Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value near downtown venues

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: The room had great space for all three of us. Staff were great, informative and housekeeping did a stellar job.
Cons: Ceiling fans to stir up the air, pot holders
Location: Walking trips to Punda and Otrabanda districts in Willemstat, enjoyed the Dutch waterfront and the floating bridge. Took local buses to Mombo beach.
We really enjoyed staying at the Ritz, a converted ice cream factory. We chose the Ritz from on line sites because we liked the open beams and vaulted ceiling.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by christine, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review and Thanks for staying with us at The Ritz! Happy to hear you like our rooms and that our great staff was of good service to you! We will take your suggestions into consideration. Its nice to hear that you appreciated the charm of the old Ice factory and our efforts to keep as many of the architectural elements from those days intact! Those beams and ceilings in the superior rooms really make the room spacious and bright! We hope you can return soon!
3 out of 5
by anne

Too bad no hot water

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed at the hotel, not the hostel part. The room has a concrete floor. The room had a musty odor. We were told due to heavy rains. Well, she did not know that we had been on the island for two weeks and there were no heavy rains. Linens are nice. Even has a small kitchen and nice utensils but we did not use. The pool area is very comfortable and has music playing. Also able to purchase food. My biggest complaint is that there is no hot water. Do not purchase breakfast with room. Not worth it. Breakfast can be purchased individually and probably cheaper. Breakfast was fair.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017
Thanks for your review and thanks for staying with us at The Ritz. Since we are a renovated historical site (The Ritz was an ice factory for almost 70 years) we have endeavored to keep as many of the original architectural elements from the ice factory days as possible. I'm sorry to hear you had a room with a musty odor. I will check and make sure it is dealt with. Indeed it has been a strange year for rains, one part of the island may get rain and another does not. This is a common thing on Curacao, given our unique geography. Westpoint can have floods, and nothing downtown (or opposite). Regular breakfasts are $10.00 and there is a mini for $6.00 and an xxl for $15.00. In order to keep our budget prices and for environmental concerns, like many places on the Island we have ambient temperature water. Many guests find this refreshing after a day in the Curacao heat. WE are sorry to hear we did not live up to your expectations. We wish you the very best.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and close to city centre

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
It is a confortable hotel, but needs more maintenance in some rooms. The first night I had a room that smelled like moisture and the door did not locked so I asked for a change and the helpful staff gave me another room which was better. Do not expect hot water, it was always cold when I had a bath and I stayed there for 5 days. Rooms are comfortable and spacious however, they need more illumination. Kitchen is great and is well equipped.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017
Thanks for your review and thanks for staying with us. We are sorry to hear you had some issues with your room. I will investigate to see why these issues had been overlooked. I'm glad that you were given a substitute room that was better for you. Due to environmental concerns and to keep our affordable prices, like many places on Curacao we have ambient temperature water, We are happy that you like our great rooms and kitchens and hope you can visit again!
5 out of 5
by Linda

Homey and warm atmosphere.

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
I was pretty sick one day after diving. I took the next two days off. The staff checked on me twice to make sure I was getting better. I really liked being able to cook for myself. And the chaise lounges by the pools were wonderfully comfortable. The breakfasts were reasonably priced. I was able to lay all my dive gear out and let it dry in the sun. This was helpful and saved me money at the airport for overweight baggage due to water.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review and thanks for staying with us at The Ritz. We are happy that our staff could be of service to you and were happy you got feeling better. We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
by Linda

Modern amenities amid historical setting.

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
I was ill the third day of my stay. The staff were very helpful and checked on me for two days. They arranged dive pick-up and gave me bus directions to the Dive Store and More, for help with an equipment problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review and thanks for staying with us at The Ritz. We are happy our great staff could assist you! We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Place to Relax

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Loved the hotel staff. Very helpful and informative. I stayed with my mother and we were both pleased with the service from all of the employees.
The Hotel was amazing! Just a few minutes walk from the city Center and far enough away for peace and quiet when you need it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by christine, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review and thanks for staying with us. We are happy you enjoyed our great staff. We hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Nice concept

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: pretty, looks like a village Street/affordable/clean/friendly staff/perfect location/safe, as the gate locks at midnight. Cons: no hot water, supposed to warm up during the day thanks to the sun but you are basically taking cold showers. We had to cancel all plans of night diving due to that./can get very noisy, you hear the neighbors showering and if they are not considerate, they will smoke and talk loud at all hours right in front of your room door, as there are common little tables and chairs there./ There is no longer a dive shop on the premises contrary to what is advertised.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by christine, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review and thanks for staying with us. The gate closes at midnight but is never locked due to fire and safety regulations. You can always access your room at The Ritz. I am sorry you had noisy neighbors. If you ever stay with us again and this is an issue, we hope you inform reception so that management can assist in these matters. The dive shop left the premises in early December and we hope the replacement business will be joining us soon. Our reception can put you in contact with dive shops in the meantime. We are sorry if this was an inconvenience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff and location.

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Staff are great folks. I was comfortable, safe, respected, and well taken care of.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review and thanks for staying with us, we are happy to hear you enjoyed our great staff and all we have to offer. We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review and thanks for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel I will recommend!

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
This was my first trip to curacao, it was short but a very pleasant trip I will definitely be going back. The expirience was so great to me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review and thanks for staying with us! We hope to see you again soon!