Ratings based on 560 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Nice Resort, Friendly Staff

Posted Oct 21, 2017
We had a great trip at the Sunscape Resort. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a Sun Club room. They initially put my husband and I in a double bed room but we were able to move the next day into our King Suite. The food in the main restaurant (buffet) is average but dinner at all of the specialty restaurants were fantastic. The water is absolutely beautiful in Curaçao however this shore land was pretty rocky. Once you get past that, it's gets better but only in certain sections. Overall, I would visit again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So so experience

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: The beach and water activities are good, after all that's what most people go there for.
Cons: Staff that at least pretends to care.
Location: Dolphin Academy was a blast, I did the Dolphin Dive and got lucky to be the only one on it. You get to dive with a dolphin or two.
They moved me to another hotel for my first two nights due to "maintenance" but I think they overbooked. Didn't show up to pick me up and transfer me to Sunscape, I had to take a taxi. Booked two double beds and they gave me one king. The toilet had not been flushed from the previous occupants use. The food is ok but some of it is Golden Corral level. A lot of the staff seem like they really hate their job, sometimes you will be half way through your meal before they even show up to take your drink order. Key card quit working twice because they kept putting the wrong check out date in the system. They skipped filling the mini bar one night even after the guy told me he would be right up. Nice beach and snorkel area, and the like to do activities, after a couple of days you fall into the groove and it's not too bad, but nothing I would come home and tell people about the awesome things I did and experienced at the hotel. The dive shop wasn't bad but be prepared to dive with up to 20 other people all the time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Awesome resort

Posted Sep 17, 2017
The resort is beautiful and we'll maintained. Private beach with clear water, really nice pools. The restaurants are really good especially hibachi. Sometimes you can wait a little while for a drink at the buffet but it gets really busy and the workers try to get to everyone. The management staff is excellent, our flight was cancelled due to the hurricane and had to stay 3 extra nights so they gave us a distress rate and we were able to stay in the same room. The entertainment team is superb and Norma behind the bar is awesome hands down best attitude and makes u enjoy your stay. I would highly recommend even the location is perfect your a short bus ride from downtown or in the opposite direction mambo beach where there's shops bars and food is awesome. Thank you to everyone at sunscape you made my vacation an awesome experience I hope to find myself in curacao again and sunscape is where I'll want to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from staten island, ny

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Beautiful place right on the beach. Only disappointment was my room. Needs to be maintained better. Very outdated. Food was ok but for all inclusive who cares. Easy access to other areas for shopping, sightseeing and real local food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bogota

Good beach, old hotel and service to improve

Posted Aug 22, 2017
The hotel is well located But the hotel is a little bit old. The service is not the best. We couldnt go to the seafood restaurant, it was always full (although there were lots of tables unoccupied). The drinks were all from unkonwn brands.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Staff and Service was amazing!

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: Friendly environment!
Cons: Updating buildings, rooms.
Location: Location was good. However, rent a car and explore the whole island!!! Try the different beaches and local cuisine!
Stayed at Sunscape from August 2nd-7th, 2017. The hotel staff was awesome! We stayed at the Sun Club Suite Ocean Front and it was beautiful!! Highly recommend staying at one of these rooms. We had a bit of a snafu but Xavier (the manager) took great care of us and resolved our issue very quickly. There are multiple things to do at the resort (entertainment, restaurants, casino) so it keeps everyone busy and happy. Tyrone was also very helpful and very hospitable, we could always go to him for whatever we needed. Buildings are a bit outdated, but overall everything was good. Thanks a lot guys!! We will be back again!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BOGOTA

BEACHFRONT ROOMS ARE EXCELLENT, GREAT FOOD.

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: THE BEACH, THE SERVICE, THE FOOD AND ALL THE RESTAURANTS OPTIONS.
Cons: THE BATHROOM IN THE ROOM IS A LITTLE OLD
Location: ITS REALLY NEAR TO THE AQUARIUM, 10 MIN WALK.
IT IS A GREAT HOTEL FOR FAMILIES WITH KIDS. THE ACTIVITIES AND THE FOOD IN THE HOTEL ARE GREAT. THE BEACH IS ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL, THE OCEAN IN THE HOTEL IS LIKE NATURAL SWIMMING POOLS, PERFECT FOR KIDS.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Friendly hard working staff

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Clean and room was nice
Cons: The beach has some rocks in the water as you enter the water that we wished wasn't there.
Location: Good location and lots of opportunities to do excursions and tours if you like.
It was an excellent vacation. The staff is always friendly and see them working hard all the time. Kenneth is the bartender in the Sun Club area and he is AWESOME. We enjoyed relaxing at the beach and pool daily.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No air conditioning for says.no hot water.rude

Posted Aug 9, 2017
I would never recommend this resort to others. Staff was rude and made you feel like you were an inconvenience. No air conditioning for 4 days and staff said it would be fixed in only 30 mins each of the days they were told it was broken. No hot water. Staff would never fully address concerns. Cockroach in the room. Room wasn't cleaned until 6pm or even at all. Food was below average. Pool was dirty. However, amazing ocean view and beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Huge complex, clean and idyllic

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Beautiful location and the helpful staff made this a wonderful vacation. Food was always plentiful and we had no problem accessing any of the restaurants at any time - we didn't have to wait for a table at all. The Japanese restaurant was s great dining experience. The staff were all multi lingual and switched languages (English/Spanish/Papiamento) without missing a beat which was incredibly impressive. Nearby was a local shopping complex and bars and restaurants (Mambo Blvd) and the Sea Aquarium next door is also worth a visit.