Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, IL

nice room and close to shopping

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: conveniently located and not pricey.
Staff went out of their way to accommodate my gluten free diet needs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ames, Iowa

Wish I knew then what I know now.

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Our room was ready when we checked in.
Cons: Close this hotel down and do a serious makeover or rebuild.
Location: Tanger Outlet Mall across the street.
The hotel was outdated. It looked like nothing had been updated since it was built in the 1980's. My son bought a Pop Tart from the hotel's vending machine and it was dried out and tasted terrible; must've been there since the 1980's too. In our room, we found 4 dead cockroaches stuck on the adhesive of the clear, plastic corner guards on the wall. I found 1 cockroach alive and crawling in the bathroom. The brochure in our room said "Free Internet", but we discovered that the "free internet" was ONLY available in the lobby. The TV remote was sticky as well as the end table between the two beds. The clock radio in our room did not work. The windows were dirty. The shower made a loud, humming noise during use. We had planned to stay two nights at this hotel, but we couldn't wait to leave the morning after staying there one night. We cancelled our second night's reservation. We stayed at this hotel only because it was convenient by being in the area of a wedding we were attending. The wedding couple had reserved a block of rooms at this hotel for out-of-town guests. I've since learned that the wedding couple had no idea of the condition of this hotel. Other wedding guests staying at this hotel had experiences such as a dried blood stain on the mattress of a hideaway bed, dead earth worms on the carpet, centipedes crawling on the carpet, spider webs with living spiders in the corners of rooms, and dried residue on the comforter of the bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Value

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Very homey, decorated nicely. Great place for the price.
Location: Not far off the expressway. We were traveling so did not do anything nearby.
We checked in asking for the 1st floor and was told that would be an upgrade. But after little discussion we were put on the first floor at no additional cost. The room was bigger than our original and was very nice. We very much appreciated the 1st floor as we had big suitcases and there was no elevator. The room was very nicely decorated and very comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

Definitely needs work

Posted Sep 20, 2017
When this hotel was part of Best Western, it was great. Now it is trashed. When you drive up you can see they need to finish new siding. The landscaping consists of patches of dry dirt with cut down stumps of dead bushes. The pool is an indoor/outdoor pool that they don't vacuum enough. There is a layer of dirt at the bottom. The hot tub is broken and filled with dirty, rusty water, but at least it's blocked by dusty artificial plants. The glass table by the pool is chipped and some of the plastic chairs are cracked. The lobby furniture is left over from Best Western days of years ago.- it creeks when you sit in it. In the room, the queen mattress had a "pit" worn into the middle. There were four 1/4" rusty holes in the bottom of the exterior wall. Kind of like something was removed but never patched. The toilet seat wobbled when we sat because the supports were cracked. The only good part of this hotel was the gentleman at the front desk. He was very friendly and tried to be as accommodating as he could considering the conditions. We booked for two days based on experience under previous owners. We had to call Expedia to get a refund for the second night. We would not stay a second night in those conditions..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Nice hotel for shopping or Iowa game day

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Needs updated example bed springs sticking up and kind of hard or mattress . Bathroom had some cracks and lose base molding plus some leaking around bathtub etc. Overall pretty good good especially for the price! Check for bed bugs and seemed OK. One guy did everything and there thru check in/check out. Breakfast was just adequate as the hot was anything that fit in a toaster example waffles, toast etc. Mostly cold breakfast Cold boiled eggs almost tasted like not good anymore but I didn't get sick. The rooms are kind of cool with rustic and modern combined look. Overall for the price I would suggest as a good place to stay but not as good as some other more expensive places that take more pride in updating their mattresses, bathroom tubs, stools and moldings for example! Hot breakfast with meat, eggs and biscuit and gravy for example would put this hotel in a very good to great place and I would then really recommend!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IL

Was mid point of our destinations and convenient.

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Cleaning staff never came to our room to clean or make the bed. We left at 8am and back at 5pm. Had to ask for clean towels and shampoo. This was one stay that housekeeping didn't receive a tip ( they didn't come in to see it).
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Sri, Hotel Management
This is being looked into and will be addressed. Thanks for your valuable feedback.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs a renovation badly!

Posted Aug 28, 2017
While the size of the room and price were nice, the decor and facilities were very disappointing. Upon arrival the lobby was VERY HOT and the smell of stale cigarettes hit you right away. Looked like early 90s country decor. The couch in the room was full of stains. The overall look and feel of the room was DINGY at best. The shower curtain looked old and stained. The tub floor was gray and dirty looking. This place needs an overall renovation in a hurry! The manager was somewhat nice but seemed a bit bothered. The biggest disappointment was the "indoor/outdoor" pool. This was very dirty and unkempt and in disrepair. I had my small child with me who was very excited about the pool and when we got there I had to use the net to clean out all manner of debris. Bugs, leaves, cigarette box plastic wrap etc...on the INSIDE portion of the pool. I didn't want to get in, but didn't wanna deal with a crying disappointed child. So I used the net to clear what I could and just stayed on one end of the pool. Didn't even want to go through the gross plastic curtain door to the outside part. There was all kinds of dirt and leaves at the bottom of the deep end that I couldn't reach. And on the floor were bugs and even a dirty band aid so I went and found a broom and dustpan lying on the one end that I used to tidy up. There also seemed to be only about 3-4 cars in the parking lot on a Saturday night, so it doesn't seem to be a popular spot. Unfortunately will not return or recommend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Unfriendly staff. Same guy was at check-in during afternoon and at breakfast the next morning (which was very thin on choices: toast, fruit and horrible coffee.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cedar rapids ia

Cheap hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2017
The hot tub was out of order, we rented the room especially for this reason. There were bugs all over. And we found a French fry on the floor. Manager was not very pleasant at all
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Great place for the price. Clean room and comfy bed. Easy access to shopping.