great experience overall and we will definitely return to the Port Royal in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by anne from easton pa

beautiful hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: 2nd sink outside the bathroom pool area
Cons: doors to balcony were extremely hard to open
a little pricey, considering it was through expedia and didnt include any meals but very clean with a beautiful pool area