Ratings based on 402 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Gorgeous luxury resort

Posted Oct 1, 2017
We stayed here for the last part of our honeymoon in the ocean front blues rooms. Hotel was recently renovated and is beautiful. Rooms were comfortable and had an amazing view of the sunset! Our housekeep Pearl and the entire staff at Avila were so friendly and helpful. My only "complaint" was that the food and drinks could get a little expensive for three meals a day, and that it didn't really reflect local cuisine. I would recommend going off the resort at least once to experience true curaçao food! We also had the beach dinner for two- and opted for chefs choice. I would highly recommend this experience- it was very romantic, and memorable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver CO

Beautiful Hotel with a great location

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Location was great. It never felt over crowded. A couple decent dining choices if you don't want to leave the resort. Plenty of beach chairs.
Cons: Service needs some work. Especially at the bar. Just a smile and a greeting would be a great addition. Check back on your guests
Location: Location was ideal. In the middle of everything. Car rental is at the resort if you want a car for the day to visit the West side of the island.
We Stayed at the Avila for 9 days. We checked in on a Thursday afternoon. Front desk staff was very nice and accommodating. Check in was very fast and our bags were brought right to the room. The room was a bit on the small side but it had a very large balcony and was clean/updated. I did notice we had two twin beds pushed together. When I called the front desk and requested a king size bed they were out of rooms with a king size bed but stated they would come remake the bed dressings to king bedding. This was almost laughable. They came to the room and over lapped the two twin comforters. Not a huge deal but it would of been nice to have one comforter with my husband not two twin comforters. The resort itself was very beautiful. We went down to the outside bar and ordered food because we had been traveling all day. The food at the bar was terrible. Most of the staff at the outside bar could of been friendlier. The bartenders don't smile and they are not attentive to the guests. This poor service was consistent every time we visited this bar. We did have better service at the other restaurants/bars in the hotel. Hotel has a great location. $15.00 cab ride to downtown,or free shuttle or 30 min walk (restaurants, shopping, floating bridge). $15.00 cab ride to Mambo Beach (great restaurants, shopping, nightlife and beautiful beach)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Nice beach hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2017
We had clean comfortable rooms - they kindly upgraded us to a top floor ocean view on our anniversary and for the rest of the stay. Both rooms had a fridge, sink, spacious shower, and balcony. The hotel beaches are nice with clear water and plenty of fish right there! Easy to find a chair and wait staff will bring you drinks, although the bar is only a few steps away. Can walk to downtown 15 min or so, also other restaurants even closer and several eat options on site. Had a car to explore around the island but always enjoyed coming back to the hotel for a swim and drink. Also took a day just to stay at the hotel beach and relax. Bought a float for $11 at the gift shop and enjoyed floating around their bay in the gentle waves. If I had one suggestion it would be to air condition the lobby! There are ceiling fans and breezes, but it's hot!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NICE HOTEL CLOSE TO A ALWAYS CALM BEACH

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: THE SEPARATION OF THE BEACH FROM THE MAIN OCEAN
Cons: ADD BREAKFAST TO HOTEL PACKAGE.
Location: THERE'S MAMBO BEACH 15 MINUTES AWAY AND DOWNTOWN IS 5 MINUTES.
I ENJOYED THE HOTEL FACILITY A LOT AND I CAN'T WAIT TO GET BACK.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Nice hotel near the beach

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: The food at the hotel was really good, the drinks were awesome and the staff was very friendly
Cons: If your young and looking for a place to stay and party at, this is not the place. It's more of a laid back relaxing resort
I really enjoyed staying at Avila Beach Hotel and don't have no complaints
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Loved the Avila Beach Hotel, Loved Curacao!

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Great vibe, most of the staff was exceptional, friendly and helpful. Great food at the pool bar, best Quesadillas ever, Dona's the best!!!
Cons: AC in our room was substandard, Room cleaning,didn't empty our 2 trash cans, didn't leave extra toilet paper. 2 staff servers with bad attitudes.
Location: Excellent location on great beach. Walking distance to great restaurants and short cab ride to still more. Didn't need to go into town.
Great Euro-Caribbean vibe! Great location! Walking distance to great restaurants and short cab ride to still more. Stayed in the Ocean Front Blues section and loved it, we highly recommend staying in them. Food was excellent. Great beach. Would definitely go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Fun

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Very nice. Loved the place. Would go back. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Loved everything. Amazingly photo genetic grounds and the staff are so well trained and pleasant. Certainly plan to be back many times in the future. Only suggestion for improvement is upgrading the beds and bedding to 4 star standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Reading, Pa.

Friendly Staff

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: The private cove beach areas where awesome. The 3 bars and associated restaurants gave you plenty on drinking and eating options. All excellent.
Cons: Staying as a single adult for relaxation there were too many children, from ones in diapers crying to preteens running around being loud.
Location: Walking distance to town and near by hot spots to party.
The staff were awesome. They were all eager to help and very nice. Anything needed was taken care of immediately. After being there only 2 days, some of the staff were even calling me by name.
4 out of 5
by brian

Family trip.

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
An awesome location right on the beach with a couple of sheltered lagoons leading to the caribbean. Very relaxing place with beautiful views and pretty good snorkeling right there. Restaurant was just OK and the beds are VERY firm. Units are clean and in good repair. Close to the Punda downtown area. Area right across the street is a little depressed but we felt safe the whole time