Ratings based on 325 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Herts, UK

Avoid - lots of alternatives in area

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Struggling to think of anything positive, though a good area to visit with lots to do and see
Cons: Bathroom was not clean, a problem with the toilet was not fixed, waste bins in the breakfast room not emptied and smelt, generally dirty and unkempt.
Location: Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown, lots more, a great area to visit, but use one of the many alternative hotels.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bolivia, NC

Ok in a pinch...

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Location to attractions, shopping, and restaurants
Cons: Beds and breakfast offerings
Location: Busch Gardens, shopping, restaurants
My fiance and I decided on a last minute trip to Busch Gardens and decided on this hotel because of it's price and location. The woman who checked us in was prompt and friendly. The room seemed to be clean, but VERY outdated. The walls needed some repair/paint, the carpets were a bit worn and stained, the hairdryer was cracked and didn't work, the shower curtain didn't stay in place because the rod was broken (nothing a couple of screws couldn't fix), so it made showering a challenge. The shower was nice and hot and had good pressure. The beds are in need of replacing, as they were worn and lumpy; we woke up with aching backs both mornings. The comforter was coming apart. The hotel was very quiet, but it didn't seem to be heavily occupied. The free continental breakfast had us looking for the nearest breakfast restaurant. At 8am, it consisted of very old, overripe, inedible bananas (no other fruit), 3 types of stale cereal next to a gallon of room temperature milk, bagels/white bread, small cinnamon twist pastry, and a hot waffle maker. There was coffee, but no cream. And the orange juice machine on both mornings dispensed pure water. If you have the extra $20/night to spend on an upgraded hotel, I'd certainly do that. For the price, it was ok in a pinch.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2016
My wife, daughter and I stayed here for two nights. Although it looked a little outdated when we walked into the room it was a very large room that was clean. We liked having two sinks - one in the bathroom and one outside of the bathroom. The beds were comfortable. The pool was nice. This hotel was cheaper than most and we would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016
We found a spider and a roach in the room. It needs some renovation. It was close to Busch Gadens and conveniently located.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Adequate place to stay for a couple of nights

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Convenient and safe location, and everything we looked for to spend a couple of nights.
Cons: The rooms should be aired out daily when empty, if that's safe.
Location: Close to I-64, Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens VA are within 10 minute driving distance, good inexpensive restaurants in close proximity.
Booked the room via Expedia.com and it was an easy check-in and check-out. The room was already waiting. We could park the car right in front which was convenient. The outside pool looked inviting but we did not have the chance to use it. The breakfast was served until 9:30 am. It was basic but free, there was a waffle maker if you enjoy extra carbs, the worst part is that they only had sweet cereal and no oatmeal. The room and beds were clean but had a faint musty odor probably because the door's always closed and the room never gets aired out - understandable for safety reasons I guess. The TV had a good selection of channels, the a/c worked well. There was one armchair that had some dirty spots on it likely from a spilled drink. There was a small fridge with a tiny freezer that worked well for our needs. The beds were high but comfortable. There was a Dairy Queen within easy walking distance. Overall a good stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

AC was too loud

Posted Aug 22, 2016
We could not sleep at nights because the AC was too loud so either we had to sleep in heat or hear the constant loud noise and feeling cool but with aloud noise!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salem Va.

Hotel was in need of repairs,sink ,shower curtain.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: Room general appearance
Location: It had parks ,Dairy Queen next door,Kmart behind it and many restuarants nearby
Hotel needs cosmetic upgrades. I paid $100 a night could have stayed at Holiday Inn for $20 more. I expected more for a historical area. There was also a language barrier was not worth going to mangagement
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Va.


Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Location, Location, Location!
Cons: Customer SERVICE, cleanliness, building maintenance!
Location: Dining, Sightseeing, Amusement
Upon first opening the door, told Terry this room SMELLS! The bed looks unmade & ruffled. She indicated they hired new people & they performed poorly. Her answer to my concerns was to try to straighten the bed and come back with a can of Febreze! Really?! I am not a complainer, but the conditions were obvious, so I did not continue to comment. I simply expected her to be a concerned professional & respond to the obvious conditions of the room on behalf of her CUSTOMER, as if it were her or her family. I was there with one who was handicapped & in a wheelchair. Her response was to return with a spray can & assume that satisfied. Seriously poor customer service & attentiveness!! This room had a significant gap in the entrance door that would allow pest access, toilet seat was broken, we found out later in the night that the bedspread was wet, there was hair on the walls and in the tub, stained & smelly carpet & chairs. We had to go to Kmart & purchase Lysol & Bleach. NEVER received an offer to relocate to a different room!! Cards did not work, towels & washcloths not stocked. No follow up or genuine concern from check-in person! Our WORST hotel stay in over 50 years of reservations. AWFUL, AWFUL. Very rude & unaccommodating Front Desk from both Vinny & Terry. We are not complainers & love to give people an opportunity to correct their mistakes, but this team takes no responsibility & shows even less concern. I don't believe this accurately represents EconoLodge, I hope not!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good pace for small fall size 6

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel could use an update but great place serves its purpose
4 out of 5
by stephanie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels