Ratings based on 1,403 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Close to town and the Grand Canyon train.
Cons: They need to pay more attention to cleaning such as dusting , it was thick with dust.,
Over all it was ok. The room was extremely dusty and one of the women at the front desk was not friendly at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Cons: The beds could be better. Not very confie
Location: Good location
It was quite, convinence to the main highways. The bed could be improved. the were not very confor
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago Il

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Hotel was clean but owner was rude. My friend spilled coffee do we went to front desk to report it. The owner handed us rags and told us to clean it ourselves and she walked away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just passing through I'm glad I stayed

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Wonderful never stayed in a howard Johnson hotel this won't be the last time for sure
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perris, California

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Close to downtown
Cons: Staff could be more responsive to guests
On a driving tour of Arizona we stayed at the Howard Johnson's. The rooms are nice and quiet but it is an easy walk to downtown. Would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2017
The lock to the outer door was taped down so the door remains unlocked. Anyone can access the room area from off the street, that is scary, especially if you are a single female guest. The breakfast was terrible, pancakes without eggs. Will not recommend this hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.Y.

Budget hotel for visit to Grand Canyon

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Room was clean and standard budget hotel. Beds were comfortable. Convenient for us on our way out of town after a day at Grand Canyon. One issue was don't count on the advertised free wifi. Signal was weak at best, strongest in parking lot but not at all in rooms
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

This hotel is a little tired but ok for a budget

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: It is very cheap and quite close to the grand canyon
Cons: just needs to be updated but otherwise comfortable
Location: the grand canyon is just down the road so it is very central. also it's on route 66 which is great
Thank you for our late checking in and directions, which was great as we arrived so late. I wish hotels had a microwave or a kettle.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Convenient, easy to find.

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Staff was pleasant and helpful. Easy to find, conveniently located.
Cons: Room way too dark--kept curtains closed due to parking lot right outside window. Bathroom and sink too cramped. Bigger breakfast area.
Location: Close to GC Railway and Rt. 66. Went to Deer Farm and Bearizona during our stay.
Bathroom very small and dark--whole room darker than I like. One sink in small space. Well maintained or updated, flooring looked newer which is always nice. 1st floor window looking right into parking spaces not my favorite, but tolerable. Breakfast room too small, so crowded we went elsewhere and paid for breakfast. But, for one or two nights while seeing the sights, it worked for us. I think for the price, I could have done better and will look elsewhere next time, but if I can't find anything, I would stay again, just not my 1st choice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth it.

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Not great. Cleanliness OK. The hair dryer did not work. The free breakfast was not great. Only 2 choices of cereal, both sugary. Muffins were the tiny sized ones with only 1 kind. Bread was only white bread. Just over all, it was not worth it.