Ratings based on 1,369 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ocala, Florida

Nice hotel close to Colonial Williamsburg.

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: I liked the cleanliness of my room and both beds were comfortable. The morning breakfasts were very good, offering a variety of hot and cold items.
Cons: The elevators are hot inside all the time; it would be nice if they were air conditioned or had cool air forced into them.
Location: It is close to Colonial Williamsburg. Also there are several good quality restaurants across the street from this hotel.
It is a nice hotel close to Colonial Williamsburg. I found the morning breakfast very good with a nice choice of items. My room was nicely appointed, clean and comfortable. There was a nice indoor pool and a exercise room. I found all the hotel staff very friendly. I would stay here again when visiting Williamsburg.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Virginia

Weekend business trip

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Check in easy. Room clean and quite. AC unit was a bit slow, took awhile for the room to cool down. Breakfast area needs a makeover; furniture big and bulky, difficult to move around for coffee and such, could have more choices with the breakfast items. Pool water was dirty, although the staff was trying to get it balanced and clean. Hot tub in the pool area was clean, working and enjoyable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Clean and great location.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The location and cleanliness.
Location: The hotel was centrally located close to restaurants, shopping and entertainment.
My husband and I were welcomed immediately upon our arrival and given helpful driving and sight seeing tips by the front desk clerks. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was adequate and the hotel was located in close proximity to restaurants, entertainment and shopping. We would definitely stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Ruined Vacation

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Had to request room be cleaned at 430 in the afternoon. Pool was green in color. No A/C in elevators and hallways. Buffet breakfast was never stocked enough. Was so disgusted we cut out vacation short. Sheets dirty. When I went to check out and speak to a manager I wasn't even asked "How was your stay" Never Again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 10, 2016
I love the stay except the beds was too small to be called queen size beds. Also, the breakfast area could of been better like investing in more space so visitors can be comfortable and not on top of each other when getting their food and of course "2" waffle makers.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good hotel; convenient to all attractions

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: convenient
Cons: stick to the booking. It would be nice, if Queen bed was booked but offered a King size bed,than the vice versa.
Location: very convenient.
We selected this hotel, not minding the cost and booked a 2 queen bed room. What happened? we were given a 2 full bed. two adults on a full bed? imagine. we reported to the hotel staff. she said that she would talk to the manager? Perhaps she will talk to the manager after we check out?????????????? There was a price difference between full and queen. May be in Virginia, the bed size and name are different and mean for a different specie ! the breakfast lounge area was a zoo! less room to move about and more people to accommodate! The Holiday inn express in Watertown, NY was the best in everything?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rigged air conditioner

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
When we walked into the room the air conditioner was set at 60 degree cooling. Which was obviously a joke because the room did not drop in temperature from the 80 plus degrees the actual room temperature was at. After 2 hours of the room temperature remaining warm I went to the lobby to ask the attendant for a room change. She gave me a key for a room 2 doors down from mine. When I arrived at the new room door it was partially open and the room was not cleaned from the previous occupants. I just gave up and accepted the most miserable night I've had in a hotel in a long time. I also noticed that in the new room that was dirty, the air conditioner was also preset at 60 degrees and the room was much warmer as well. Which probably means the the hotel rigged the air conditioners to not go below a certain temperature to save electricity. This would not be the first time I've seen this in a hotel as I spend 250 nights a year in a hotel for work, but the effects on a hot summer day make for a miserable stay.
3 out of 5
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Myrtle Beach

Good Location, Great Pool, but Poor Value

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Large pool, comfortable hot tub, friendly staff, good location.
Cons: Internet. Steam the carpets in the lobby. Eliminate stains on comforters.
Location: Right in the middle of all the activities near Colonial Williamsburg. Plenty of dining options.
While we have stayed in far worse places, this BW was disappointing. I'll start by saying the staff was great and the location is spot on. The pool is large and warm, and the three video/pinball games were a nice touch. For the price ($109), however, I think you could get a much better experience from one of the many other hotels in the same area. Note the Internet was not working while we stayed, and I was asked to actually call the Internet company to work it out. After 30 minutes, I was told there was an equipment problem on my floor. Unfortunately, we could not connect from any floor, and ended up tapping the Econolodge wifi from next door (had an important task to complete). Was told by staff that the hotel has problems with Macs and iPhones, but this seems like a problem most hotels have figured out. Also, the floors/carpets in the hotels could use a good steaming, something that cosmetically would make a huge impact. And, our room had stains on the comforters and no desk or chair or other furniture to lie items on. It was inconvenient and in such a large room looked odd. It wasn't promised, but you should be aware of this. Overall, if everything else is booked, you will not hate this hotel. Given other options, we would stay someplace else next time. https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g58313-d110787-r397370670-BEST_WESTERN_PLUS_Historic_Area_Inn-Williamsburg_Virginia.html#
5 out of 5
by Rebecca from Southwest VA

Staff makes the stay even better!

Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
Stay was nice. Check in was easy. Front desk staff was super nice. Breakfast attendant had a great personality. Good full breakfast. Would stay here again anytime.