Ratings based on 1,658 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warren, MI

Historic Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Location, it is in the heart of the town. So everything is fairly close.
Location: There are many things to do in and around this area. You are in the heart of Williams, AZ.
This was an experience. After arriving at the hotel you are sent upstairs to pick out your room. Some rooms have a private bathroom and some have a shared bathroom. It is a renovated old historic hotel, so you cannot expect more than that. We enjoyed our stay here. Friendly staff and comfortable rooms.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NEVER STAY HERE

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Worst experience I've ever had. Hotel staff was despicable-- accused us of "stealing" a towel in the linen closet because we needed an extra one. We left and owner was absolutely insane and refused a refund. Expedia claimed they would get in touch but I never heard from them. DO NOT STAY HERE
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel with style and history

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Location Style Friendly staff
Cons: none
Location: Right on route 66, with shops and restaurants on the same block.
We loved the fact that this was the first hotel in Arizona, and the renovations have made it comfortable but kept the historic style too, great job! Definitely a very cosy place to stay with lots of antiques around the place to maintain character. The staff were super friendly at check-in. The location is right in the middle of the action on route 66 with great restaurants and shops in the same block. Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2017
The stay at the hotel was good even the building is very old, to stay one night it was fine, and it was not that expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, IA

Nice hotel close to the Grand Canyon

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Great classic hotel. The staff was very friendly and the location was close to everything. We will definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Desert

Great place but not for every one

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Everything...it's not a German castle with thousand years of history but great for what it is and stands for...
Cons: Maybe a luggage lift to the upper floor but otherwise leave it as it is
Location: It's right in the middle of town on Route 66, shopping, eating, etc. all with minutes of walking...
This was the first time that we stayed at a genuinely historic hotel in America and what an experience...creaky and uneven floors were our first impression, an old brass tube bed the second, room decoration reflecting the character of the house and its time the third. Unfortunately, no ghosts but we could live with that. The staff were extremely helpful, the morning coffee good (no breakfast but the hotel is next door to one of Williams' best restaurants), the location right in the heart of town and minutes walk from the train to the Grand Canyon. One thing...most of the rooms are on the upper floor and it can be tedious to have a disability or heavy luggage and getting up there. When booking inform the hotel that you want a ground floor room or the gorgeous separate suite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Akron, OH

Excellent stay!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Staff was very friendly and the location can't be beat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Macedon, Ney York

Great experience

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This hotel is like a b&b with no food served. Homey atmosphere, themed rooms, common living/sitting room and wonderful staff made our stay one we won't forget. Owner Amy is friendly, funny, and helpful with where to go and what to see suggestions. This is an old hotel brought back to life. There are no TVs in room and wifi is very limited/slow if you can get it at all. Just what we were looking for to get away from it all!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Escondido, CA

Great historical hotel experience

Posted Aug 5, 2017
If you want all the newest amenities, go somewhere else (and pay a lot more!). If you want a friendly staff, to interact with other guests from all over (we met folks from Holland, England, and around the US), and to stay in a neat old hotel with plenty of character, stay at this great place. Is everything new, updated, shiney? No! And that's the point. My husband, girls (14 & 8) and I loved our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Its character, location close to restaurants and shops.
Very spacious suite in the carriage house of the old hotel. Quiet, private, yet within walking distance of good dining and shops.