Ratings based on 430 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Indiana

Northern Michigan gem

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Pretty Much everything.
Superb spa services. Excellent formal dining with spectacular view. Short distances to beautiful port towns of Traverse city, Elk Rapids, Charlevoix and Petoskey. We hiked, biked, numerous winery visits, and cool shopping experience ! Not a golfer but three beautiful courses attached to the facility. Indoor pool spectacular for kids and adults. Spa facilities and tennis courts are superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Luxury Hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Everything was excellent.
Location: Beach nearby with shuttle service. Wine tours. The Great Bear Dunes.
I booked our stay on the Internet. I did not expect to find such a high end hotel. It was clean, large room and great mattress. Reasonable price for a luxury hotel. Close to casino and they provide a shuttle bus. We will stay at Grand Traverse Resort again on our next trip to Traverse City.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I can see the appeal for golfers, but...

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: We had breakfast in the hotel one day and the selection and quality of the food was very good. Shopping area was quite good. Pools were nice as well
Cons: Room rates need to match quality of the experience; updating rooms and decor greatly needed; security should roam the halls after 11 pm.
Location: Golf courses on site, indoor and outdoor pools, tennis courts on premises too; kids programs also offered.
The resort is situated on beautiful grounds and what appeared to be three really lovely golf courses. Upon check in, you'll see a grandiose foyer with a notable shopping area to your right; all in all, a good first impression. But when we arrived at our room (based in the lower section of the hotel, not the tower) that's where the positive impressions took a downturn. That section of the hotel is dated and worn. Our room overlooked rooftops of the sports facilities. The decor and furniture was more mid-range hotel than "resort" (despite the price point we paid!) and looked tired. For big groups (weddings, conferences), they have more than ample facilities and you're expectations might be lower on the room front. But for a couple looking for a quiet, high end resort, look elsewhere (when groups of people come into the room area, it can be very loud; guests we were traveling with had to call security after midnight to get a loud, rowdy group to leave the hallway).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toledo

Ok Hotel but very dated for price

Posted Jul 30, 2017
We enjoyed our time in Traverse City but this hotel is very dated. We enjoyed the excellent golf courses and the close proximity to town but the restaurants were average and over priced. One more thing there is a facility fee of $14.95/night that is not included in the Expedia rate you pay. That was a surprise gotcha at checkout.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Blood on wall, dirty floor and condensation issues

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Had higher expectations, could've had a better experience for 100 dollars less at a brand name hotel. Lost my business
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milford, Michigan

Old hotel well beyond its glory.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: The view from the Aeris restuarant
Cons: Staff is poorly trained. Entire hotel needs to be updated.
We stayed one night at the resort. From the start, it was a disappointment. We tried to open our room door and although the light turned green on the lock, it would not open. I went back to the reception to get a new key or room. Her response was "you have to push hard and lift the door......" Seriously? I requested a new room and moved on. The 2nd room was clean and orderly. However, I noticed a room service tray in the hallway upon arrival. 22 hours later when we checked out, it was still there!!!! We had lunch in the sports bar just after arrival and it was freezing cold in the bar. It was 63 degrees outside too. I asked to have the air conditioner turned off and the waitress said "we ask all the time to have the A/C turned down, but they never do anything about it...." The pizza was good though. We had dinner at the Aeris restaurant. The decor was dated, but pleasant. It was not busy for a 8:30pm dinner. The service was acceptable. We had a nice waiter named Kevin. The food was fair at best. I had the cioppinno which was below average. My wife had the beef filet which was overcooked. We do not have super high expectations, but from the start of our stay, the resort did not do much to promote its dated image. I would NOT recommend staying there to anybody. They have a lot of work to do.
5 out of 5
by Heather

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Nice pools; air conditioner in my room 632 was not working correctly the last night I was there. Never cooled the room below 71. Prices in restaurants were expensive.
3 out of 5
by DONALD

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel grounds and location are outstanding. Rooms are outdated and in need of redecorating and updating.
2 out of 5
by pv

Old and dusty rooms but had great amenities

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing staff - very helpful. Beautiful property. Horrible rooms (old, dated, Dusty, not cleaned well, small and furniture that seems to be from the 80's). We expected more from the property when paying this rate for a hotel.