Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mold in The bathroom

Posted Jul 10, 2017
It was ok, nothing special. We were warned about security but we did not have any problems
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Great Location - Very basic room.

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: The location.
Cons: Quite a lot. The design of the rooms - within the limits of space - could be greatly improved, especially the bathroom.
Location: The location is great. It is in the middle of Punda which is very touristy and is within short walking distance of all the restaurants and shops.
The Academy hotel is in a great location. Other than that the rooms are very, very basic. I had stayed there before and I got an even smaller room this time. It has "free parking" but there are two spots right outside on the street. If they are occupied then you have to pay for parking at the meter. The washroom was very tiny. The mirror was behind (as opposed to above) the washbasin so shaving meant turning to the mirror, then turning around to the washbasin to rinse the blade. Could have been better designed. But the location is great. It is right in the middle of the old town quarter within walking distance of almost everything. The staff were friendly and helpful. The free city internet can be easily picked up in the room and it works very well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel in central location

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Clean, comfortable, enough space,
Cons: Housekeeping knocks WAY too early: 9:30am. When ppl are on vacation they are usually trying to sleep in. They should wait a couple more hrs to clean.
Location: GREAT, central, location. Tons of restaurants and night life entertainment within 5 minutes any way you walk.
The Academy hotel is run by hospitality students of Curacao. I had a cute, clean room, the bed was comfortable, and it had all the amenities you would need: Wifi, air conditioning, a television, storage space etc. The space was somewhat overpriced but that's probably because I booked at the last minute. I also wish room service would wait until later in the day to knock and clean the room. They knock really loudly and WAY to early: 9:30am. Thats a little too early for people who are on vacation and who likely want to sleep in. Other than that I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Orbitz
Great location and so easy! Fab wifi, which was ideal for me as a researcher for catching up anytime in the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from aruba

Can be better!

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: location, price
Cons: good central in the center of punda; good location. for the price room ok; but some points to reconsider: - to much noise and slapping doors the al mo
Location: its in the center of the downtown everything is nearby.
good central in the center of punda; good location. for the price room ok; but some points to reconsider: - to much noise and slapping doors the al morning....have forgotten about the sleeping guests??? its a hotel with guests?? - next the bathroom door they put an closet; everytime going in to of out the bathroom the door slam in the closter. its irritating - the soapbox in the bathroom is placed above the sinc were you have to brush you teeth etc. its not handy. - the shower its not place handy in the showerplace. - not warm water in the shower available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Great hotel in Punda

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: The bed was very comfortable and we slept well.
Location: Everything is walkable, the Jewish Synagogue, the Marine Museum, restaurants, shopping, bars, the Floating Bridge, etc.
Location - fabulous downtown location walkable to a variety of restaurants and sights. Room - the room was comfortable, had good air-co, a couple decent cable channels and a nice bathroom. I've stayed at a few "dives" on Curacao and this was really quite nice in comparison to some of the other cheaper hotels I've stayed in. If you're expecting a north-american-experience, this is not the hotel for you. If you're hoping for an island experience, this is the perfect hotel. Staff - terrific. The ladies at the front desk were SO helpful and just kind. We had booked a king room from Expedia and our first room had two single beds (very common in island-life) so we went back to the lobby and they switched our room right away. The staff was superb and very accommodating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to downtown and local beach.

Posted Feb 2, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: A well maintained hotel.
Cons: THERE IS NO HOT WATER. Showers are short & basic (As the kid's song goes: head and shoulders, knees and toes, knees and toes).
Location: Entire capital closes down on Sundays. Either buy food on Saturday night or go to 2 available restaurants Sunday. At lease 7-11 open.
Staff: very attentive. be aware most staff are in-training to be staff. staff scheduled day trips and taxis. Room: basic, quiet a/c Food: Limited menu, breakfast and lunch were simple
3 out of 5
by Vanessa

convinient and clean hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
nice quite hotel, comfort bed, only the wifi was not very strong, in our room at 1floor we did not get connection with the wifi. Overall we had a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
My stay at academy hotel was good I enjoy every moment of it
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels