Ratings based on 1,685 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Old style comfort

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Owners, location
Cons: Working air con.
Location: Plenty of restaurants, shops on doorstep
Booked the Grand Canyon hotel as an historic hotel and wasn't disappointed . The owners are very charming and helpful and the place is full of quirkiness and antiques. Our room was small with no window which did give a claustrophobic feel. Also no working air conditioning and hadto rely on ceiling fan. There was fresh coffee available on a morning which was very nice, also a guest fridge/ freezer and microwave. Location is right in the centre of lovely Williams on route 66 and just one straight road to the Grand Canyon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albion, Maine

Charming hotel with friendly staff

Posted Oct 23, 2017
This hotel has a lot of character. The rooms are small but clean. I had a shared bathroom, which was also clean and no issues with waiting. The staff are very helpful and friendly. We left at 6:45, and the lady at the front desk had coffee ready.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Cute hotel and close to everything in town.

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: The hotel was close to everything in town. You can walk to anything here.
Cons: Add a couple snack machines in the kitchen area.
Location: This hotel is right on Route 66 and there is no way to get lost here. The main attraction here is the railroad trip to the Grand Canyon.
We arrived in town and found ourselves right outside our hotel. You can't get lost in this town. We checked into our room and rested for a few minutes before we went to check at the train depot about our trip to the Grand Canyon the next day. Everything was good with the Train trip so we went to loo for something to eat. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant . There are several great places to eat close.by. Check out was easy too. We just dropped the key off at the desk and left.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long beach, CA

Retro historic landmark hotel

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, historic aspect, room themes
Cons: new mattresses. They were a little tough but still wonderful stay.
Location: GC Railway, all shops and restaurants, on Route 66
Absolutely wonderful staff! Love that it is the oldest hotel in Arizona. Right on Route 66.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2017
This is the oldest hotel in Arizona. So not the modern setup. Friendly staff and a central location with great history.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An experience

Posted Sep 28, 2017
This is a historic hotel built in the late 1800s so go here if you're looking for an experience and not just a stay. The room was small but adequate, toilet and shower worked great. Hot water and all that. They have the place decorated attractively with various themed rooms. We actually got to tour two rooms and pick which one we wanted. The location is perfect if you want to walk around Williams. All the best restaurants and gift shops are just across the street. There is a small guest parking lot in an alley behind the hotel. I had a wonderful time here because of the unique experience, just be aware that if you're super prissy about your hotel rooms the small size room and old-building creakiness might make it less enjoyable for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Closet town to Grand Canyon if hotels within the park are full. Nice guy at the front desk. Room was large and easily held the three of us.
Cons: Hotel shows it's age. Some paint peeling. Bath fan and heater were both very loud. Parking is hit or miss.
Location: We selected Williams, as all hotels within the Grand Canyon were full. Train from Williams to the Grand Canyon included great local information.
Room was ready when we arrived. Very small parking area, and we parked on the street a couple nights. About an hour outside Grand Canyon. Reasonable rates. No amenities at the hotel, but several local dining options nearby. Area and hotel have the feeling of the old west. Room upgrades should be on their agenda. Hotel is very much showing its age.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warren, MI

Historic Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Location, it is in the heart of the town. So everything is fairly close.
Location: There are many things to do in and around this area. You are in the heart of Williams, AZ.
This was an experience. After arriving at the hotel you are sent upstairs to pick out your room. Some rooms have a private bathroom and some have a shared bathroom. It is a renovated old historic hotel, so you cannot expect more than that. We enjoyed our stay here. Friendly staff and comfortable rooms.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NEVER STAY HERE

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Worst experience I've ever had. Hotel staff was despicable-- accused us of "stealing" a towel in the linen closet because we needed an extra one. We left and owner was absolutely insane and refused a refund. Expedia claimed they would get in touch but I never heard from them. DO NOT STAY HERE
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel with style and history

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Location Style Friendly staff
Cons: none
Location: Right on route 66, with shops and restaurants on the same block.
We loved the fact that this was the first hotel in Arizona, and the renovations have made it comfortable but kept the historic style too, great job! Definitely a very cosy place to stay with lots of antiques around the place to maintain character. The staff were super friendly at check-in. The location is right in the middle of the action on route 66 with great restaurants and shops in the same block. Highly recommended!