Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Misleading pictures of hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2017
The Expedia listing erroneously (?) shows the hotel next door (The Lodge), which has a nice log cabin look. The Grand Motel is not nearly as nice looking on the outside, which was disappointing. Don't make the mistake we made by trying to check into The Lodge, based on the Expedia pictures. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. There is no place to put bathroom items in the bathroom, and the heating/AC unit did not seem to turn off until the temperature was very different than the setting on the thermostat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017 by gm, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear you were dissatisfied. We have not heard of any of your issues. The photos are correct on the web site. Our units are properly working. Next time, please talk to us in person so we may look at the problem and correct it for you. Safe travels
5 out of 5
by Michael

Authentic Motel on Route 66

Posted Oct 8, 2017 on Hotels
Authentic motel on Route 66. Comfortable beds, great service. Walking distance to everything.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2017 on Hotels
It was rated 2 stars, but I would only give it 1 star. It was very old, the room was very plain, but it did have a refrigerator and a good tv. We have stayed in several 2 stars before, and they were much nicer than this. The host was very helpful, though, so I'd give him 2 stars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017 by rich, Hotel Management
wow, thanks for the kind review. please research what lodging star ratings mean. It is old as it is the first motel built in Williams. Yes it is clean. Thank you for staying and work on leaving nice reviews.... cheers
4 out of 5
by Risa

Grand Canyon

Posted Sep 21, 2017 on Hotels
We really appreciated that the owner gave us tips on enjoying the town and the Grand Canyon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Hotels
the owner was trying to clean it up. he even parked my motorcycle under a car port to keep it dry. not a fancy hotel but clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017 by rich, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Not sure what you mean trying to clean it up? safe travels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Prescott, AZ

Close to where you need to be in Williams.....

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Very clean.....
Location: There is always something neat to do in Williams.....
Very nice and accommodating, excellent host! Nice charming older hotel, well kept and maintained,,,,,
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by ~gm, Hotel Management
We have a great staff who takes a lot of pride in cleaning the rooms for our guest and we are glad you got to enjoy the cleanliness of our rooms. Thank you for your review. Safe travels ~ cheers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pottsville, NSW

Quaint very old motel, beautifully renovated.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Lovely clean hotel and excellent attentive and friendly manager. Great breakfast included. Very low cost.
Cons: Maybe swing the bathroom doors the opposite way to make a bit more space and improve access?
Location: Lots to see and do, within easy walking distance. A delightful town!
Basic accommodation but spotlessly clean and very comfortable, and very inexpensive. Host Rich is very attentive and does an excellent job of making sure you are comfortable - but don't take his advice on where to eat. The restaurant he recommended was expensive and terrible, and didn't honour the discount voucher he gave us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Old West with modern accommodation

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I was very impressed with the area knowledge of Rich, the owner. He was extremely professional, gregarious friendly, accommodating, and very helpful. What has been advertised is what you get and more. Whenever I go back to Grand Canyon, I will definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by ~gm, Hotel Management
We thank you for the nice review and we look forward to your return. It was a pleasure to meet you. Upon your return, you then can enjoy the additional upgrades we are working on. Safe travels.
5 out of 5
by Teresa Logue

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
It was a nostalgic hotel located walking distance from all the shops and restaurants in "old town" Williams. Had a great stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by rich, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and the town of Williams. Safe travels. Come back and visit
4 out of 5
by Jessica Vaughan from Phoenix, AZ

Give It A Chance. Historical Building.

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
This building was the first ever hotel in Williams. It is on the National Register of Historic Places and has a plaque on the outside wall. It has a great story that's part of the town's history, so if you're looking for something experiential, you will definitely get that here. The owner is very personable and knows a lot about the town, the building, and the area. The hospitality is exceptional. The building is very old and may not have as many modern amenities or feel as a newer franchise, but they are in the process of making more improvements, and I found this hotel had a more local feel compared to the big chains that maybe can't keep up with their housekeeping like they should. The rooms are small, but that's part of its history. However, they are VERY clean and they're not all on top of each other, so the rooms are very quiet. Not even noise from the street. The bed was very comfortable and we slept good and hard. The bathroom is clean. I've stayed in more expensive hotels that weren't as clean. No mystery stains on the towels or linens. No unpleasant smells. No dust or dirt. Hardwood floors take the mystery out of carpet. I walked around barefoot and my feet stayed clean. Nice little patio in front of each room with chairs. Bedside charging outlets. LCD TV. Micro & Fridge. Beautiful lilac, snapdragon, & blue spruce flowerbeds. Minutes walk from shops & restaurants.